The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend ~ It’s a Mad, mad, mad, mad world

Posted on: September 10, 2016

movie-box-office

Good Saturday and weekend!

We have arrived at the weekend and this week we definitely need a break from the weird week of politics; a palate cleanser as Chat would say.  We watched a “forum” that, while the idea was good, the implementation was just awful and provided us with at least one new hashtag, “#Laueringthebar”.  We saw the talking yam continue to lie and not be held accountable for it.  We saw the moderator of said forum waste precious time (she had thirty minutes) on questions about emails with Hillary Clinton and then demand brevity when asking her “longform” questions about ISIS and the Iran nuclear deal, telling her to speed it up.  Clinton was, and has been treated differently, and finally, people have noticed; here and here.

So to put this week behind us and for a change of pace let’s look at some movies, and specifically comedies.  Comedy has been a staple in movies since their inception so there are tons of them out there.  I’ll put up a few of mine and please share some of your favorites in the comments.

line-divider-2

(1) Meet the Parents ~ Circle of Trust

(2) There’s Something About Mary ~ Dog Fight

(3) Planes, Trains and Automobiles ~ Wrong way on the highway

(4) The Marx Brothers ~ Duck Soup

(5) Woody Allen ~ Love and Death ~ Wheat

(6) Animal House ~ Double Secret Probation

(7) From the title of the post ~ Scenes from It’s a mad, mad, mad, mad world ~Jonathan Winters

line-divider-2

Okay!  That’s a few of my favorites and I’ve barely scratched the surface.  I want to leave room for your contributions and not have the page take forever to load.  So please share some of your favorites below.

51 Responses to "Lazy Weekend ~ It’s a Mad, mad, mad, mad world"

Here’s a movie I just happened to watch purely by accident and it has become a favorite for its one-liners. All of the characters are exceptional.

@2: Great cast in there.

Here’s a wonderful article about dogs from the La. floods being flown out by a rescue group from Wyoming and taking the puppers to Wyoming and Idaho.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Great post Fredster! I love It’s a Mad Mad Mad Mad World!

Here’s an old comedy I loved as a kid. Peter Ustinov’s character has amazingly great dialogue for a kid movie.

Another old fav. Whenever people ask me about my Dad’s wartime service, I tell them he was like the Tony Curtis character in this movie.

State and Main was a great movie. I think I’ve seen most of his movies.

Fredster, did you hear that the Red Tide hired Steve Sarkisian as an “offensive analyst”? In other words, 2nd fiddle to Kiffin. Trojans fans by and large could not stand either of those two assholes and were glad when they got the boot. Why does Nick Satan want them so badly? Does he particularly hate the Trojans, or L.A., or something?

@1 I was glad to see Hillary just said she regretted saying “half” and didn’t back down on the rest of her remarks. The media refuses to talk about it, as usual, so somebody has to.

From the McClatchy link in your post

In the Republican primaries, Trump’s opponents were repeatedly frustrated by his ability to dominate the news cycle with provocative comments and his failure to suffer any consequences for his words. Republican strategists say Clinton should have been more prepared for that to happen in the general election.

“Trump has an ability to manipulate situations like that to his advantage, which we saw over and over in the primary,” said Sarah Isgur Flores, the former campaign manager for Republican candidate Carly Fiorina. “She can complain about the rules of the game, but she also knows the rules of the campaign.”

WTH? They act like Trump has some magical ability here. He says stupid stuff and the media rewards him by endless coverage while ignoring what Hillary’s doing. I don’t know why they think Trump has this all planned out like some great strategy. He blurts nonsense without thinking one second about it because he knows he won’t be held accountable. He ain’t that smart.

I’ll check in later because…football.

The way I see it, Hillary was clarifying her previous statement. It wasn’t an apology. She is wise not to alienate undecided voters who may be leaning toward Trump but are still open to voting for her. She specifically addressed those who feel left behind and left out in our economy. She again stressed the need for empathy. I think it was fine.

GAgal, I hope you are feeling much better today.

@19 Enjoy, Fredster.

Allons, les animaux! (for Tigers and Dawgs fans alike, but with an LSU accent)

Phew and thank goodness Lester replaced the quarterback!

Thankye Pat!

annie@16: Yes, Saban brought him in as an “offensive adviser”, whatever that is. Looks like Tuscaloosa will be the 2nd stop for disgraced USC coaches. 😛

You can’t fight in the War Room!

@20, excellent, thanks GAgal. Hope you’re feeling better!

@21, I like your take on it Beata. I wasn’t sure if I was happy about her clarification, but your explanation makes good sense.

@25, LOL!

@27, ah, I remember that movie. Love Anne Bancroft.

@29: annie I started to say “reformed drunks” but I don’t know if he’s reformed or not. 😛

Anne Bancroft was wonderful.

At a fundraiser for Hillary, Barbra Streisand sang Send in the clowns but changed the lyrics somewhat. Video isn’t the best, probably shot with a smartphone at the event.

VERSE 1
IS HE THAT RICH?
MAYBE HE’S POOR?
’TIL HE REVEALS HIS RETURNS
WHO CAN BE SURE?
WHO NEEDS THIS CLOWN?

VERSE 2
SOMETHING’S AMISS
I DON’T APPROVE
IF HE WERE RUNNING THE FREE WORLD,
WHERE WOULD WE MOVE?
NAME ME A TOWN?
JUST WHO IS THIS CLOWN?

BRIDGE
AND WHEN WE THOUGHT WE’D HEARD IT ALL
HUFFING AND PUFFING ABOUT HIS BIG FANTASY WALL
MAKING HIS ENTRANCE ON STAGE…
HE JUST SHOOTS FROM THE HIP
HE’S FULL OF BULL
HE’S LOST HIS GRIP!

VERSE 3
AND IF BY CHANCE
HE GETS TO HEAV’N
EVEN UP THERE HE’LL DECLARE…
CHAPTER ELEV’N!
WHO’D HIRE THIS CLOWN?
THIS SAD VULGAR CLOWN…
“YOU’RE FIRED” YOU CLOWN!

BRIDGE 2
HILLARY’S KIND…
SMART THAT IS CLEAR
WHILE SHE IS GIVING US HOPE…TRUMP IS SELLING US FEAR
LOOK HOW HE CHANGES HIS VIEWS EVERY TIME THAT HE SPEAKS
IT’S LIE AFTER LIE
CAN’T TAKE EIGHT MORE WEEKS!

VERSE 4
THIS IS NO FARCE
MAYBE HE’S BROKE?
IS THIS “THE ART OF HIS DEAL”
OR SOME AWFUL JOKE?
YOU’VE GOT TO ADMIT…
THIS SILLY HALF-WIT…
IS SO FULL OF ­…

@33: I have to admit I had a few giggles listening to it.

A sad day in our nation’s history. I am sure each of us remember where we were on that terrible day. Peace be with us all.

My computer is on its last legs. I can’t afford a new one so I won’t be around for quite a while, probably not until after the election. Hillary’s going to win. Keep the faith and take care.

@36: Perhaps a kind geek will give you some assistance in keeping that computer chugging along Beata.

Before anyone goes apeshit, Hillary left the 9-11 ceremony in NYC early because she was “overheated”. She was taken to Chelsea’s apt. She was diagnosed with pneumonia on Friday and started antibiotics.

Dylan Byers is complaining about a “lack of transparency” with her campaign.

@36 Oh no Beata ! I hate to hear that, but I know how it is to be without a computer for awhile. We’ll miss you if that happens. Come back as soon as possible. Take care. 🙂

I had pneumonia once. I was sitting at my desk at work talking to two co-workers in my office and this strange feeling came over me. It wasn’t light-headed – it was like the focus of my eyes went funny. And I just felt weird. I said to them ‘I feel funny’ but I couldn’t explain how exactly.

So, called my doc, drove myself to see her that afternoon and was absolutely shocked when she told me I had pneumonia. I had not been coughing at all, but my allergies are so bad that time of year I wouldn’t have been surprised if it was bronchitis. No chest x-ray, she just listened to my lungs.

She gave me antibiotics and I didn’t even miss a day of work. Of course, I sat on my tush at a desk all day and was not traveling around the country.

@40: When my mom was in the n.h. one of the nurses had pneumonia. She had had some bad coughing spells but blew it off. She went to see her doc and he diagnosed the pneumonia. He put her on a Z-Pak and she continued to work.

On ABC news the weekend anchor mentioned to the reporter that Clinton had not released all of her medical records. The reporter (thank goodness) said that neither had Trump and stopped him right there.

@41 It always makes me wonder exactly what specific “records” are they looking for. I’m serious. Has anyone ever said – this, this and this need to be shown?

The media is cracking me up. “If you were an undecided voter and watched what happened today, what are you thinking?” Hilarious.

@43: GAgal did that statement come from one of the linked articles? I couldn’t find it.

@42: I’d also like to know exactly which records they feel they are entitled to see. Hell, even your employers are limited in what they can ask for in many instances.

@44 No, a pundit just asked a “pollster” on CNN. They both “agreed” this could be baaad for her chances to pick up those “undecideds”.

Oh and don’t forget: Dylan Byers was quoting Anne Gearan who is one of the conservadroids at WaPo. I try to ignore her stuff as much as possible.

@46: Oh dear gawd! If this tilts an “undecided” to go with Trump that’s pretty pathetic.

I added a little photo on the right. This latest thing over the pneumonia contributed to me putting it there but it’s also because of the media coverage this entire campaign season.

On FOX news Bret Bair just said ‘as part of our continuing coverage of 9/11 we’ll be back to talk about the “other” 9/11. Trey Gowdy will be with us to talk about BENGHAZI!!!’

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar