The Widdershins

It’s back again! Weekend Light Fare!!

Posted on: June 5, 2015

wacko criminal lineup

Yes dear Widdershins, it’s back once more – Weekend Light Fare, my collection of odd, funny or unusual things I’ve found out there on the web.

Our dear chat is gone for the weekend, off for a marvelous adventure which we cannot divulge the nature of, but I’m sure she’s going to have a good time.  So with that, let’s take a look at what I’ve had stashed amongst the bookmarks.

So this is what you get when you flip off an animal

Well, at least don’t flip off one that can figure out what you just did.

It seems that in Shimla India the monkeys that are in that area may be very smart or may just have a bad attitude.

Footage from a security camera is said to show a young man in Shimla, India, giving the finger to one of the area’s famously belligerent monkeys. And as you might expect, the monkey is having none of it.

It drop kicks the man right in the head, knocking him to the ground.

Fear not though, because the young man seemed okay afterwards.  But about those monkeys though…

Shimla’s monkeys are known to cause problems for both tourists and locals visiting the Jakhoo temple, which is dedicated to the monkey god Hanuman.

“The monkeys of Shimla are not pleasant animals, they roam around in gangs looking for the opportunity to rob tourists of their food or any other item which catches their eyes,” the Shimla India Guide website says. The website advises tourists to rent a stick to use to threaten the monkeys.

“Without the deterrent of the stick expect to have pockets and bags rummaged through no less intensely than by a human criminal,” the website says.

The monkeys are mostly after food, but the website says they are also known to take cameras and wallets.

In this case, however, the monkey was apparently provoked.

And I do have video to show the insult and response!

This one is definitely a case of don’t mess with Grandma

Kay Kise, a 67 year old Indianapolis woman was determined that three teen-aged jerks were not going to take her van away from her.

“I know it’s just a vehicle, but it’s the only thing I’ve got,” Kise told the Indianapolis Star. “And I don’t have no money to buy another one with. So they weren’t going to take it from me.”

The alleged altercation started, Kise told WTHR, when one of the teens stopped Kise outside her home and pretended to ask for directions. “He come up to my car and he said, ‘Do you know where Hendricks Place is?'” Kise told the TV station. “I told him it was just two blocks over and continued grabbing my shopping bags. The next thing you know, I turned back around and he had this gun right in my face.”

At some point, two more teens approached and a fight ensued.

Kise, apparently undaunted by a gun pointed at her face, said she smacked the gun away from her attackers and told them, “You are not taking my car. I have not had it that long and you are not getting it.”

It may not have been the wisest thing to do, but apparently the three would-be thieves didn’t think Kay would stand her ground.

Just call this Ayn Rand meets Disney movies

I found this at The New Yorker, online and thought it was definitely amusing.  Imagine Ayn Rand being hired to review children’s’ movies.  I won’t put all of the “reviews” in here so you can go check them out yourselves.

“Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs”

An industrious young woman neglects to charge for her housekeeping services and is rightly exploited for her naïveté. She dies without ever having sought her own happiness as the highest moral aim. I did not finish watching this movie, finding it impossible to sympathize with the main character. —No stars.

“Old Yeller”

A farm animal ceases to be useful and is disposed of humanely. A valuable lesson for children. —Four stars

“Mary Poppins”

A woman takes a job with a wealthy family without asking for money in exchange for her services. An absurd premise. Later, her employer leaves a lucrative career in banking in order to play a children’s game. —No stars.

“Charlotte’s Web”

A farmer allows sentimental drawings by a bug to prevail over economic necessity and refuses to value his prize pig, Wilbur, by processing and selling him on the open market. Presumably, the pig still dies eventually, only without profiting his owners. The farmer’s daughter, Fern, learns nothing except how to become an unsuccessful farmer. There is a rat in this movie. I quite liked the rat. He knew how to extract value from his environment. —Two stars.

Do check out the others when you have a chance.

Never take the shortcut through the swamp

Unless you’re driving an armored personnel carrier or something because if you’re in a measly ole pickup truck and you run into an alligator with attitude (isn’t that all of them?) something unexpected might happen.

When confronted by an oncoming truck on Thursday, an alligator in Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana, refused to back down. Instead, the reptile went on the attack, and proceeded to tear off the truck’s entire front bumper.

“I was coming home from my camp when an alligator crossed my path,” the driver of the truck told Jukin Media, a video licensing and production company. “I honestly thought he would back up and run the other way, when he did the exact opposite.”

“He latched on to the front … of my pickup truck,” he continued, “and completely ripped off the front bumper!”

The driver says he ultimately retrieved what remained of his bumper before continuing on his way.

He posted video of the alligator incident on YouTube, along with a comment conceding, “He won!”  (it sounds like you can hear the gator hissing)


 

Okay Widdershins, that’s about all I have for now.  I haven’t been collecting too many odd or funny things because I kind of figured that with the start of the political season, there will be enough for everyone to see on their own.  I have to add that it’s been so long since I’ve written a post I can identify with this:   hate writing love writtenThat is sad isn’t it?

Jon Snow GoT

 

Oh and a final thought on why punctuation (and spelling!) are important:
Punctucation is important

This is a completely open thread so discuss whatever is on your mind or has caught your fancy.

 

 

 

 

 

55 Responses to "It’s back again! Weekend Light Fare!!"

Great stories, Fredster! I’ve missed them! I saw a feature story on those monkeys before. Good grief, those cute little critters are scary! And the alligator! Wow. I’ve never seen one up close (except in the zoo), if I do, I will give it wide berth. We have a lot of coyotes here, and hawks always circling and screeching like something out of Jurassic Park, and an occasional bob-cat, but nothing too terrifying, the snakes usually keep out of peoples way.

Dorothy Parker has the best quotes, doesn’t she? Love the barber shop sign. Yep, I think the population is definitely getting dumber.

@annie: I’ve had those links bookmarked for awhile but now I have to remember to delete them. LOL!

There is a canal that runs by the house in La. and some years ago there was a smallish (3-4 ft) gator that got into the canal. Someone called Wildlife and Fisheries and they sent a couple of guys out to get the gator. After they had him on land and duct taped, I got down to take a look at it. They are not pleasant looking critters. 😉

Oh my. This was apparently not one of the brightest of the ISIS/ISL fighters or something.

Fredster, good stories. Now here’s an idea, let’s feed the gator all the existing copies of Ayn Rand’s books and call it consumption of conservative thinking.

Saw this yesterday on an ad for pay per view. It is an Ultimate Fighting Match. The name of one of the fighters is, wait for it, Werdum. Is that not perfect?

Prolix@4: Prolix, that gator probably has good taste. Truck bumpers…yum! Bad books…not so much. 😉

Oh that is too funny about the U.F.M. Throw all of the Repub candidates in there and give them fighting names.

Okay..I understand it was supposedly for a good cause, but this was not Chris Christie’s best photo op. It was the cap. Just not a good choice there.

@3, wow! The first commenter on that post said “gives new meaning to the word “photobombed.”

29: Hahahahaaaa!!

Oh my, what a great collection of absurdities! Love them all. I like Prolix’s suggestion of what to do with Ayn Rand’s books. I hardly think the gator would mind…they will eat anything, no matter how rancid. 😊

I hardly think the gator would mind…they will eat anything, no matter how rancid. 😊

Two snaps gurl!

If a vote for Lindsay is a vote for war, we know he’s got two votes in John McCain and Tom Cotton. Here’s Cotton being questioned by a military dad whose lost one son in the war and still has three serving.

@13, “…our enemies get a vote in this process”?!?! Cotton is such a jerk. He seems arrogant and defensive here. The military dad rocked.

@14: I really liked the dad bringing up the meeting with defense contractors right after sending the letter. It sounded like the dad said “so we see that’s your agenda.” I don’t believe any big media reported those meetings.

This really bites:

“…250 Disney employees were told in late October that they would be laid off. Many of their jobs were transferred to immigrants on temporary visas for highly skilled technical workers, who were brought in by an outsourcing firm based in India. Over the next three months, some Disney employees were required to train their replacements to do the jobs they had lost.”

It’s not just these few either, this is a trend, happening all over with many corps, taking advantage of the H-1B temporary visa for highly trained technical or science workers. If there are already employees that have held these jobs, how do they get away with this crap? It’ll be amazing if there’s any middle class left by the time we all die.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/06/04/us/last-task-after-layoff-at-disney-train-foreign-replacements.html?_r=0

@ GAgal, yes I noticed that, and loved it.

@GAgal: I had bookmarked an article on that Tom Cotton thing. It was disgusting to watch him.

@annie: from the article:

According to federal guidelines, the visas are intended for foreigners with advanced science or computer skills to fill discrete positions when American workers with those skills cannot be found. Their use, the guidelines say, should not “adversely affect the wages and working conditions” of Americans.

And as the article says, it’s bullshit; they have been using this to dump American workers for years.

The feds should really crack down on this and start fining companies that bring these people in just to replace Americans at lower wages.

And here’s the kicker for the laid off employees:

To receive his severance bonus, he said, “I had to make sure they were doing my job correctly.”

So it’s not like you get your pink slip and can train them “wrong”. What makes me angry is the politicians will talk about the disappearing middle class and yet they will authorize shit like this to happen.

It would be great if people could start a boycott of Disney because of this.

Fredster, I was reading the comments of the article, a lot were calling for a boycott. But apparently, Disney is small potatoes compared a lot of companies (like Cisco). This is going on all over the country. Here are a couple of comments:

“Jim S. Cleveland 2 days ago
Employers ought to be charged an annual fee of $50K or so for each H1-B visa.

For truly critical and rare skills, it would be worth the fee. For the employer, like Disney, who is just looking to get labor for a few dollars less than the going rate for American citizens, it would remove the economic advantage.”

Sounds good to me. Here’s another:

“Vishnu Houston 2 days ago
This is a tried and tested scam by all big outsourcing companies and thousands of small time outsourcing firms run in US and India. The outsourcing industry is replete with bloated false resumes, dubious work experiences. The problem is more profound and hard to detect when instead of replacing american workers companies expand using outsourced staff. H1-B visas are shamelessly exploited by these Indian companies. Tasks like website overhaul, new module integration are broken down by big companies and outsourced to these companies for a fraction of their original cost. These outsourcing companies employ unexperienced people and pay them far smaller fraction of intended salaries and make huge gains. I have had endless arguments with friends who work in such companies but to no avail.

Disclaimer: I am an Indian holding a H1-B visa currently. It took 7 years of Master’s and PhD for me to reach this stage. And I am currently working in a job that genuinely employs and requires my skill set. If another American were to be found with the same skill set I would leave the job immediately and give him my position. This disclaimer is not for boasting but rather to make clear two important points. I sleep peacefully and walk clearly with my head held high in this society. And few bad apples shouldn’t taint a society, I am proud to be Indian. This outsourcing industry is a blot on our conscience and a cause for shame.”

I do know a lot of wonderful Indian people.

If another American were to be found with the same skill set I would leave the job immediately and give him my position.

Well so he says. But if he left his job, what would happen to his status with his visa?

I’ve known some Indian people also and some were nice and others were just obnoxious. That doesn’t mean I’m trying to judge all by just a few.

Disney is small potatoes compared a lot of companies (like Cisco). This is going on all over the country.

It’s been going on for years. Still, if there was an attempted boycott of Disney it would be a black-eye for the “all American” company wouldn’t it?

Oh dear Lord! I hope this man ends up as the night manager of a Super 8 or Motel 6 when he done with being the guv of Looziana.

Bobby Jindal says ‘Duck Dynasty’ family is welcome to join him for 2016 announcement

Yes, I would love it. Disney is douchey in so many ways. The sexual harrassment there is off the charts, even with the tv channel with all those kid shows. We know some of the kids that acted in those shows, & their moms told me the execs were sleeping with really young teens, male and female. I’ve known several people who work/have worked for Disney. They all said its a tough gig.

@24 Ugh! He’s such a creep. How did he ever get elected? We were horrified and embarrassed when Ahnold was elected, but this guy seems much worse. The Duck morons seem like a good match for him.

If this announcing for prez keeps up at this rate, we’ll end up with 50 repubs running for their party’s nomination. Are republicans even remotely embarrassed by this?

How did he ever get elected?

(sigh) It goes back to Katrina. Kathleen Blanco (D) was governor and was going to run for a 2nd term and then that storm and then Hurricane Rita hit the state a few weeks later. We all know now that the Katrina disaster was mainly the fault of the levee and flood wall failures done by the Corps of Engineers. But at that time, *that* info wasn’t known. All that was known was the city and my parish were inundated by flood waters and over a thousand people drowned. The federal response was appallingly bad and ineffectual (thanks Dubya!) and all people could do was to blame Blanco so she decided not to run for reelection. So enter Piyush. He’s not a dumb man; he has a degree in biology from Brown and is a Rhodes scholar. But when he decided he wanted to be more than the guv, he took this hard right turn and just turned everything to shit in the state in the name of this sad attempt at running for Prez.

When he ran for reelection, it was so bad for the Dems they couldn’t even really find a candidate to run. They had a retired school teacher with no money has the nominee. It was such a “non” election that only about 28% of the electorate turned out and of those 60+% voted for Jindal.

How is this for pathetic? This is the “family” Christmas card he sent out, camo outfits and all.

I remember that about Blanco. I’m not a “Christmas-y” person, but that is a really weird card.

@29: Sorta Duck Dynasty-ish, isn’t it? You ought to see the one with his new shotgun.

Ewww…they’re gonna have to disinfect Disneyland after Kanye and Kim get done with it.

Those people are obscene. Always flouting their $. Like a toddler is going to remember such nonsense. If they had half a brain, an ounce of class, and a little bit of a heart between them, they would have a simple family celebration at home and send gifts to the kids at a hospital instead.

Was that a pic of North on that site? She just looked incredibly sad in the photo.

@13, GAgal, thanks for posting that clip. I saw part of it last night and I wanted to see the whole thing.

Tom Cotton is an opportunist of the worst dimension. He is smart, he’s educated, and he continues to mouth the most inane platitudes to assuage the fringe of the fringe of the fringe.

When the only tool you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail. That is Tom Cotton — playing to the cheap seats filled with his fat cat funders. He scared me in the House and he’s even more dangerous now.

Prolix, not to mention the other 46 who signed that letter, including my own Doug Collins.

Collins visited a 3rd grade classroom here a few months ago. During his talk he told them “there’s no such thing as a free lunch”. Since we have an 18% poverty rate (I believe it’s higher), most likely there were quite a few children there who are getting subsidized or free lunches. I hoped those kids were unaware of it so they wouldn’t be worried if they were going to get their lunch. Way to go, Collins. Scare some nine year olds.

Prolix, here’s a link on C&L with some more info on that Tom Cotton meeting.

http://crooksandliars.com/2015/06/video-father-4-serving-iraq-confronts

Congrats to American Pharoah and his owners! Triple Crown winner!!

Just got done watching the LSU/Univ of La-Lafayette baseball game in the Super Regional and despite what chat may say it was a nail-biter. ULL tied it up and then in the bottom of the 9th LSU got a home run that gave them the game. If they win tomorrow then it’s on to Omaha for the college world series!

Allons les Tigres!

Earlier this evening I was going to Panera Bread for dinner and had the radio on the local public radio station. They had this song playing (different artist) and it came to me: I bet after a hard day of campaigning, Lady Lindsey likes to head home, slip into something more comfortable and just sing a song.

Cole Porter wrote beautiful stuff didn’t he? That is a nice song to unwind to. Very exciting about American Pharoah, we got to see it before we left. We went to the Greek Theater in LA to see the Doobies & Don Felder.

Yeah, but what I meant was Lindsey unwinding and singing it as if HE had love for sale. L.L. singing this (perhaps wrapped in a kimono?)

eLove for sale,
Appetising young love for sale.
Love that's fresh and still unspoiled,
Love that's only slightly soiled,
Love for sale.
Who will buy?
Who would like to sample my supply?
Who's prepared to pay the price,
For a trip to paradise?

Think Jon Stewart imitating Lindsey and singing this and you’ll get what went through my mind.

No, I got that about Lady Lindsey and the song. It was late and we were all tired, and I played the song and we all liked it. I meant to say LOL about Lindsay, but I forgot! Sorry Fredster, I guess I blew the punchline, but it was a good joke and the song you picked is cool. {{HUGS}}

annie@42: Oh okay..phew! I thought I had had an idea that only I was getting or was just too bizarre or something. Of course the idea of Lady Lindsey singing Love for Sale is bizarre already!!

@43: Fredster, I got it and thought it was very funny.

IIRC, I recently posted my idea about Lady Lindsey singing “Midnight at the Oasis”. Something involving camels and sheep. Nobody got that one.

@44: See, it had to do not so much with Lady Lindsey being a closeted gay man but more with his desire to get us into further wars in the Middle East. You know, “Let’s slip off to a sand dune, real soon; kick up a little dust.”

Okay. Never mind.

beata@44: When you posted that vid I just had the image of Lindsey trying to dress up as the sheik of araby and pretend to be Valentino or something.

Beata, how are you feeling? Did you get a resolution to the problem with the medication?

Okay, I’m getting ready to watch the 2nd game of the LSU super regional. Geaux Tigers!

@47: Fredster, thanks for asking. I’m very dizzy and tired all the time, among other things. It’s like a bad fun house in my brain. The doctor is trying another medication. So far, it isn’t helping. I think this is just the new normal for me.

Beata, I’m sorry to hear that. I know for me it sometimes took a week or so for a med to start working as they wanted it to or it was supposed to do. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that that’s a possibility with you and this med.

@52: LOL. Warning! Don’t rub that belly. It’s a trap!

The belly rubs will never end! 🙂

Hot Damn! My boyz are goin’ to Omaha!!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph