The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend Movies: The Oscars

Posted on: February 20, 2015

Happy Friday, Widdershins!  This weekend brings all of the glitz and glamour of the Oscars, where the best and the brightest are honored – or just plain snubbed.

I am far from a film critic.  I could not call myself a connoisseur with a straight face.  I do, however, really enjoy a good movie, a great performance, and amazing film.  Therefore I watch the Oscars most years.  Some years I completely understand the choices, and others find me dumbfounded, and wondering what the hey I must have missed when I say the film.  Who knows?  Certainly not me.

I suggest that we pay tribute to the Oscars by posting our favorites of all time.  Any year, any category – whatever you like will be fine.  I’ve selected one in five different categories, and am anticipating yours, so post away in this otherwise open thread.

(1) Best Picture – “The Graduate”, 1967

(2) Best Actor – George C. Scott for “Patton”, 1970

(3) Best Actress – Sally Field for “Norma Rae”, 1979

(4) Best Original Score for a Musical – Saul Chaplin, Johnny Green, Sid Ramin, and Irwin Kostal  for “West Side Story”, 1961

(5) Best Cinematography –  John Toll, for “Braveheart”, 1995.

Have a great weekend, y’all.

 

31 Responses to "Lazy Weekend Movies: The Oscars"

Of course…

Juliette Binoche was offered the female lead in “Jurassic Park” and she turned it down to make this movie instead (one of my favorites.)

This movie is dirty and offensive and funny and filled with many truths:

I can watch this one a million times:

I think this was Robert Atman’s best film:

I haven’t seen several of these, but I will strive to do so.

Ivan Sergei is just plain hunky.

Just watched this last night on TCM. Excellent movie.

The last part of the trail scene of Thomas More. The arrival at the verdict was kind of swift, shall we say.

@11: Another favorite.

This was an extremely bizarre movie but if you have a chance to see it, watch it.

“The Ruling Class” is fascinating and bizarre!

A really magnificent movie, beautiful and sad (and the performance are superb):

Very strange, very creepy and unsettling movie. And you have to watch the end credits. Something happens during the end credits – which is hard to see – that completely changes everything you just finished watching. A really fascinating movie and superb performances.

@13: I’m looking forward to Harper Lee’s new book due out this summer.

@16: That looks amazing.

chat @ 19> “The Remains of the Day” is truly one of the most beautiful movies I’ve ever seen. I love Merchant Ivory in general, and this was one of their masterpieces. The novel it’s adapted from, by Kazuo Ishiguro, is also stunning.

And this is the other Merchant Ivory film with Hopkins and Thompson (actually, “Howards End” came first.) E.M. Forster’s novel is one of my favorites of all time and this adaptation is nearly perfect. (When I wen to college it was actually taught in the “novel to screen” course as one of the finest adaptations.)

@DYB: Yes on Remains being awfully sad and agree totally on Ruling Class.

I have to admit, I know next to nothing about the current nominees, so the current Academy Awards would be a snoozefest for me. I love Juliette Binoche and saw Bleu. Also, most of the other films here, I love those old British films…I can’t say why, since I wouldn’t have enjoyed living in those times.

Did you guys see the latest “funniness” with Bill O’Really?

Here’s an oldie but goodie that was nominated for a bunch of AAs and won one:

I guess I thought of this from Chat’s reference to Mockingbird (Atticus), although it might be cuz we were talking about my Dad and he looked like Peck when he was young…well, like a cross between Gregory Peck and George Chakiris, who is in the West Side Story clip upthread.

annie@22: I saw something about him. Was it the thing with him and Mother Jones or something like that?

This is better, has the great score:

Gregory Peck was a very handsome man.

I’m watching Papillion right now on TCM.

Fredster, yes. As usual, Billo-o is proved wrong and makes a total jackass of himself. How are you feeling?

Ah, Papillion is a great movie. So sad.

It’s at the point where Steve McQueen gets put on Devils Island and finds Dustin Hoffman/Degas there.

Laker turned it on, but it was almost over, the timing must be different. I told him to watch it later.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

DYB on Whaddah Week!
DYB on Whaddah Week!
Prolix on Whaddah Week!
NW Luna on Whaddah Week!
NW Luna on Whaddah Week!

Blog Archive

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job