The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend Music: The Band Is Getting Together Again

Posted on: April 18, 2015

Happy Saturday, Widdershins.  I am sadly aware that I am a day late and a dollar short here, and I do apologize.  However, Mad’s dynamite post kept the conversation rolling until I could pull myself together and write again, and I am thrilled beyond belief to see the rush of old friends – SM, TRK, my homies GAgal and Ga6th, PDXPat, Karen, and a visit from DYB.  The inspiration for the post came from one of Mad’s comments – “…..and if she loses, we’ll be here online to support each other…..”.  Ladies and gentlemen, the band is getting together again – let the musical reunion begin.  Hopefully, more old friends who have been wandering for the past six years will continue to arrive until we are complete again.

I’ve listed my favorite “together” songs below, and there are any number more out there.  Please post your favorites or anything else that may come to mind below in this absolutely open thread.

(1)  Reunited – Peaches and Herb

(2)  Stand by Me – Playing for Change

(3) Lean on Me – Bill Withers

(4)  Count on Me – Bruno Marz

(5) Bless the Broken Road – Rascal Flatts

 

 

54 Responses to "Lazy Weekend Music: The Band Is Getting Together Again"

Need a laugh? Are you sitting down? Am I dreaming?

When you go to the great orange satan a window pops up with a “Kos Daily Action” that says this:

Join Hillary’s Official Campaign—this starts with you!
Americans deserve to be able to do more than just get by—we should be able to get ahead and stay ahead. Join Hillary’s official campaign.

It’s amazing. I think that they have either (a) gone over the edge, (b) come to the realization that they read the 2008 candidates all wrong, or and most likely (c) it’s Clinton or some crazy person and are making the best of it.

Hello chatblu! Thank you always for the warm welcome back, feeling very prodigal daughter in a way :). Here’s my song for Widderdhinites and all Hillary holdouts, Ms. Martha Wash live in the Cutting Room NYC, a great voice with a great message. Carry On!!! But clixk on link because…help Fredster! No embed code available from Youtube app on my phone!!!????

It’s fixed, and you are most welcomed back.

Yaaaay!!!! Thank you so much chatblu! It’s one of those songs with a powerful message that resonates with us: we stood our ground, we lost, but we got up and carried on forward, and the blessing is that we’re still here, still true after all this time. I love my belting gospel-divas, those incredibly gifted voices that were born with wings in their lunfs, so here’s another one, this time dedicated to the Obots, we came from the same dream, we came from the same time….

Sorry for the typos, it’s the phone’s fault!! Yeah, that’s it. Lol.

Kareon for Clintn, that was genius 😄: btw, if the jennifer holiday track seems too subservient, tgen please delete, realized the lyrics just now. Sorry, no embedding on this phone.

New use for the Hillary logo:

@9: Fabulous, Karen! Best one yet.
@8: There are no wrong answers. Her voice is lovely.

SM!!!! You’re back!
I will never forget Satire on a Budget!

K of C! How goes it?!

Wow–veritable reunion on the downstairs thread. I am so glad she’s back in. I am so glad we kept these little embers going.

@11: That was the name of it! I’ve been trying and trying to remember.

Ooops, forgot to post the song! Elton, of course.

k4C@9: Oh I love that graphic!!! Okay so here’s my first contribution.

Oh and Hey Sophie!!!

Hi SophieCT !! Wow, so glad to see the ole cavalry 😄 Lmao at the crazy stuff we came up with, why cry when you can laugh? Glad to be among old buddies, feeling like Norm whenever he’d walk into the Cheers bar.

Ps, please forgive typos, it’s the phone’s fault, not mine, no, never.

SM@20: Sure…uh-huh. Blame it on the phone. 😉

That’s why we do Lazy Weekends – to chill after the long toxic week of news.

@2, Karen, thanks for sharing that! I never thought I’d live to see the day…you know, after all the horrible shit they did to us back in 08, I don’t even know how to square that. Its unsettling. I’m glad they’re doing it, certainly, I want everyone to support Hillary, but it feels weird. Also, good to see you again! Been a long time!

Great old songs, Emmy Lou when she was young and beautiful (she’s still beautiful, and can still sing), love The Weight…never understood it, but love it anyway. And love The Blues Brothers! We’ve lived through great times, haven’t we?

annie@24: Chat and I were talking and she mentioned that one. I didn’t even know the name of it at first, but said “oh yeah, I know that one!”. We were kinda saying the same thing about great times, well music-wise that is!

I definitely wanted the Emmy Lou version of that song over the Buck Owens one. Ewwww!!

@24: There’s been a lot of interpretations, but “The Weight” basically refers to responsibility, and it’s sung by (practically everybody but you and me at this point) “The Band”, so it works here.

23 and 3, Those krazy Kos kids evolved from “low information voters” – that is my theory.

11, It goes well! Hillary is back, there is real hope again. And this time, we should never assume she is “inevitable” but I am starting to wonder what the O folks did with those “office of the presumed president” possum signs. 🙂

24 and Frester’s vids – Love americana and roots and blues and old, old country. Emmylou and Levon – real deals.

I am not a Katy Perry person and know nothing about pop music, but I got curious and looked up the lyrics to her song Roar that Hillary quipped about a while ago. There is a line in the lyrics “I am a champion” and the lines Hillary has long used about being down but not out and coming back to fight. Wonder if the Champion idea in her roll out will be emphasized by that song clip as she takes the stage? It suits her.

Hill has 104 endorsements after one week. My, My. Let us just hope they don’t backstab her again and mutiny at the last minute after she wins the election, again. Let’s hope there are no back room deals at lunchtime at an RBC meeting where they hijack the votes of Americans. Let’s hope they don’t put up styrofoam columns and hold a total BS convention where they do not even come close to electing the candidate with the most votes and the peoples choice. Yeah, we will be watching, and we are more than ready to respond.

Funny how she looks even stronger than ever by not responding to the two dozen people who are all attacking her with utter crap and lies. Let them all knock each other out and eat their own. Clowns vs Hillary 16.

Come gather here at the Widdershins. 1963 but timelessly accurate.

Come gather ’round people
Wherever you roam
And admit that the waters
Around you have grown
And accept it that soon
You’ll be drenched to the bone
If your time to you is worth savin’
Then you better start swimmin’ or you’ll sink like a stone
For the times they are a-changin’

Come writers and critics
Who prophesize with your pen
And keep your eyes wide
The chance won’t come again
And don’t speak too soon
For the wheel’s still in spin
And there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’
For the loser now will be later to win
For the times they are a-changin’

Come senators, congressmen
Please heed the call
Don’t stand in the doorway
Don’t block up the hall
For he that gets hurt
Will be he who has stalled
There’s a battle outside and it is ragin’
It’ll soon shake your windows and rattle your walls
For the times they are a-changin’

Come mothers and fathers
Throughout the land
And don’t criticize
What you can’t understand
Your sons and your daughters
Are beyond your command
Your old road is rapidly agin’
Please get out of the new one if you can’t lend your hand
For the times they are a-changin’

The line it is drawn
The curse it is cast
The slow one now
Will later be fast
As the present now
Will later be past
The order is rapidly fadin’
And the first one now will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’
Copyright © 1963, 1964 by Warner Bros. Inc.; renewed 1991, 1992 by Special Rider Music

Sorry for monopolizing Sunday and for bringing up a potential “next benghazi” issue but I have to put this idea out there since it has been making me scratch my head all week.

Newsweek had this story yesterday and it hit me as it being Paul’s big scary secret against Hilz. Shusssh – we’re hunting wabbits, he sez.

Ukranian, Victor Pinchuk has long standing ties to the Clinton’s personally and also is the largest individual donor to their Foundation. His company Interpipe Group (oil and gas pipes) shipped supplies to Iran in 2011 and 2012 perhaps supplying items which are against the US sanction. They might be subject to penalties because one subsidiary of the pipe group is on US soil but they can also sometimes penalize entirely foreign companies and put them on a ban list. The Secretary of State presides over the list of foreign companies. In late 2014 it was brought to the Treasury Dept.

First, good luck that any of this is accurate considering how it is a witch hunt and how accurate our press is, and there is surely another explanation that is benign. And second, even if she didn’t put him on a list, for whatever reason, good luck trying to explain all that to congress or the media , or how this matters in any way to Joe and Jane Voter.

http://www.newsweek.com/2015/04/24/hillary-clinton-runs-white-house-and-row-over-ukrainian-benefactors-trade-322253.html

I’d rather see Pinchuk as president than Rand Paul: http://pinchukfund.org/en/about_pinchuk/biography/

And if you try to find that Newsweek link by searching their site it isn’t released yet… breaking news on the 24th. You are welcome! You heard it here first. wink.

I wondered what his “secret” was – ala the Nixon secret plan to end the Vietnam War, etc.

Oooh, I almost forgot about this one:

Thanks for the nod, Chat! I”ll be a homie here till I can get back to Portland. This beautiful spine of mountains from Va. to Ga. is the only other place I’d rather be.

Great to see the old fires still burning. And to see the old O sites coming around. Maybe that’s what flummoxed my browser so bad I had to pull it out and reinstall it over the weekend – it kept crashing every time I hit this site from Friday on 🙂

My browser has been iffy as well. Maybe that’s why – it’s stunned by the support coming from former O-sites.

Interesting tweet and info as to how clueless the WSJ can be.

karen@34: Oh I saw something about that…Rand’s “secret”. Read it and just thought “Pffft”.

Let’s see if I got this right.

I am back too!

Retirees got no breaks before. Sadly, my retirement income ain’t all that!

Hey Kim!

chat: I personally don’t know any retirees making 180k. 🙄

Hey Fredster!

@42: You were who I meant by “TRK”. Sorry – I meant no confusion.

Thanks chatblu and everyone else for your work and great music. I was reading a post on Media Matters about conservative men coming back out to say Hillary would not be here today if she hadn’t married Bill. Guess it never occurred to them if not for Hillary it’s very possible Bill would not have been president. I got this link from the comments so I can use it when I hear anyone say Hill has no accomplishments.

http://www.firstladies.org/biographies/firstladies.aspx?biography=43

What a phenomenal life of service she has led, along with plenty of real-world business experience.

Hey everyone – rocking thread and I am loving all the music and commentary! Happy Sunday evening…

GAgal said: Guess it never occurred to them if not for Hillary it’s very possible Bill would not have been president.

That’s exactly what went through my mind when I read your comment. Duh!!

Hillary – please watch where you step as you travel NH around Keene and Concord. There are piles of elephant poop around the state from a noisy, hot air filled weekend.

Saw two awful newspapers running articles with the scoop that De Blasio is going to run for President on the Working Families Party. I know that will give us lively debates and she will mop the floor with him and eat his lunch. Doofus.

@52 Karen, I can’t believe it; he barely has his footing as mayor.
If it were true, that would make De Blasio one ungrateful bastard; the Clintons practically carried him over the finish line.

I’d rather see Pinchuk as president than Rand Paul:
Karen, I’d take Pinochet over Paul.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!