The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: Waiting

Posted on: April 12, 2015

Good Sunday, Widdershins.  At least, rumor hath it that it will be a great Sunday.  Those In The Know have stated that Hillary Clinton will make a social media announcement of her intent to run for President today, and begin actively campaigning tomorrow.   Please, let it be so.

Most of us met on other forums seven long years ago, and banded together as social outcasts from the Democratic party.  We have waited a long time for this, and I think that we deserve it.  (Please, God.  I’m not getting any younger here.)  If HRC announces today, you can be sure that she learned a great deal during the 2008 campaign, and I don’t mean only from her perceived “missteps”,  She (and sadly I did, too) learned from a few insider maneuvers worthy of Tammany Hall.  But that was then, and this is now, and hopefully we are all in a better place.

I’ll dedicate today to songs about waiting for something, someone, anything great to happen.  There are actually a bunch of songs with “waiting” in the title, but you don’t have to stick to those.  Pick your favorites and post them along with any random thoughts that you might have in this absolutely open thread.

(1) Anticipation – Carly Simon

(2) Something’s Coming – West Side Story

(3) Waiting for the World to Change – John Mayer

(4) What Are You Waiting For? – Nickleback

(5) Wishing and Hoping – Dusty Springfield

 

30 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: Waiting"

Well, we already knew it, but Hillary officially announced her bid. It’s gonna get bumpy out there…

My seat belt is fastened, and my tray has been returned to its original upright position.

Just like Hillary, I’m baaaaaaack!!!! For my old school Hillary Holdouts, the OG Pumas before our rage was coopted, I’m in. Just signed up at Hillary’s website. Love you all & YESSSSSS!!!!!

This is basically all the Republicans today:

I’m sooo ready!
@3 SM as in sm77 of
Party
Unity
My
Ass!

That SM?

Okay! For my gurl Hillary!!

We will stand by her and she’ll stand by us.

SM!!!! Great to see you! And GAgirl, from one to another, welcome back to TW!!!!

To GAgal, the same one!!!! I’ve been too quiet for too long, time to raise some hell. Our girl’s back in the game and so am I 😄 !!

Hi chatblu! Fredster! DYB! Pat Johnson and of course the wonderful Madama B 😘😄😚😁!!! I’m ready to take down all these Republican Ricky Ricardo wannabes, Latinos know who has always been by their side: http://ftpcontent.worldnow.com/kfmbfm/DSC4/hilary%20clinton.jpg. Let’s raise some hell and make a lot of noise!

Hey SM, back at ya!

Btw, love the music selections, here’s one for Hillary from me:Chaka Khan – I’m Every Woman:

Nice song SM! if you don’t mind, I’m going to tinker with that a bit so it will do an embed.

@8: Here’s another great version:

And this one:

Waving at everybody. Just did the email thingy for the Hillary campaign. Can you believe it has been 8 years and here we go again? I’m a true believer in good things who come to those who wait and I believe good things are going to happen and I refuse to let those numnuts in the media cause me one moment of distraction this time from the goal of Hillary becoming president. Of course, the GOP’s reaction is over the top and screeching. Surely their heads are going to explode any day now.

@19, yes, good things come to those who wait! And LOLOL at the “republican ricky ricardo wannabes”!

Chat, great post and love all the songs! What a happy day! Yes, it will get nasty at times, but we have each other and will ride it out together. What a happy day! We’ve waited a long time for this.

Actually, I think Ted Cruz reminds me more of Joe McCarthy than Ricky Ricardo. Check this out (yes I know the Beast is douchey, but this is pretty funny):

http://www.thedailybeast.com/videos/2013/02/25/is-ted-cruz-the-new-mccarthy.html

annie@21: Oh definitely he’s like McCarthy. Heh…I wonder if he’s an alcoholic like McCarthy was? That’s what did him in.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_McCarthy#Final_years

Hellooooo everyone! My goodness, what an exciting day. And it is so great to see SM and GaGal!!!

You have all seen the video I suppose? From a marketing perspective, I give it an A+.

That was great Chat! I signed up.

TheDailyBeast definitely doesn’t bother with much research, because they think they know it all already. Here we go again, having to set ’em all straight just like in ’08.

She [Hillary]’s a little to Obama’s right? Fine.

lolsob. Well, we knew it’d be a bumpy ride, Madame President!

I have a dream and, today, was the first step!

Welcome, Luna and GA6th. You’ll find good company here at TW – some new, some old.

Thx, chat! I’ve been around since early ’08 on various places and various names. So good to see people showing back up now that Our Champion is in the ring!

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!