The Widdershins

Sunday/Monday Post ~ Remembrance

Posted on: April 2, 2017

Our chatblu

Good afternoon Widdershins.  Yes it was a year ago on April 1st that we lost our dear and beloved chatblu.  I can honestly say that I have missed her presence every day on this blog.  Whether it was a comical comment that had you just laughing out loud while reading it or a comment or post that was totally serious and gave you something to think deeply about.

She always welcomed new commenters on the blog and I believe made them feel welcomed here.  She also felt free to speak her mind here and on occasions didn’t care whether you agreed with her or not.  That was the Irish in her I do believe.

When I first started posting here chat offered her assistance and she literally walked me through my first post while we were on the phone.

That began a great phone relationship between us.  Ever the nurse even though she was retired, she was always willing to offer her knowledge of things medical.  Sometimes a call from me might sound like “chat, I’ve got this thing/place/spot on my arm/elbow/leg/knee.”  I would describe the thing and she would ask “can you get a picture of it?  If so send it to me”.  I dutifully tried to get the picture and send it to her.  I would get a call later “Yeah I think you need to make an appointment and go see your doctor.  That’s a (whatever it was) and you probably need a script for (some antibiotic).”.  And apparently I wasn’t the only one to prevail on chat’s medical experience.  She told me of a friend’s trucker husband who called her from on the road with a “something” that happened.  Again a picture got sent and a recommendation was made: “Find yourself a Minute Clinic or whatever pronto!”.  LOL!  She said one time that whoever went through her computer after she was gone was going to be amazed at the photos on said computer.

She was also a great friend and gave me a needed shoulder when the momster passed and also when I had to send Chloe across the Rainbow Bridge.  I’ll be forever grateful for her being there then.

To be honest, in some ways I’m glad she wasn’t here to see what happened in the election.  I don’t believe she would have been able to handle it well.  But then, have we?

Sooo, let’s have some music to celebrate our dear friend.  Sadly not here with us but not forgotten.

 

(1) Danny Boy ~ bagpipes

(2) Wind Beneath My Wings ~ Bette Midler

And finally, we’ll catch you on the other side chat.

(3) Somewhere Over the Rainbow ~ Israel Kamakawiwo’ole

Okie-doke Widdershins.  Feel free to share any thoughts or musical videos you wish, in the comments.  Take it wherever you want to go.

 

83 Responses to "Sunday/Monday Post ~ Remembrance"

What a wonderful remembrance of Chat! Thank you so much for posting this. It is hard to believe it’s been a year since that shocking loss of our dear friend.

I am always happy when you mention how she walked you through posting on TW, because I did the same for her, and now you do the same for new Widdershins. It’s really nice how we have carried that forward.

I have often thought of how she would have handled the results of the election. I think she, too, would have joined the protests on January 21. She was a woman who believed in action.

I will bet she would have been especially thrilled at our new friend Contrask’s conversion from Republican to Democrat, and would have had fantastic advice for us all when, a few weeks ago, so many of us were under the weather at the same time. And DYB, she wanted you to post as much as I did, so she would have been thrilled that you decided to do it regularly. GAGal, she would have urged you to post more, so someone could regularly represent her beloved Georgia.

I’ll never forget the stone crabs she, her partner, hubby and I shared in Florida, nor the lively and fascinating conversation we had. I’ll miss her always.

I am sorry I missed know chatblu. You guys are inspiration to me

Awwww. I’m sorry I didn’t get to know her better. She was always so vibrant.

Fredster, what a great tribute to Chat. It’s hard to fathom how a year can pass so quickly, but the pain of Chat’s loss can continue to be so immediate. I miss her. She was an inspiration as to concern and spending time investing in the well-being of others. It is a template for a healthy life and even more important, a healthy soul.

Thank you for this post. Chat we miss you.

@2: contrask, chat would have been at the ready to offer any medical advice she could for your ankle condition if you asked.

I’ve been thinking of her a lot this past week, and didn’t realize we were at the year marker. What a horrible shock that was. I so miss her. A lovely kind woman and so much fun. Fredster, I’m glad you put up a memoriam for her. Well done.

@3: Luna she would have enjoyed sharing “war stories” with you from the medical trenches.

@10, yes, she would have! That would have been very interesting!

@8: annie, when I got the email from her grandson I sat here in shock for about 10 minutes. He said his mom tried to call me but the cell service in the hospital was very spotty. chat had included me on the list of people to contact and that probably would have been before she passed.

I like that song @9. Great choice and the same for yours DYB.

I think I wore out three cassettes of this Seals and Crofts record.

Can one of you guys delete my post @11? I didn’t mean to post that twice. Thanks!

This is the funny video from Uppity’s:

I loved Seals & Croft when I was young. Thanks for posting that!

DYB, good Madonna song! One of my favs of hers.

@16: Oh that was funny! LOL

@10, Fredster, we did share stories a few times! I’d see something she posted on insurance, and then I’d add my horror story variation. Goodness I forget what blog I read her on first. I had a different blogname back in ’07-early ’08 and hung out on several different blogs, migrating away when they got overrun with idolizers wanted a young, untried, not very active male candidate over another experienced candidate with a long track record of proven work & accomplishments (but female).

@13, Prolix, luv that S&C song.

@19: Oh, okay. If I saw that I just didn’t remember it.

and hung out on several different blogs, migrating away when they got overrun with idolizers wanted a young, untried, not very active male candidate over another experienced candidate with a long track record of proven work & accomplishments (but female).

LOL. That sounds like so many of us. Tee-hee!

Wow! The L.A. Times has a scathing editorial on the Orange One.

Fixed my bad typing in here.

@20, oh, no problem. I was a lot quieter back then, so our interchanges didn’t happen very often. I’m sure I had a different blogname then too.

@21 — But what pisses me off is the “How could we tell?” I’m sure you’ve seen the tweets going ’round of that line and then a clip of Hillary telling us. (tears and rage)

This song was playing in my head this afternoon, don’t know who tuned the station to this, but perhaps you’ll enjoy.

Could Assange get kicked out of the Embassy?

Fredster, thanks so much for this. What a helluva year it has been, all the way around. All of it.

My best friend since grammar school died about ten years ago. Driving home from her funeral, this song came on the radio. I flipped out. It’s a sign!

@21 Wow is right, Fredster on that LA Times article. And this is just one paragraph:

What is most worrisome about Trump is Trump himself. He is a man so unpredictable, so reckless, so petulant, so full of blind self-regard, so untethered to reality that it is impossible to know where his presidency will lead or how much damage he will do to our nation. His obsession with his own fame, wealth and success, his determination to vanquish enemies real and imagined, his craving for adulation — these traits were, of course, at the very heart of his scorched-earth outsider campaign; indeed, some of them helped get him elected. But in a real presidency in which he wields unimaginable power, they are nothing short of disastrous.

@27, agree!

Fredster, a couple of things I was wondering about chatblu… One, do you know what she was receiving an award for in the above picture? Two, I know chat was suppose to go on a cruise before she passed away. Did she get to go on the cruise or did she fall ill before she could? Just wondering.

Here’s a few headlines on memorandum right now, along with that editorial.

This is the clown show that could lead to a shut down…
Judge rules Trump may have incited violence…
Bill O’Reilly: An awful, awful man
DNC chairman: Republicans don’t give a s—- about people

And here is FOX news:
Coffee shop loyalty card shows hole-punch through Trump’s head

LMAO. Their concern is noted.

My internet went kaput and has finally come back up. Grrrrr.

@31: GAgal, she was getting an award for being the bestest person/friend/mom/nurse/nana, evah!
Seriously though that was at a cat show. She used to breed some type of kittehs and got a ribbon for one of them.

Yes she got to go on the cruise. And it may have been that she caught whatever while on the cruise. Her respiratory system was compromised and it may have been she got some type of bug while on the boat. But, the cruise was a graduation thing for her grandson and I know she wanted to be there to help him celebrate.

@35: Nice DYB!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Send Maggie Haberman to Iraq with Jared and forget them there…

Dump sent a whole bunch of anti-Hillary tweets overnight.

Feinstein and Warner are NO on Gorsuch. I think that’s 39 Democrats.

Apparently Leahy is a NO on Gorsuch. So is that 40??

Polish investigators accuse Russians of causing plane crash that killed Polish President and 95 other high ranking Polish government officials.

http://thenews.pl/1/9/Artykul/300938,Russian-controllers-deliberately-caused-2010-air-crash-Polish-prosecutors-

40 DYB
Dump sent a whole bunch of anti-Hillary tweets overnight.

——–
I knew that was coming when Hillary stepped out of the woods and sharpened her sword again.

When she was in hibernation, all he could do was talk about how she only had 2.8 million more votes than Douche, because illegals voted for her.

Now that she has rested and seen what a crapa$$ job Dump is doing…she will softly earn back her spot as leader of the Dem party…while all the weaker players, (Bernie, Warren, etc.) get upset about it.

Oh, it’s soooooooo sad that so many lesser people want Hillary to just fade into the night, so she doesn’t make them look so weak and ill equipped.

Hahahahahahahah…

Chris Coons is a NO on Gorsuch. So enough votes to filibuster.

Another lawsuit against Fox for sexual harassment. That place is a cesspool. If they implemented the Pence Rule about meals, they would all starve to death.

http://www.adweek.com/tvnewser/another-fox-news-lawsuit-as-julie-roginsky-claims-sexual-harassment-and-retaliation/325514

@46, Quelle surprise!

I have a ‘google alert’ set for anything about Hillary. Not is if the altright has been silent about her up until now, but since she spoke out directly against Dump the past few days, the long knives have really come out against her.

One article, not that I read it, claims that Bill Meyer said Hillary effed up.

@48> Yes Maher’s comment was that Hillary fucked up and needs to go away. Which is completely insane.

DYB, thanks for keeping us informed on the senate votes. Awful about the plane crash.

Shadow, well said!

Anyone know what the Susan Rice controversy is about?

I’m done with Maher.

Socalannie, on Susan Rice…sounds like total partisan insanity. Eli Lake, the Republican writer, uncovered that supposedly Susan Rice asked for identities of people heard in the FBI recordings and asked if they can be revealed. Lake and GOP claiming that this is exactly what Nunes was talking about and that it confirms Trump’s allegations of …. whatever they are. GOP lost their shit. Rand Paul tweeted this is the smoking gun. (Paul spent the weekend golfing with Trump, by the way.)

The sane Republicans (at least on this issue), like Evan McMullen and John Schindler are saying what Rice asked for is perfectly within her rights as National Security Advisor and doesn’t break any laws. In fact, Lake’s article says in paragraph 9 (!) that her actions appear to be perfectly within the law. But it doesn’t matter. Fox/GOP are going bonkers. Someone tweeted: “Does this mean we’ll have 4 years of Congressional hearings on Susan Rice?”

BTW, Devin Nunes.

@51> I agree on Maher. I’m not watching for the foreseeable future.

Lady Graham is all over the media complaining about Democrats being unhappy with Gorsuch. He’s made some really award-winning statements. “Hamilton is spinning over in his grave.” (I had a friend near Trinity Church check the grave and it doesn’t appear disturbed.)

DYB, thanks for explaining about Rice. I looked at an article about it this morning, but I was rushing, found it convoluted and boring, and frankly couldn’t make sense of it.

California flips the bird with both hands to Dump admin:

@54, LOL!

Ever since I saw the 60 Minutes segment on EP several years ago, I’ve thought he is pure evil.

Kurt Eichenwald pointed out that the 80 yrs thing the Rethugs refer to is that it’s been 80 yrs since a SCOTUS nominee occurred in the last year of a Presidential term, so their argument doesn’t hold water. But the Rs haven’t been worried about having good reasoning behind them for quite a while now.

Apparently WikiHacks is leaking something again, anti-DNC. I have no idea what, Joy Reid just went on a twitter storm against it. Some great comments from her in response to people’s comments as well, including one where she calls a notorious Bernie Bros (someone I’ve seen post before) a “useful idiot.”

Also earlier Sean Spicer attacked ProPublica for being a “left wing blog.” ProPublica responded with the receipts.

49 DYB

He’s a worn out hockey puck. He thinks he’s cool to have Milo and diss Hillary…

R.I.P. Gilbert Baker who created the Rainbow Flag.

annie, did you see on Maddow that the guy behind the Calexit thing actually lives in Siberia?

And now documented Carter Page/Russian spy contact. Apparently the DA who charged the spy? Preet Bharara!

https://www.buzzfeed.com/alimwatkins/a-former-trump-adviser-met-with-a-russian-spy?utm_term=.xb9AOloJ9#.kpb6N2raE

56 Annie,

I’m for any middle finger that can be pointed at El Douche and his administration by CA or any other state that is willing to stand up to this nitwit and crook.


States are now girding for a battle with the feds. Marijuana is still illegal under federal law. White House press secretary Sean Spicer has warned of “greater enforcement” on recreational pot use. And Attorney General Jeff Sessions said last year that “good people don’t smoke marijuana.”

–Yeah, we should listen to a liar like Sessions that doesn’t know truth from a Dump tweet. Lock um all up, with charges of treason against the voters of the United States.

I can’t wait for these investigations to prove how criminal this Dump gang really is.

the guy behind the Calexit thing actually lives in Siberia?

———–
I know a lot of CA folks, including myself that would agree to exit Dump’s altAmerica…along with all the blue states. Eff him!!! As soon as he is pushed off to jail or buys his own island…we come back.

Yes, I’ve seen a few stories about the Calexit dude actually living in Russia. (He’s not Russian originally, but his wife is.) It’s one of those “WTF” moments. He claims it’s just a coincidence that he’s in Russia.

Blumenthal on his no vote for Gorsuch…(Glad somebody said this)

“But my vote is not about Merrick Garland,” he continued. “It is about Neil Gorsuch and it is about the constitutional crisis that may well be looming as a potential threat to our democracy.”

Blumenthal pointed out that FBI Director James Comey has testified that the agency is investigating ties between President Trump’s associates and the Russian interference in the U.S. elections.

“The independence of our judicial branch has never been more threatened or more important,” the senator declared, citing impeachment proceedings against President Richard Nixon. “The possibility of a Supreme Court needing to enforce a subpoena against the president of the United States is far from idle speculation. It has happened before in United States vs. Nixon.”

I’ll find the video.

Here it is.

@71, that’s an excellent speech.

I knew about the Calexit idiot being in Russia. I’m not for Calexit, unless the conditions are absolutely dire, like putting people in camps or something Nazi-ish. Calexit would be insanely complicated and probably take years to work out. Think of all the US military bases we have. What would happen with them?

But I love it when California sticks it to the rethug nation. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve heard people on tv, or in person (like my Greek cousins in WI) slam California and its people. The sports shows based in NYC (especially nbc), when calling sports games always called them with a prejudiced eye if a Cali team was playing, Seriously, saw that stuff go on for decades and am immune to it, and love funny California jokes like the old snl skit, “The Californians”. But its cool to see California resist the encroachment of the gerrymandering rethugs and lead the charge against dump and his evil cronies. I hope our next governor is as strong as Brown.

@65, that’s sad. I love the rainbow flag!

@73, I’m all for a Left Coast exit, but realize it is not going to happen and, yes, would be tremendously complex. I knew the publicity-seeking guy for it was awfully friendly with Russia & had interests there. But lots of people in WA, OR, and CA were talking secession after Nov. 8th. We nearly always vote the same way. Funny, on Nov. 9th when grocery shopping I ran into my state lege district rep and of course the coastal secession idea came up!

The poor Kushner family needs a few billion, fast. Boo-effin’ hoo.

This sums up a lot of our discussion here today:

@75, thanks GAgal, that was interesting.

@78, part of the discussion.

I need to slow down. Am following too many things at once and I should know that Multitasking Is Stupid. Human brains did not evolve for that.

@78> That is so true! I had to re-tweet that.

Hmmm. This paints Comey as railroaded into making his right-before-election email statement. Not sure I buy all of this, and Abramson has not always been reliable about his sources or conclusions.

The Domestic Conspiracy That Gave Trump The Election Is In Plain Sight

Information presently public and available confirms that Erik Prince, Rudy Giuliani, and Donald Trump conspired to intimidate FBI Director James Comey into interfering in, and thus directly affecting, the 2016 presidential election. This conspiracy was made possible with the assistance of officers in the New York Police Department and agents within the New York field office of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. All of the major actors in the conspiracy have already confessed to its particulars either in word or in deed; moreover, all of the major actors have publicly exhibited consciousness of guilt after the fact. This assessment has already been the subject of articles in news outlets on both sides of the political spectrum, but has not yet received substantial investigation by major media.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/the-domestic-conspiracy-that-gave-trump-the-election_us_587ed24fe4b0b110fe11dbf9

Hello folks. I’ve been absent tonight, working on doing the taxes. I have a helluva headache right now so this is about all I can add. See y’all tomorrow or later today actually.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed