The Widdershins

Music for a lazy weekend ~lies and liars

Posted on: August 20, 2016

victrola player

Good Saturday to you Widdershins!

Let’s hope that this post finds you well and enjoying your weekend.  I have kind of been around the blog in a somewhat haphazard way this week.  I was watching things online about the flooding in Louisiana and doing what I could to assist the folks there going through that awful situation.  I had some clothes that had shrunk (notice I did not say I outgrew the clothes) so I gathered the jeans and shirts, found some new socks of a type I don’t wear anymore and gathered all the stuff together and shipped them to an organization that was accepting things like that from out of state.  So Fredster was a busy bee this week.  And to give you an idea of how much rain fell, I saw this on a local nola station’s website.

So let’s move on to this week’s music post and its theme. That theme would be lies and those who tell them.  And naturally that leads to the Republican candidate.  Now perhaps Trump doesn’t realize all the whoppers he tells.  Or perhaps they weren’t whoppers in the strictest meaning of the term. And then there are the statements that were later retracted or modified somewhat.  Eh, who knows with him.  So with that in mind let’s take a look at and listen to some songs that are about lies or liars and the whole lot.

separator-line(1) The Knickerbockers ~ Lies

(2)  The Castaways ~ Liar, liar

(3) Depeche Mode ~ Lie to me

(4) Elliot Smith ~ The Biggest Lie

(5) Nine Inch Nails ~ Terrible Lie

(6) Dolly Parton ~ Tender Lie

(7) Trisha Yearwood ~ Lying to the moon

And last, this, for my peeps in Louisiana who have had a bad time recently.

separator-line

Okay, this is wide open and take it wherever you wish.  Of course, your own musical contributions are greatly appreciated.

43 Responses to "Music for a lazy weekend ~lies and liars"

I’ll start this off.

How about the eternal wisdom of Huey Lewis?

@2, I can’t ever get enough of Annie Lennox.

And then there’s Ms. Etta James.

Here’s the line:

If you can’t lie no better, you might as well tell the truth.

Those are words to live by.

Excellent choices peeps!

Prolix, that line from the Etta James song is so true!

Part of the lyrics for this Tracy Chapman song:

There is fiction in the space between
You and reality
You will do and say anything
To make your everyday life
Seem less mundane
There is fiction in the space between
You and me

Hee-hee, this one is just about perfect.

@11: I liked that.

Media Matters is so good at research. Check out these clips of Kellyanne talking about Trump when she was stumping for Cruz. (don’t even bother with the text unless you want to)

http://mediamatters.org/research/2016/08/19/here-s-how-trump-s-new-campaign-manager-attacked-him-cable-news-pundit/212524

@17, GAgal, I saw that! How stupid is Trump? I think he is running the most ignorant campaign ever.

Love all the songs, especially those funny old ones, reminds me of my childhood.

@17: It’s so funny. I was against him before I was for him.

An off-topic thing here.

I was looking for an item so I did a google search and the website for jet came up. I had seen their commercials so I decided to check it out. The price was good so I ordered the item. I’ll know when it arrives. That being said, y’all might want to check it out.

@17, thanks for posting that GAgal. Here are a few other things that might seem too personal, but when it comes to “class” I have always been in recess.

Ms. Conway, was the pollster for Todd “Legitimate Rape” Akin, and actually tried to defend his comments.

She has worked for, among others, Steve King, Marsha Blackburn, and Dan Quayle. There’s a hit parade.

Her husband, an attorney, worked for tobacco companies, but his real claim to fame was helping one Miss Paula Jones sue Bill Clinton.

These people have leached off the right-wing fringe for years. Conway’s trek to Trump comes through the billionaire Mercer family. They supported Cruz in the primary and Kellyanne Conway was on their personal payroll in some amorphous role. The Mercers also helped bankroll Breitbart.

It makes quite a bit of sense now — looks as if the Mercer family has decided they need themselves a President and a dumb as a stump Trump will do nicely.

@21: Thanks Prolix for sharing that pedigree and bloodline. Sounds like a truly disgusting bunch.

I’m gonna provide the link just because I want to share this quote from Michele Bachmann. The article is about rowdy Trump protesters in Minnesota (ha!) yesterday. But this is what caught my eye:

“People want to live, mind their own business and have a good job, and I think that’s something Donald Trump understands,” former U.S. Rep. Michele Bachmann said on her way inside.

Bachmann said she has known Trump for five years and has advised him on ­foreign policy and faith issues. o_O

http://www.startribune.com/ahead-of-visit-democrats-bash-trump-on-immigration-tax-records/390721831/

KellyAnne’s advice to Akin was to hunker down like David Koresh instead of dropping out. She said this to none other than Tony (thegaysfloodedmyhouse) Perkins.

and I’ve expressed this to Todd as my client for a while now, I’ve expressed it to him directly—the first day or two where it was like the Waco with David Koresh situation where they’re trying to smoke him out with the SWAT teams and the helicopters and the bad Nancy Sinatra records. Then here comes day two and you realize the guy’s not coming out of the bunker. Listen, Todd has shown his principle to the voters.

There’s some great advice.

@23, thanks GAgal, I’ll sleep better tonight knowing that Michele Bachmann has advised Trump on foreign policy.

Your welcome, Prolix. 😀

@26, maybe, if we are really lucky, Bernie Madoff can get work release to be Secretary of the Treasury. Then there’s Kanye for Secretary of State. Sheriff Joe Arpaio for Secretary of Defense. The Gambino grandson can be Attorney General. And, of course, Martha Stewart for Homeland Secretary.

@28 Beata, oooh… but who could know that I’m a traitor? Let’s hope this country doesn’t give Trump a chance to show ‘time’s a revelator’. Wait. What am I saying? We’ve got this!! Hillary for the win! Bye bye Trump.

Good article over at B.N.R. on how Trey Gowdy and Jason Chaffetz could be digging a hole for themselves.

Fredster, exactly what I said here lately. At what point, does it become an abuse of power? Same as with Larry Klayman and his new gig Freedom Watch after Judicial Watch tossed him years ago. Litigious assholes that no one has the power to stop even though they have (and are) costing us millions in tax dollars. I don’t get it. I don’t ever want to interfere with the justice system, but damn, when it’s obvious it’s obvious. Lawsuits, one after the other, over years and years. Costing all of us taxpayers.

@31: GAgal, this is the part that just kills me:

The members of Congress involved cannot be sued for defamation, since they are protected by the “Speech and Debate Clause” of the Constitution…

They have that one escape mechanism and use it way beyond the reasons it was created.

Here’s a little early morning humor. Randy Rainbow interviews that “says who” Trump lawyer.

Fredster@30,

Maybe a little light at the end of the tunnel? If John Dean’s raised his head, maybe there’s a little hope for shutting this sh*t down?

It’s so incredibly, incredibly frustrating that the national megaphones of BSNBC, etc, get to reset the knowledge base of their vacuous spineless unthinking audiences, that also vote, that also chatter, that also poll, the way they’ve been able to.

@32 Okay, but what about Rule 11? H’mmm.

Traditional song. ( Child Ballad 3. ) The False Knight is the devil in disguise, against whom the child stood.

@35: But Pat, does that apply only to courts and pleadings?

https://www.law.cornell.edu/rules/frcp/rule_11

Or is there something I’m missing?

@39 Guess I’m just reaching.

I remember seeing it mentioned to stop people filing frivolous lawsuits, and hoped that that frivolity extended to whatever those Republican Congresscritters had in mind. Seems like I share their level of legal expertise 😦

@40: Oh I was reaching right along with you. 😉

@39 & 40, Rule 11 is civil. It is aimed at frivolous lawsuits, but it has to be a leap year where the planets align in an orbit spelling out, “You naughty barrister — you shouldn’t have filed that.”

What these Congressional critters are gnawing on about is pseudo-criminal that way they are completely insulated.

Thanks, Prolix. I should have known there was nothing “civil” (but a lot criminal!) about those Congressional Rethugs.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed