The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Television: Happy Birthday, SNL!

Posted on: February 15, 2015

Good Sunday, Widdershins.  Today we give tribute to one of my favorite television shows, Saturday Night Live, which is celebrating its 40th season.  I have watched faithfully for four decades, and have been treated to some fabulous comedy.  From the golden days of John Belushi, Gilda Radnor, and Al Franken to the present, SNL always brought comedy full-on into our living rooms.  SNL tackled everything and everyone will equal gusto.  Presidents and politicians of all stripes were (and still are) fair game.

Sadly, I cannot find youtube clips for many of my favorites.  “Land Shark”, “Total Bastard AIrlines”,  and “James Brown’s Celebrity Hot Tub” are nowhere to be found.  I also can’t seem to find a clean copy of “Mr. Robinson’s Neighborhood”,  or, as I am a sucker for a good Southern accent, “Colonel Angus”. If you can, please share with the class.  Fortunately, there are still tons of choices.

I could sit here and list a hundred or more skits, but I’m really hoping that y’all will help me out with this.  I’ve whittled my list down to as few as possible.  Please post yours, or anything else that strikes you as important or fun in this completely open thread.

(1) The Olympia Restaurant

(2) NFL Introductions

(3) George W. Bush On Global Warming

(4) More Cowbell  (Best that I can find)

(5) Chippendales Audition

(6) Red Hooded Sweatshirt

(7) The Society of Stupid People

 

 

15 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Television: Happy Birthday, SNL!"

Damn it was hard to find some of the good ones I liked.

I loved this one with Belushi.

@7: Damn that worked! Didn’t know if the embed would work or not.

I really could not find a number of my favorite skits on youtube. I think Broadway Video still has control of them and won’t turn them loose.

Oh and somewhat good news on the wx front. It looks like the latest models have moved the freeze line north of us so we’re just going to have cold, miserable rain. Oh yay.

These are so great…40 years of fun, although I think the last 10 years have been kind of meh. Fredster, the Julia Child sketch is wonderful. I remember that one like it was yesterday!

I can’t believe I found this one: short but not sweet.

@MB: I tried to find a couple more of the Samurai skits but couldn’t find them. Oh and it seems that clips from DailyMotion will embed here. Tried one from hulu but it didn’t work.

R.I.P. Louis Jourdan. Just the epitome of sophistication and of being debonair.

@11: Thanks for James Brown and the much cleaner version of More Cowbell.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

NW Luna on Invent This!
Sweet Sue on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!

Blog Archive

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph