The Widdershins

Activist Monday: In Which We Learn that the Media Still Hates Democrats

Posted on: May 4, 2015

Good Monday, all! Remember how, before Barack Obama appeared on the scene, the media was always praising Republicans and lambasting Democrats – whether subtly or not? Well, I’d like to confirm with you all that the media is back to its old tricks.

A picture is worth 1000 words, isn’t it? Here is the story the Washington Post ran last week on Governor Rick Perry, a Texas Republican who’s as stupid as a stump and twice as wooden. You wouldn’t know it, would you?

Former Texas governor Rick Perry and former Navy SEAL Marcus Luttrell standing for the Pledge of Allegiance at the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library in Simi Valley, Calif. (Ben Price/courtesy Rick PAC)

Let’s see: Guv + Military Hero, check. American flag, check. Pledging allegiance while looking seriously off to the side, check. I guess they couldn’t squeeze a bald eagle in the picture, although it’s probably not for lack of trying.

What was the title of the story? “How Rick Perry befriended the real ‘Lone Survivor’ Navy SEAL.” Really? Anyone other than myself find that, oh, I don’t know – not a story at all?! Oh, but the Washington Post needs us to understand what a swell guy Governor Goodhair is, just in case he does decide to run for President. Because after all – he IS a Republican!

Before he became immortalized as the “Lone Survivor,” a Navy SEAL­
who escaped a 2005 Taliban ambush on a mountain slope in Afghanistan, Marcus Luttrell was a broken man in search of a haven.

He found it one day in spring 2007 when, struggling to recover his body and mind and with the horrors of war still raw, he showed up unannounced at the Texas governor’s mansion and asked to see Rick Perry.

Over the ensuing months, a virtual father-son relationship blossomed, the two men said. The governor and his wife, Anita, helped bring Luttrell back to health. Perry used the power of his office to find Luttrell a spine surgeon to fix his back. The Perrys gave him a spare bedroom — “I was the creepy guy in the attic,” Luttrell recalled. The governor took him bass fishing, the first lady counseled him about his love life and, as Luttrell became ­famous — first with a best-selling memoir, “Lone Survivor” and ­later in the movie adaptation — they were his rock.

My goodness, I’m surprised the “reporter” who wrote this was able to breathe, with his nose so far up Perry’s posterior!

Here is the story about Hillary Clinton which ran in the same edition – it is just as lacking substance, but much less flattering. The headline? “How Hillary Clinton is running against parts of her husband’s legacy.” Nicely done, WaPo – subtly smearing both Hillary as a flip-flopper, and Bill as “her husband” rather than a former president.

The photo:

Hillary Rodham Clinton, shown here with former president Bill Clinton in March, is increasingly distancing herself from elements of her husband’s 1990s presidency. (Matt York/Associated Press)

You notice that there is no flag, no saluting, no military veteran in this picture? Just Hillary putting her hand on Bill and Bill looking down on the floor. The message? Hillary is a domineering b*tch who is dismissing her castrated husband, who, of course, she shouldn’t be disagreeing with (since she is just a wimminz after all!). Never mind that Bill Clinton was President 20 years ago, as a disbelieving Robert Reich pointed out when the “reporters” asked for a quote.

“Twenty years is a long time,” said Robert Reich, a leading liberal who served as labor secretary in the Clinton administration. “I don’t think she feels in any way bound by policies of a different administration two decades ago, even though she is married to the person who initiated those policies. I think we’ll see Hillary Clinton parting ways with the Bill Clinton administration on a number of matters.”

The Post opines that Hillary will have “dicey challenges” distinguishing herself from Bill Clinton. Yes, that’s right – it’s really, really hard to tell them apart!

But the differences also illustrate the dicey challenges that Hillary Clinton will face in attempting to both embrace and keep separate from the 42nd president, who remains personally popular but whose 1990s positions on some issues, particularly in the social arena, now feel out of date.

This story is pathetic for three reasons: One, it’s not a story, just a disguised hit piece; Two, it ran in the same edition as the Rick Perry slobberfest; and Three, it’s so sexist, even the Daily Kos noticed.

BREAKING: Candidate has learned from the past, is not her own husband. In fact, if Bill Clinton could run for president, the Post would have to write a similar article, since he “now says that some of his incarceration policies went too far and that he regrets backing a federal law that defined marriage as being between a man and a woman.” And again, Hillary Clinton was not the president who signed those laws. She was the wife of the president who signed those laws.

My friends, it’s only May of 2015. I’d take Bette Davis’ advice on this one – and maybe a martini or two wouldn’t be out of place.

42 Responses to "Activist Monday: In Which We Learn that the Media Still Hates Democrats"

It is amazing.

Ah, I can feel the excitement generated by this post! 😊 Happy Monday all.

@2: I’ve felt that way many times. 😉

When you look at the index of her pieces on Hillary, Anne Gearan doesn’t appear to be able to write much positive about HRC.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/people/anne-gearan

Yet Newsbusters (and I’m not linking to them) calls her a “Hillary cheerleader”. Go figure. 🙄

Here’s is Gearan’s latest article.

I’m confused by a comment made by one guy…

I’m assuming this comment is about DACA.

“We saw President Obama, who promised the world to us and had a record number of deportations — more than any other president in history,” Vargas said. “If a timid President Obama won’t do it, what would a bold Hillary Clinton do?”

Well, I guess Clinton will do her best to get it passed.

Excluding the extreme right wing media, what little I’ve seen about Bernie or OMally has not been all that bad. I don’t think it’s the Democrats the media hates, it’s just the Clintons.

@5 Fredster, I wonder if Vargas actually thinks any Repub running is going to go bold on immigration reform. Sure, Jeb has talked about it but if he goes bold, he’ll lose his base. So Vargas should be asking who is more likely to work on this – a bold Hillary or Jeb who just lost the race by scaring off his base?

GAgal@7: Good point. Neither Bush nor Rubio are going to really touch immigration.

Jeb has too much history to backpedal successfully. Rubio? Well, what can possibly top that golden moment when he voted against his own immigration bill?

There is an NBC interview with Bill Clinton about the foundation on memorandum but for some reason I can’t get it to link here.

chat said: Jeb has too much history to backpedal successfully.

Well then, he’ll lose the far right of the party, if he ever had them.

GAgal@10: I think the only thing you can do is to just put the link here. Those NBC or MSNBC vids don’t embed.

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/bill-clinton-defends-his-foundations-foreign-money-n352981

LOL! I love that video. Bill basically just told the critics “Eff you.”. 🙂

And from the vid, now Hillary has agreed to one day of testimony on…wait for it..BENGHAZI!!!!

This is the 45th anniversary of the Kent State Massacre.

@10, as Bubba points out in the interview, billions of dollars raised to help poor people in 180 countries — is that the best they got?

I just imagine those translucent, crusty old white guys sitting in that hermetically sealed room at the Heritage Foundation or where they hold those circle jerks these days saying, “We gotta do something about this CGI thing or else it will cost us more to get our lies believed.”

@9, give Rubio a big enough water bottle and he’s liable to do anything. That’s not true, it has to be a government credit card and a water bottle. My bad.

Prolix said: I just imagine those translucent, crusty old white guys

Whenever I think about the Kock uh Koch Bros. I’m always reminded of Don Ameche and Ralph Bellamy in Trading Places. 😉

@16: Hahahahahaaa!!

I don’t know which is worse these days. WaPo or NYT. NYT recently let a TV actresses’ former fiance, who is known here for being spoiled, rude, living off his rich parents, a serial cheater, a coke fiend, and worst of all, a conservative. Anyway, the actress, Sophia Vergara, finally gave him the boot last year, and got engaged to someone else. So anyway, NYT lets this jerk write write an opinion piece about why he should have the right to take two embryos that are in frozen storage (like 5-10 cells each) that he and Sophia made a few years ago, have them implanted in someone else and keep the kids (if any survived, highly unlikely) himself. They signed contracts before they made the embryos that stated that neither party could use them without the others consent. Can you believe this misogynist, soap opera bs on the NYT OpEd pages? I was reading about it on some gossip blog and the posters were all wondering why NYT would accept something like that and one of the posters said she thought it’s because of the parents wealth and influence in NY. I just thought that was insane.

Oh, I forgot to mention, the rich ex-fiance is suing her for the embryos. Even though he signed two contracts agreeing he couldn’t use them without her consent.

annie@19 & 20: I think they had a Law & Order episode like that…on one or more of the Law & Orders.

Annie said, “and worst of all, a conservative.” 😄Hilarious! I agree, the Times is far worse. The Post actually has some good in-depth articles, as long as you avoid their Presidential coverage.

GAGal, I maintain that if O’Malley or Sanders had a shot at becoming the nominee, the press would suddenly find nothing nice to say about them. Going from Kerry back for decades, it’s tough to find a time when the Democratic nominee was not routinely smeared by the media.

More tomorrow, past my bedtime….😴

madamab, you are right. Especially against Sanders who speaks against their corporate owners.
I’m gonna try to link this ’cause I don’t know if it’s my computer or what..

View story at Medium.com

Dammit. didn’t work. I’ll try again.

View story at Medium.com

Nope, my computer hates me because it knows I’m still grieving over the loss of my MacBook that I couldn’t afford to replace. Oh well.

@22 good points. I was shocked at how the media treated Kerry. It was terrible how they kept promoting that sleazy swiftboat book for hours everyday, like there was anything of substance in it. I guess we can expect more of the same for Hillary now.

Oh, I noticed the repub primary clown bus added their obligatory token woman and token black man. Carly and some doctor officially announced. The debates should be hilarious.

Karen, if you read this, I’m sorry if I offended you! Do come back! 🙂

GAgal, you have my sincerest condolences. I hate pc’s. I am pc/micro-soft stupid. I’m so grateful that we went mac. Actually, an ibm exec recommended macs to us. He said they had half a dozen ibm computers in their house and one mac and all the kids and his wife fought over the mac.

annie, funny thing is I didn’t have problems linking (tho I had to work with it a bit) until I tried linking to that NBC interview with Bill today and then couldn’t do the John Podesta article. I emailed the link to my sister with no problem. Who knows?

GAgal: Tell me where you saw the Podesta article and what the gist of it was and I’ll see if I can link it.

annie@26: Yeah, karen, come on back if you’re around!

Sometimes things get misconstrued when we’re typing and it’s not exactly what we were trying to get across. It’s happened to me a ton of times.

This is funny. Scroll all the way down to the end. Saw it on the Maddow show.

http://carlyfiorina.org/

@31, omg, that is fabulous!!! Thanks Fredster!

Hey annie, there”s a bonus page. Remember that sheep commercial? Move your mouse over the sheep/wolf.

http://carlyfiorina.org/bonus-page.html

Well I have to call it a morning. No little naps this evening so my head is slowly heading toward the keyboard. 😆

GAGal – I’m sorry for your loss! I agree, it is really hard to switch from Mac to PC, or vice versa. I think Apple devices are great for home us and can be much easier to learn. Look at poor Prolix and Chat with their Windows machines!

When I first had my Windows 8 installed, it took me a day and a half to.get it up and running…and this was based on an installation by my company. Did I mention we are partially owned by Microsoft? 😉

Fredster (or anyone), the link I tried last night is at
medium.com/@johnpodesta.

Did anyone catch Lawrence O’Donnell last night? He was questioning why all the polling regarding honesty was only being done on HRC.

and fwiw, it would not let me just paste the link in.

Ga Gal what part of Georgia do you reside in? I am northwest of Atlanta.

Ga6th, I’m northeast of Atlanta about 80 miles.

Okay. not close to me. I’m in Cherokee County so I don’t think I’m that far from the city either.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed