The Widdershins

Kryptonite for depression…

Posted on: January 20, 2017

planet-of-the-apes-but-her-emails

Sometimes these posts just write themselves.  The words pop up like mushrooms after a spring shower.  Those are the fun ones because you don’t know what you have written until you get to the end.  It’s a form of literary Tourettes.

Then there are those like today.

Long, laborious, slogs winding their way to nowhere in particular.  It isn’t a trip upon which you want to invite friends.  The best advice, “Stay at home with a nice blanket and a better book.”

To be painfully honest, I have been really depressed this week.  I was shell-shocked through November.  December found me trying to intellectualize.  But this week – this week I have been really depressed.  This travesty is really going to happen.  This isn’t a nightmare.  This is as real as it gets.

So I did a little research.  Most of the self-help cures for depression aren’t applicable on such short notice because they say things like, “Don’t dwell on the negative or it isn’t as bad as it seems.”  Well, yes it is and I can make a pretty strong case that things will get much, much worse.joker-trump

The applicable short-term self-help depression cures are these:

  1. Get outside especially if the sun is shining.
  2. Do 20 minutes of exercise.
  3. Avoid caffeine because it lowers serotonin levels.
  4. Eat a turkey sandwich because tryptophan enhances serotonin release.
  5. Pop Prozac if you have it. If not, drink.  Lots.

I thought about predictions for the next four years, but this early on, Noah probably didn’t even pay attention to the weather reports.  There will be time to fret and fume about the Vermilion Vermin.  It isn’t too soon to laugh about him though.

rick-perry-gifFor instance, his cabinet picks.  We have a Nobel physicist and a nuclear theoretical physicist being replaced by an early elimination from Dancing with the Stars who got an F in organic chemistry and a D in something called “Meats”.

We have a Treasury Secretary who said the disclosure form was complicated and he just plain forgot to mention $100 Million in real estate holdings.  We wouldn’t want things to be too complicated for the guy who is charged with running a $3.8 Trillion budget.

Then we have the most honest designee, Ben Carson, who said, “No one should want me running a federal agency.” bear-with-a-gun

Then there is the lady who found a pair of “smart glasses,” put them on, and stumbled into the Education Secretary Confirmation hearing.  The family of Ms. DeVos anted up $200 Million for her to have the opportunity to embarrass herself bigly.  With a straight face she essentially said, “The only thing that is going to stop a bad grizzly with a gun is a good grizzly with a gun.”

And finally, we have a Friend of Vlad, being considered for Secretary of State.  Let there be no question, Mr. Tillerson gives a new meaning to the GOP.  It is now the Gas and Oil Party.

Then there’s the review of 3 Doors Down biggest hit, Kryptonite.

The compatibility between the social and spiritual perspectives amplified by post-grunge and the revanchist right-wing politics of Trumpism seems fairly obvious, but it’s never more explicit than in the music video for 3 Doors Down’s own career-defining hit “Kryptonite.” As in the film Birdman, to which the video serves as an unwitting precursor, the protagonist is a repellent white man. Old, with disheveled hair, dressed in his underwear, his food infested with insects, he was once a superhero (or a superhero on television, it’s unclear). He watches reruns of his former self on TV. This old man is preposterous and awful and doomed, but how many can he take down with him?

Old man, disheveled hair, once believing he was a superhero, and watches reruns of himself on teevee.  If that isn’t a precursor to the clamorous Yam, I don’t know what it.

 

The best palliative for depression is comedy.  I’ll warn you, inauguration humor isn’t a genre with a large selection, but enjoy what there is.

 

 

 

Folks, fix yourself a turkey sandwich, come by often today, talk about anything and everything, and remember to keep your television on and tuned to anything other than the misInauguration.

165 Responses to "Kryptonite for depression…"

I’m at work, Facebook and twitter turned off. So are all the news sites.

I’m also walking around my office and shutting off every TV that is on (though it’ll get turned on by someone else eventually.)

I just can’t with today.

Last night I was at Carnegie Hall for a concert (just blocks away from the pre-inauguration protest, something like 20K strong? With lots of celebs speaking, including Alec Baldwin doing a brief Drumpf impression.) Anyway, I was listening to Mozart and Bruckner – both magnificent performances – and I just thought: “This is how it ends.” Beautiful music and it just felt like the end of the world.

Today is worse.

@1, I know it does feel like someone has died. There is such a strong feeling of loss — of what could have been.

Just got an e-mail from Donna Brazile and DNC asking for money. I want to write back with: “But what have you done since November 9th? I can’t think of a damn thing.”

@3> Yes. Just so much promise and potential – and snatched away. It’s something that I will never recover from, never forgive, never forget. This presidency (with a lower case p) will be a stain on our country forever.

Prof. Krugman weighs in:

Donald the Unready

He says:

Real crises need real solutions. They can’t be resolved with a killer tweet, or by having your friends in the F.B.I. or the Kremlin feed the media stories that take your problems off the front page. What the situation demands are knowledgeable, levelheaded people in positions of authority.

But as far as we know, almost no people meeting that description will be in the new administration, except possibly the nominee for defense secretary — whose nickname just happens to be “Mad Dog.”

So there you have it: an administration unprecedented in its corruption, but also completely unprepared to govern. It’s going to be terrific, let me tell you.

@6> Really telling that the most ready person is nicknamed “Mad Dog!” Oy.

I’ve been thinking and I think Pence would be preferable to Drumpf. Entirely because he is predictable. We know what Pence wants and you can organize and prepare to oppose him. Big problem with Drumpf is he is so completely undisciplined and without core beliefs or principles. He will create a shitstorm with an impulsive Tweet. How do you respond to that in real time? You can’t. The media can’t and won’t. Democrats certainly can’t either. They’re not unified enough and they move too slowly. So how do you stop Drumpf declaring war on China in a Tweet? This wouldn’t happen with Pence. So I’m on the Pence is preferable to Drumpf train. He won’t start a war with China on Twitter. Am I wrong?

@7, I think you are right — Pence in his right-wing nutjob kinda way, would be predictable. But here’s the question I have: If there was collusion between the Trump campaign and Russia per last night’s NYT article, is anyone who is a beneficiary of that campaign not impeachable? In other words, wouldn’t both Trump and Pence be impeached for collusion with Russia? That leaves us with the anime-eyed Granny-starver.

@8> I’m not sure of how that works, as far Drumpf or Pence as well… I guess it would really depend on the details and who is actually caught doing what…

I feel like same applies to Ryan. Predictable, which is better. The Devil you know.

So is anybody attending the inauguration?

if I want to post a pic into a comment, how do I do that?

@11, you have to go into Comments from the Admin section. Copy the address and insert it into the comments dialogue box.

Fredster taught me how to do it. I’m not too good at explaining it.

@9, people are saying on Twitter that D.C. is like a holiday weekend — deserted.

Khaleesi Conway

Khaleesi Conway

This is a $3600 Gucci monstrosity. The buttons are little Tiger heads. To remove the coat, you just grab it by the pussies.

Great post Prolix…I feel the same way, depression set in yesterday, and I am dressed in all black, including a black Hillary t-shirt from 2008 and a Hillary pin. Humor is the best distraction…thanks for trying to cheer us up. I feel badly for more than half the country that will see their safety net and way of life, hacked with an axe.

I feel terrible for our dear Hillary, the woman that actually won this election and has to watch Putin’s puppet take the job she won.

I would rather be angry than depressed…today is a death…and no one in our country is going to fix it.

I wish that Hillary and Bill would run into traffic and arrive after the evil deed was done. May Hillary know we stand with her and will continue the fight in any way we can.

@7 You are right, but if Douche is impeached, it will give him plenty of time to set the wheels in motion that Pence can continue. Executive orders will happen the first day his fat ass is in the Oval.

I refuse to call him ‘President’. He is a snake oil salesman, at best.

@14, is Cruella marching in a band today? What a horrible outfit and she should be prohibited from wearing red, white and blue, for her it is sacrilegeous and insulting

@15, alas Shadow, there is no traffic for Hill and Bill to get stuck in…..I wonder where those 900,000 supporters are?

Hillary looks beautiful.

The Clintons arrived at the Capitol at around 10:21 a.m. ET. The former secretary of state and 2016 Democratic presidential nominee, 69, donned an all-white suit for the historic event. Hillary took to Twitter on Friday, opening up about her decision to attend her Republican rival’s inauguration.

“I’m here today to honor our democracy & its enduring values,” she wrote. “I will never stop believing in our country & its future.”

http://www.usmagazine.com/celebrity-news/news/hillary-clinton-attends-donald-trumps-inauguration-pics-w461959

@15, thanks Shadow. Yesterday I was just amazed at how many people, Trumpeters, when interviewed have no idea what they are talking about. Like the ones who say they like the way he admits when he’s wrong or the ones who say he’s a godly man who will bring religion back. These people should be required to read or watch something other than Fox before they vote.

@17, LOL Cats. She does look like something out of the Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club band.

I disagree with HRC on attending. This isn’t a normal election and Drumpf isn’t a normal president. We – and she – should not treat it as normal.

A perfect sign for tomorrow’s march:

I'm with her

Or this one:

Enough

I like this one:

Depression all around then. I called my daughter out of school
So she didn’t have to watch or be around his “fans.” I’m glad I’m working another 16 hour day. I just can’t think about it. I hurt for Hillary, I’m uninspired by the Dems and I fear for the protesters – tomorrow and the next 1459 days

@27, contrask, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has already calculated the days. That gives me a strange feeling of comfort.

@26, DYB, it took me forever to figure out pictures. I was totally unable to figure it out and you do it on your first try. I tip my hat to you.

There are a few obvious dangers ahead. 2018 when Democrats may lose more seats in the Senate. And then in 2020 – I think a lot of those who voted for HRC might be demoralized. Especially after almost 3,000,000 votes are declared irrelevant by the Electoral College. Democrats – being the cowards that they have been showing themselves to be since Nov 9 – are going to have a hard time finding a nominee who will bring people back to the polls. There was a real excitement about HRC among so many supporters. They’re not likely to find that again.

Another blast fundraising e-mail from the DNC. 2nd one in the last couple of hours.

Good to see you DNC. Where have you been? Did you have a nice vacation?

I just tweeted at DNC, asking them how their vacation was.

Ok I went to Facebook. Friends are posting that the LGBT Rights page on the White House web-site is gone.

@24-26 love the signs. I am going to use the first and the last one when I protest.

@33, ah, we are on our way to being “great” again…

They took down all the stuff we care about.

This short video of Hillary, shows how stressed she is this morning, and taking deep breaths and doing her best to keep her composure.

Dear Heart, my heart breaks for you.

http://www.usmagazine.com/celebrity-news/news/hillary-clintons-name-left-off-womens-march-honoree-list-w462125

Civil Rights, LGBT, Climate Change, and Healthcare Were All Scrubbed from the White House Website

http://www.esquire.com/news-politics/news/a52430/white-house-website-changes/

And in one of their first moves:

JUST IN: In one of first Trump admin. orders, Dept of Housing & Urban Dev. suspends reduction of FHA annual mortgage insurance premium rates.

Meaning, the Trump/Putin Administration just made housing more expensive.

MAGA — Make America Grotesque Again

@37: And the march organizers left her name off the list of honorees?

In the vid clip on the US page, even the young woman standing in front of Bill has this wistful, regretful, look on her face.

@11: What Prolix said. I sent you an email that shows how to go directly to the [blogname]/wp-admin part.

Oh they are just twisting the knife. I thought “okay I can watch TCM”. But noooooo! They are showing The Fountanhead.

@40 – A guy at the airport was talking to his girlfriend about that. I was absolutely floored. What else does she have to do? Seriously. A prophet is never honored in her own country….

@42, ugh.
Tune in later, Fredster, they’re playing “A Face In The Crowd” at 5:45.

@43: Was the guy speaking in a disrespectful way about HRC?

@44: LOL, oh geez, Lonesome Rhodes.

38 | Fredster
January 20, 2017 at 2:35 pm

——-
That says it all.

It also tells me he didn’t win this election.

He couldn’t get anyone to perform, and his supporters are too poor to fly to DC to see their Douche put his hand on the bible.

@37, WTH!

In nola, they are mourning/celebrating nola style.

Hi everyone! It is pouring rain here in Anaheim, CA, and I haven’t gotten out of my jammies yet. Slept through the un-augeration.

Shadow, I agree that Hillary looks lovely, and that she and Bill should not have attended this travesty. Her comment about “honoring our democracy and its values” could apply just as well to boycotting this monstrous event. I was very interested in WW2 during my young years and read masses of books about it and also the 30s and what led up to it. I am simply stunned that we are in this situation that has so many parallels to that time.

btw, love the post and all the links. We all laughed at the Lewis Black bit. Also love all the protests. Thank you protestors, from the bottom of my heart. I will join you soon!

@49, love those nola jazz people! We saw some wonderful jazz yesterday at NAMM.

@40, I did a lot of retweets about that late last night. Apparently, one of the “organizers” of this Women’s march is a disgruntled Bernie bot, who put together a list of women the march is “honoring” and left Hill’s name off of it. (I thought it should have been a straight up protest against the electoral college, et al, screwing Hillary & protesting dump, btw.)

@Fredster – No, he was very respectful. In fact, he was appalled that they would quote HRC on the Facebook page, and not even list her as an honoree. He was so upset he was having trouble speaking.

Laker got a good role in a play at his college, so he is happy about that, and I’m glad there is something to take his mind off “the terror”. Oh, he missed a phone call this morning from Point Mugu, CA. Pt Mugu is a naval base!?!? Maybe Uppity is right and dump is going to immediately embroil us in a new war and the armed services are getting an early start!

@52, yes! And this woman, Linda Sansour, who is a Palestinian muslim, actually used Hillary’s famous quote, “…human rights are women’s rights and women’s rights are human rights…” She seriously did that! I retweeted about it for a couple of hours last night. Had to take a sleeping pill to settle down I was so pissed. I am so f’ing sick of the f’ing bernie jerks.

@DYB, LOLOLOL!!!! Omg! She looks ridiculous! Like a Clown/Doorman. Wait! Actually, that is perfect for dumps right hand alien.

Thankfully, I slept through the noon hour. I put my TV on the ID channel thinking that’s less of a horror show than Trump. I did see John Berman and what’shername on CNN about 5 am. They were grinning from ear to ear, eyes shiny, just glowing… I expected them to start clapping their hands rapidly and bounce up and down in their seats. Maybe they did after I changed the channel.

From earlier, I’m thrilled that Roger Stone’s name is in the news and being associated with Manafort and Page. I want that slimy scumbag taken down.

OMG that is INFURIATING about leaving HRC off. I know that several of the marches in other cities have specifically addressed this omission, including Las Vegas and Maryland, saying they wish to honor HRC. At least as of last night they were the only two.

I hope there will be lots of DC marchers wearing Hillary gear and carrying Hillary signs tomorrow.

@55, I see their guiding advisors include someone from “People for Bernie” and no one from any group with Hillary in the name.

They plagiarize Hillary’s words and don’t give her credit, then ignore her decades-long work advancing women’s rights and civil rights. I’ve more than half a mind to not go.

@52/mb: Oh okay. I just wasn’t sure. I’m happy to hear he was upset. I hope people rip that Sansour woman a new one.

Luna, yes, it looks like Bernie and his demented followers are trying to pull a coup d’etat and completely take over the Democratic party.

That video of HRC is heart-breaking. I wish I hadn’t seen it.

And then did you see this??

@67, Horrible. I feel more strongly than ever that she should never have gone.

@67 Someone with access to Chafettz page should ask him when was the last time he looked his daughter in the eyes.

@68> He’s despicable. Like – ugh ugh ugh I can’t ugh!

Hillary, sweet Hillary…you are much too nice to your enemies…

You get kicked in the face and shake someone’s hand…

The weather in Atlanta tomorrow is iffy – calling for thunderstorms. But if I go, I will be marching for HILLARY. F*uck that noise.

@67, Chaffetz doesn’t recognize honesty and integrity even when she graciously shakes his undeserving hand. She is so strong.

I would have spit on him.

@72, Those people give me the shivers. Callous cruelty.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

@72> He’s an idiot.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

@69> I posted to his Twitter page that he should feel shame when he looks his daughter in the eye. But I’m sure it doesn’t matter to him. These people have no souls.

@80, omg! What a weird coincidence.

OMG, Drumpf asked people at the presidential lunch to give HRC and Bill a standing ovation:

https://www.buzzfeed.com/tanyachen/trump-has-a-lot-of-respect-for-clintons?bftw&utm_term=.gvr5kXL2b#.vs0ezxGLY

Well, at least Drumpf showed 1% more class than Jason Chaffetz.

@82, really weird.

Not on;y should Hillary be on the list of honorees, she should be at the TOP of the list. When are these Bernie freaks going to get over themselves?

@83, this comment about the [lack of] crowds at the Unauguration:

Almost as many outhouses as spectators. 🤣🤣

😀

Re Jason Chaffetz “The investigation continues.”
How many times does the investigation have to be terminated with findings of no wrongdoings before the investigation no longer “continues”?

@53, Annie, that is the best news I’ve had all day long. Laker getting the part in a play, good part, that he wanted. That is happy making for me. Thanks for sharing and tell Laker congratulations!

@78, Fredster, think about what that little boy has to live with. His only hope is that he doesn’t turn out like Uday and Qusay or blond Elvira.

@80, that is weird. Obviously she is clueless about current culture.

@91, I wonder if the designer did it on purpose.

Don’t they look happy here?

I agree that *nobody* should be at the installation of the Unpresident. But put yourself in Hillary’s place. If she wasn’t superhumanly gracious about this mountain of garbage, that’s all the media would talk about. She’s in an impossible position. She’s just about the only person I don’t blame for countenancing this putsch.

@90: Prolix, I’ve heard that Barron has ADD or ADHD or something like that. I recall seeing him onstage at one of the Trump deals, (at the convention?) and he looked at that time like he might be on some meds of some type Speculation of course.

{{{quixote}}} !!!


And so it begins.

Of the nearly 20 inaugurations I can remember, there has never been one that felt like today. Not even close. Never mind the question of the small size of the crowds, or the boycott by dozens of lawmakers, or even the protest marches slated for tomorrow across the country. Those are plays upon the stage. What is truly unprecedented in my mind is the sheer magnitude of quickening heartbeats in millions of Americans, a majority of our country if the polls are to be believed, that face today buffeted within and without by the simmering ache of dread.

I have never seen my country on an inauguration day so divided, so anxious, so fearful, so uncertain of its course.

I have never seen a transition so divisive with cabinet picks so encumbered by serious questions of qualifications and ethics.

I have never seen the specter of a foreign foe cast such a dark shadow over the workings of our democracy.

I have never seen an incoming president so preoccupied with responding to the understandable vagaries of dissent and seemingly unwilling to contend with the full weight and responsibilities of the most powerful job in the world.

I have never seen such a tangled web of conflicting interests.

Despite the pageantry of unity on display at the Capitol today, there is a piercing sense that we are entering a chapter in our nation’s evolving story unlike one ever yet written. To be sure, there are millions of Donald Trump supporters who are euphoric with their candidate’s rise. Other Trump voters have expressed reservations, having preferred his bluster to his rival’s perceived shortcomings in the last election, but admitting more and more that they are not sure what kind of man they bestowed the keys to the presidency. The rest of America – the majority of voters – would not be – and indeed is not – hesitant in sharing its conclusions on the character and fitness of Donald Trump for the office he now holds.

The hope one hears from even some of Donald Trump’s critics is that this moment might change him. Perhaps, as he stood there on a grey, drab, January day, reciting the solemn oath of office demanded by our Constitution, as he looked out across what Charles Dickens once called the “city of magnificent intentions”, he would somehow grasp the importance of what he was undertaking. Perhaps he would understand that he must be the president of all the United States, in action as well as in word. Perhaps, but there has already been so much past that is prologue.

There is usually much fanfare around inaugural addresses. They are also usually forgotten – with some notable exceptions. I think today will be remembered, not so much for the rhetoric or the turns of phrase but for the man who delivered them and the era they usher us forth.

Mr. Trump’s delivery was staccato and there was very little eye contact as he seemed to be reading carefully from a teleprompter. His words and tone were angry and defiant. He is still in campaign mode and nary a whiff of a unifying spirit. There was little or nothing of uplift – the rhetoric of Washington, Lincoln, Roosevelt, Kennedy, or Reagan. We heard a cavalcade of slogans and one liners, of huge promises to “bring back” an America – whatever that really means to many who look at our history and see progress in our current society.

The speech started with a message of an establishment in Washington earning riches on the back of struggling families across the country. It was an odd note, considering the background of many of his cabinet picks. President Trump painted a very dark picture of the current state of our nation, beset by gangs and drugs and violence, regardless of what the data shows. His words swelled with his economic populism and the nationalism of “America first.” The applause was sparse, and I imagine many more being turned off, even sickened, rather than inspired by what our new President had to say. President Obama looked on with an opaque poker face. One could only imagine what he was thinking.

It bears remembering that one never can predict the arc of a presidency. It is an office that is far too often shaped by circumstance well beyond its occupant’s control. Those challenges, wherever and however they may rise, now will fall on the desk of President Trump. We can only see what will happen. We hope, for the security and sanctity of our Republic, that Mr. Trump will respond to the challenges with circumspection and wisdom. Today’s rhetoric was not reassuring.

Our democracy demands debate and dissent – fierce, sustained, and unflinching when necessary. I sense that tide is rising amongst an opposition eager to toss aside passivity for action. We are already seeing a more emboldened Democratic party than I have witnessed in ages. It is being fueled by a fervent energy bubbling from the grassroots up, rather than the top down.

These are the swirling currents about our ship of state. We now have a new and untested captain. His power is immense, but it is not bestowed from a divinity on high. It is derived, as the saying goes, from the consent of the governed. That means President Trump now works for us – all of us. And if he forgets that, it will be our duty to remind him.

Dan Rather is growing on me lately. Such a sad day for America

I think Trumpy’s overdosed Viagra doesn’t work anymore and he’s been taking it out on Melania. Who is wondering why the hell she ever thought marrying this chump was a brilliant opportunity.

@92> Snopes already did an article on it. I guess the issue is more than the old web-site has been archived under Obama, while the new one hasn’t been built yet.

Branjour, if I missed it, how did your procedure go?

@97> Rather is right about this, certainly:

“We are already seeing a more emboldened Democratic party than I have witnessed in ages. It is being fueled by a fervent energy bubbling from the grassroots up, rather than the top down.”

Written about another Republican president, but fits the occasion now as well:

@99: Oh! Well let me take that out then.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

The ACLU files for documents under the FOIA. The first of many.

first-many-aclu-foia-request-seeks-information-about-new-presidents-conflicts

@106 I’ll tell ya a BIGGIE that can go wrong that’s not on that list. A guy in charge of the Energy Dept who didn’t know that’s who maintains our nuclear… everything.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

A last funny for you before we head out to a nice Italian dinner with our fellow NAMMians:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Good article w/video on the Seattle Womxns’ March, expected to be the 3rd biggest! I’ll have a sign with “Hillary Clinton said: Women’s Rights are Human Rights.” And my Hillary buttons.

Planned Parenthood is one of them — a group that has received such an outpouring of support that Cyndy Wilson, hired just before the election to work on outreach, said all she’s had time to do is to coordinate requests to help.

http://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/politics/thousands-to-stride-into-activism-at-seattle-womens-march/

@112, Luna, I’m proud of you. Up here in the hollers we don’t have such things, but I can march vicariously. With my broken ribs, that is about the only way I could march. Thanks for carrying the mantle of leadership for the great Northwest.

@112: Hope y’all have good weather for tomorrow.

Branjour, if I missed it, how did your procedure go?

Fredster, it’s not until Monday. Thanks for asking!

82 | DYB
January 20, 2017 at 5:28 pm

———
I have no words…

The loyalty oaths and tests will begin shortly.

In Trump’s inaugural speech, a demand for unity and loyalty

“At the bedrock of our politics will be a total allegiance to the United States of America, and through our loyalty to our country, we will rediscover our loyalty to each other. When you open your heart to patriotism, there is no room for prejudice,” Trump said.

If Trump displayed more interest in the principles of the U.S. Constitution — that the rights of men come from God and not from government, respect for the rule of law, checks and balances, a balance between the will of the people and the moderating influence of government institutions — there might be less concern about his absolutist talk of “total allegiance” to the country he now leads and represents.

Frightening, simply frightening.

96 contrask

Thank you for that refreshing, honest message from a newsman that finally speaks the truth for the majority in our country, instead of the MSM that are all trying to paint Douche as a normal leader of America. (I just can’t call him p resident…

First order of business apparently:

Trump signs first executive order, targeting Obamacare

Notice how dark and covered up the Oval Office looks in the pic. Perhaps not wanting the light of day to show on misdeeds?

112 NW Luna

Thanks for posting that video.

Gurl! You can throw some shade!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Arghhhhhh!!! Moderator, pls delete my duplicate post #123 — I am multi-tasking between blogs and websites and maps trying to coordinate with friends and co-workers on getting to/from the March tomorrow…..and obviously my poor brain can’t handle the organization. 😦

@109, ya’d think they would be a tad leery of plagiarizing other people’s speeches by now. Guess the richly entitled Trumpists just grab what they want. But we know.

Yes, it’s yet another sad day for our country out of many recently. The consensus on Trump’s speech is that it was Hitlerian, dark and dystopian. The only people who seemed to like it were his fan base. I don’t know but Trump cannot continue on like this because the majority of Americans are not consenting to be governed by Trump. Minority rule cannot hold and the country is going to split apart at the seams.

On this page, there is a copy of what the ‘executive’ order about ObamaCare says. Any lawyers in the house?

Will people have trouble getting care if they use O’care now? Luckily, I have Kaiser were I work.

I found the E.O. in pdf format and uploaded it to the blog. It’s over on the right under Misc. Mr. Prolix, please give us your thoughts on it.

@128, without going into too much legalese what the Executive Order provides — there it is:

Neener, neener, neener, I’m a big wiener. I won, you lost, suck it.
Love me lenders
Love my tweets
I am a big ho
My life is not near complete.

Apologies to Elvis.

Basically the Executive Order means nothing. It was for show. It basically says, “Obamacare sucks. I hate it. I want you to hate it too. Slow walk everything. If you have a chance to make some rule or regulation last longer, slap a little KY gel on it and make it last much longer. If there’s a chance of doing something positive, don’t. If there’s a chance of doing something negative, have at it. Knock yourself out.

He can’t really mess with anything through Executive Order — that is legally. Of course, Price, if confirmed, could start doing a bunch of stuff illegally and inviting people to sue him. He knows full well by the time a trial would roll around, the ACA would have been repealed or changed to a point where the litigation would be null.

Here’s an article from WaPo, that says, kinda, sorta, maybe the agencies will do things like not enforce penalties, but the article essentially says what I say above, he can’t kill the ACA with the stroke of a pen, but he can do harm to it. There’s no real click bait in being definitive about the sham of this action so they have to fluff it.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/trump-signs-executive-order-that-could-lift-affordable-care-acts-individual-mandate/2017/01/20/8c99e35e-df70-11e6-b2cf-b67fe3285cbc_story.html?utm_term=.6f5a529a286f&wpisrc=al_alert-COMBO-politics%252Bnation

Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer. IMNSHO, that AO is a bucket of crock. It says that his admin intends to repeal the ACA but until then comply with the law. But look for ways to make it cost less. Regulators should:

…to waive, defer, grant exemptions from, or delay the implementation of any provision or requirement of the Act that would impose a fiscal burden on any State or a cost, fee, tax, penalty, or regulatory burden on individuals, families, healthcare providers, health insurers, patients, recipients of healthcare services, purchasers of health insurance, or makers of medical devices, products, or medications.

which is complete hogwash (as my father was fond of saying). Anything that decreases the cost to individuals and families, great! But they are also saying you can’t increase costs to the insurance co leeches, or to Big Pharma, and their ilk. All riiiiight. But when Bio-Teknyk Pharma Co wants to increase the price of their heart drug, they won’t be able to do that because it would make the individual or family pay more. Hehehe, and when United We Profit Insurance Co. wants to raise its rates, it would increase the cost burden on us poor individuals and families, so they can’t!

Bwhahahaha! He’s just tied up the whole damn market and all stakeholders with superglue! Does he realize that?

…was typing when Prolix was posting. I defer to him. But really, Prolix, isn’t the wording about no fiscal burden on anyone or anything weird?

@132, this was written by Bannon and Priebus for theatrical effect. The real monkey wrench is if the insurers get cold feet and start pulling out of markets. That could cause an immediate crisis in the next renewal period. Lots of people could get cancellation notices in the next year.

Remember: the Republican goal is simple. Convince people the ACA is failing and has failed. They don’t want the blood on their hands. If the Democrats don’t get off their arses and start fighting, they will get away with it.

It takes at least a year to make a rule. What he signed doesn’t mean anything — how they take it and run with it does.

I hope this comes out, it’s pretty funny…

130 | Prolix

Thanks for the rundown. I was guessing that was what was going on, but didn’t really know.

NW Luna

…”Bwhahahaha! He’s just tied up the whole damn market and all stakeholders with superglue! Does he realize that?”

————
That’s what I was wondering, if one of Douche’s appointees could put a departmental road block in that would prevent someone from getting the medical help they needed.

We need to prepare ourselves for the 4 year term of Beavis and Butthead.

They are going to try and pull fast ones, as much as they can get away with. Dumptruck will use his bulling and sue crazy techniques, just like his hairbrain idea of waterboarding.

An article from Vox on the Executive Order:

“This order doesn’t in and of itself do anything tangible,” says Larry Levitt, vice president at the Kaiser Family Foundation. “But, it directs federal agencies to start taking steps to use their administrative authority to unwind the ACA in all sorts of ways. This is a signal that the Trump administration is not waiting for Congress to start making big changes.”…

But this executive action on its own does not unravel the mandate on its own, or any other part of Obamacare for that matter. Instead, it sets up a long, drawn-out process to change the law’s rules — a unwinding process that takes time. And there are still major limits to how much Trump can do before Congress acts.

http://www.vox.com/2017/1/20/14343332/trump-obamacare-executive-order

This is pitiful and some parts are pretty funny…

Trump’s Inauguration Was No Woodstock

@134> Was Dick Cheney trying to smother Dubya?

That video of the Lincoln Memorial – OMG I want to save that somehow and post it everywhere! It’s amazing!

@134, well, who’d a guessed it! The allegedly Texas cowboy doesn’t like the rain. Boo-hoo.

The Womxn’s March in Seattle for tomorrow has a forecast for 60% chance of light rain. Normal this time of year (and for about 5-6 more months). So we’re used to it.

While I worry about the ACA, due to the rule-making in the Administrative Procedures Act, the Trumpanzee and Co. can’t really do lots of harm for about a year.

Here’s what I’m worried about immediately and have been worried about for months now. He’s going to immediately withdraw from the TPP, file notice to renegotiate NAFTA, and label China as a currency manipulator. He can do all that without Congress. Most Presidents don’t because it is crazy to do so.

This is what that means practically. The U.S. will have lost southeast Asia — again. We were using TPP as a balancing act to thwart Chinese influence. The South China Sea grab by China is significant. A large portion of that oil rightfully belongs to Vietnam. Japan wanted us to be a player. Who knows what hell he will cause with NAFTA? But calling China a manipulator can cause an automatic trigger and a trade war.

Trump and his people are living in a world where their world view was formed in the 1980s. It ain’t the 80s any longer. China holds about a trillion and a half in our debt. Ranchers and farmers will be the big losers in a trade war. China could become the global voice in world free trade. That will be a huge step in supplanting us as the voice of reason globally.

We have no reason to pick a fight with China. China has no reason to want to fight with us. China has no central bank — right now it is spending hundreds of billions in propping up the Yuan. Direct government action is the only way they can do it, but the political Republican yammering about currency manipulation was a good talking point. No one knew what that meant, but it sounded good.

The Trumpanzee was right: I’m already tired of winning.

http://www.vox.com/policy-and-politics/2017/1/20/14323686/trummp-trade-war

@146 Ranchers and farmers will be the big losers in a trade war

See this is what I don’t get. (Of course there’s a whole lot I don’t get about trade agreements/arguments) Trump picked former Governor of Georgia Sonny Perdue to head the Dept of Agriculture. Agriculture is the #1 commodity here – as it is in many states. Why would so many vote for Trump knowing his views on trade? (Also it’s scary that food stamps and other food assistance programs are under the purview of the Dept. of Agriculture)

Another group is filing complaints about Trump violating the Constitution regarding the old Post Office lease. Also about his camp wanting the names of those who worked in climate change at NOAA.

http://www.citizensforethics.org/press-release/trump-now-violating-constitution/

@144, food, crops, and grain are big trade. It also runs at a huge surplus. The last time I looked, with southeast Asia, it was about $12+ Billion. What happens is that there isn’t elasticity in the market especially if the Trumpanzee also monkeys around with NAFTA. If there aren’t markets, eventually that produces a glut causing commodity prices to fall domestically. It is often overlooked because it is flyover country. Obama was really good for ranchers and farmers. But like you say, they voted for the Trumpanzee — they will reap (pun intended) what they have sown.

Perdue won’t be a player in any of this. It will be Wilbur Ross and Lighthizer, a Reagan trade warrior. He’s setting the table for a China confrontation. It won’t end well.

@145, good for them! I’d say the “good ethics police business” will be a boom industry the next four years.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2017/01/20/donald-trump-still-cant-escape-hillary-clinton/?utm_term=.0934fe76c1e3

“Now Trump is entering office as unpopular as any incoming president has ever been and with more questions about how exactly he got there. Worse, as he steps up to take the oath, Clinton will be right there with him at the Capitol, hewing to duty as a former first lady, impossible to miss, as TV news cameras linger on her composed, inscrutable face for signs that she’s inwardly retching. And then, once he’s president, there she’ll be in the White House, smiling down from her portrait confidently in her pantsuit.

No wonder he’d rather hole up at Trump Tower.”

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

@150> Oh dear… I shouldn’t laugh but…

@149> He quoted Bane and also the crazy general from “Avatar.”

@151: Oh laugh – he deserves it. Besides, he deserves to be punched if for nothing else, his hair. That’s dumb looking.

I couldn’t find a tweet where they had the “Avatar” general. 😦

@152 He also deserved to be hit for wearing a Pepe the frog pin. “It’s a… kinda become a symbol.” No kidding.

@150, sorry guys, i think anyone who sucker punches and runs is a coward. If you accept this, no matter how much of an ass the man is, then you are okay with the knockout game too. Isn’t it assault and battery? I saw two dicks there, not one.

1458 days remaining. If you put up a weekend music post my pick is Paint it Black.” Thanks foe sharing the GIF @122 Fredster &’also the ever eloquent Rude Pundit. I’m composing dirges today.

@151 & 152, I have the Avatar quote up at #109.

He even plagiarized the “Bee Movie” — what is wrong with these people? Do they not think people will figure this out?

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

@158, what’s weird is he even plagiarized the “We are one …. their plain is our pain.” Why say “their” about “one” nation/colony?

What’s really funny is that bees have a queen. No king. Drones are put out to freeze come winter. hmmm…he sure is a drone….

SHINNERS!!! This has been a hell of a couple of months. I just can’t. Real life caught up too fast, too soon. Dad was in ICU, he’s still around, was able to help him celebrate his 81st bday. Then, the job, Then the kid and the commute to her university while driving to the job, 120 miles a day. Thank you GOD for Japanese cars for their durability and for the American will to survive. EFF YOU Rethuglicans. EFF YOU racist misogynists. I spent a lot of time at USF (University of South Florida) and the MAJORITY of what I saw in this blue dot, within a red state, was the beauty of the promise of America. Diverse and a mini-United Nations of learning and promise in tomorrow. EFF THESE AZZHOLES.

Couldn’t go to the local march. The kid works and has a 4 hour lab at school today, seriously. ANd I’m her only ride because public transit in Tampa SUCKS. So I’m live streaming the march in DC and thanking you all for being on the right side of history. WE ARE LEGION.

Oh, and EFF THE RUSSIAN KGB. EFF YOU, come get me in West Tampa. I’m ready.

BTW, speaking to all the refugee Cubans in my neighborhood, those that have escaped from the 1950s all the way to the recent 2010s, they say the same thing: THE RUSSIANS EFFED EVERYTHING UP. Once they came into Cuba, it’s like a dark cloud came over the entire island. I believe them because they lived it for 50 years. So, yeah, they suck and EFF THE RETHUGLICANS for selling out our country for party.

I remember a time we went over country over party, and wanted our opposition to win, with the dignity of at least doing something to oppose the process. We had that luxury of doing that. I’m not sure that our daughters and sons will be able to that.

I still believe in Lady Liberty, and even she wants a friggin OB-GYN and a pap smear and a choice in her repro rights.

The march was amazing! At least 500,000 people. Tons of Hillary gear. First chant was: Hey hey, ho ho, Donald Trump has got to go!”

(hugs) to madamab! Your crowd didn’t happen to break attendance over the Unauguration, did you 😀 Nasty wimmenz!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

DYB on Invent This!
NW Luna on Invent This!
Sweet Sue on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!

Blog Archive

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph