The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend: Super Bowl

Posted on: January 31, 2015

Good Saturday to you, Widdershins.  The Super Bowl will be played tomorrow, and then the Dark Times begin.  Oh, we have a few shiny moments to look forward to – CFB Signing Day, the NFL Draft – but then it’s naught until August.  I plan to spend a few days sucking my thumb and maybe making a few Peep dioramas, but then life will go on somehow over the long, hot summer.

The Super Bowl is something else though.  Even people who do not particularly enjoy the game watch it for the commercials.  I think I heard that it’s up to 4.5M per time slot, so I’m certain that this year’s batch will be wonderful as well.  I’m proud of the NFL in that they have donated some time for a piece on domestic violence, and yes, it is the least that they can do.

Onward and upward, Widdershins.  I could not pare my list down to five, so I’m posting six and could easily add six more.  I’m looking forward to what y’all consider to be the Best of the Best, so put them up here in this otherwise open thread.

(1) Mean Joe Greene – 1979

(2) Money Out the Wazoo – 2000

(3) The Force- 2011

(4) Replay – 2003

(5) Herding Cats – 2000

(6) Where’s the Beef? – 1984

23 Responses to "Lazy Weekend: Super Bowl"

Forget a big lot of the Super Bowl ads, show me pictures of the Peep dioramas. I love Peeps. I even have a deposition story about Peeps. Peeps are just little wondrous pieces of non-nutritional goodness. I want to see them in all their sweet goodness poised for action in a Chat produced diorama.

@chat: You know, I’m not sure how much of the game I will watch. I’m not very enthused about either of the teams. If there is something better on I may just switch back periodically to see how it’s going.

I’ll be watching the commercials and rooting for the meteor.

I know nothing about football. I didn’t even know today was Superbowl until 3 days ago! But I’m going to a party. Hopefully the party is more interesting than the game! 🙂

Enjoy the party, and the game.

At first glance I have a choice:

Law and Order Marathon

Walking Dead Marathon

Superbowl

Misc. shows and stuff

I’ll watch a little of the game and channel surf inbetween.

Maybe enough time to get this in before kickoff. Skip ahead to about 1 min. in.

Well, the game is on. Chat picked all the same commercials that I would have picked! My fave was the cat herders, as I feel my job and theirs are quite similar. 🙂

I don’t think I’ll go to the beach again in the winter. The shock upon coming back from the sun, sand and sea is just a little too horrible! It was a great time, though, and fortunately I missed Juno. I hope you all survived it!

@14: Yeah, but MB there’s a 2nd blast headed your way. Glad you and hubby got out before all the airline snafus.

Oh don’t I know it Fredster. Sheesh! This will be the second storm that will mess with my work travel. They always seem to occur on Mondays!

@14: It gets cool down here occasionally. It was in the high 50’s at night, but back to the 70’s in the daytime. Don’t get me wrong, I love snow – on the television/

Not intended for anyone here except for smarmy McDonalds.

MB said: This will be the second storm that will mess with my work travel. They always seem to occur on Mondays!

Do you get snow days? 😉

Y’all know my sense of humor so…

Okay the last (?) for the Super Bowl? It’s the Kitty Half time show from the Puppy Bowl featuring Katy Perry uh Katty Furry.

rrrghhhhhh

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

socalannie on Wednesday post
socalannie on Wednesday post
NW Luna on Wednesday post
DYB on Wednesday post
DYB on Wednesday post

Blog Archive

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.1 years to go.

Mueller Time!

Wise Words from Paul Ryan

Heroine of the Resistance

B-I-N-G-O!

PHONE CONTACT INFO FOR THE DNC:

202-863-8000

TELL PEREZ AND ELLISON HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT BRAZILE NUT!

Storify version of E. Rogers HVF explanation

Reason(s) to vote for Doug Jones