The Widdershins

Mean girl

Posted on: December 3, 2014

Mean girl Elizabeth Lauten

I made a comment about this the other day, but maybe it deserves a post.

Several days ago a congressional staffer for Congressman Stephen Lee Fincher of Tennessee felt it necessary to make some comments about the President’s daughters, Sasha and Malia.  They were present at the “Presidential pardoning” of the two turkeys in celebration of the Thanksgiving holiday.  Now, Sasha and Malia are both teenagers, with all of the embarrassing (for the adults)  attributes of being a teenager that that can imply.   It seems they appeared bored silly with the turkey pardoning.  And this did not sit well with staffer Elizabeth Lauten.  Ms Lauten felt the need to take to her facebook page and write the following:

Dear Sasha and Malia, I get you’re both in those awful teen years, but you’re a part of the First Family, try showing a little class. At least respect the part you play. Then again your mother and father don’t respect their positions very much, or the nation for that matter, so I’m guessing you’re coming up a little short in the ‘good role model’ department. Nevertheless, stretch yourself. Rise to the occasion. Act like being in the White House matters to you. Dress like you deserve respect, not a spot at a bar. And certainly don’t make faces during televised public events.  [Bolding/italics mine]

Now I’m sure that to the Obama daughters, they don’t think of the President, as, well, the President.  He’s probably just “dad’ or something.  And, as the Gawker article goes on to say, the daughters of the previous President weren’t exactly role models for Presidential children.  But I’m not gonna go there…really…I’m not.

Well Ms. Lauten caught a shite-load of negative reactions to her facebook post and she had to issue a mea culpa over it.

“I reacted to an article and quickly judged the two young ladies in a way that I would never have wanted to be judged myself as a teenager,” she said. “After many hours of prayer, talking to my parents and re-reading my words online, I can see more clearly how hurtful my words were. Please know that these judgmental feelings truly have no place in my heart. Furthermore, I’d like to apologize to all of those who I have hurt and offended with my words, and pledge to learn and grow (and I assure you I have) from this experience.”

And really, Liz, this:  “After many hours of prayer”.  Probably those many hours of prayer were for her own skin.

Well, it didn’t really do any good and after she was hoist on her own petard, she was forced to resign her job.  And did you notice that she never made an apology to the girls? I really don’t feel sorry for her in the least. And I really don’t feel badly about her resignation after I read this little piece from The Smoking Gun.

Lauten was arrested in December 2000 for misdemeanor larceny, according to court records. Lauten, then 17, was collared for stealing from a Belk department store in her North Carolina hometown.

Because Lauten was a first-time offender, her case was handled via the District Court’s deferred prosecution program, which resulted in the charge’s eventual dismissal after the future scold stayed out of trouble for a prescribed period.

Since Lauten was just another teenager caught shoplifting at the mall, it appears unlikely that she was publicly pilloried for her lack of class, nor were her parents criticized as poor role models.

Now trust the Republicans to try to turn the matter back on the Democrats.

“Children, especially the first daughters, are off limits. While the comments were inappropriate and insensitive, the mainstream media’s coverage of this story is appalling,” Republican National Committee communications director Sean Spicer wrote in a series of messages on his Twitter account. “In over 20 years in politics I have never seen one of the countless inappropriate comments by Democrats ever covered” to this extent.

Really Sean?  Have you forgotten Anthony Weiner?  Those weren’t comments he sent, but… And what about this one?  “Last year, a White House aide on Iran policy resigned after being outed as the author of an anonymous Twitter account that criticized the president and his top aides, including a reference to an outfit worn by national security adviser Susan E. Rice as ‘dominatrix-like.’ ”

As Bill Maher likes to say on his show, here are some New Rules:

LEAVE…THE KIDS…ALONE!

Eugene Robinson, on Morning Joe said that yes, it’s true, this President has been treated differently than other Presidents.  And ya know, I really hate to have to be in the position of defending this President but I do believe Robinson is correct.  Perhaps Mary Landrieu’s statement was more correct than we want to admit and not just on the south.

Oh and hey Widdershins, I may be here infrequently the next few days.  This is open season or something for the A.C.A. and I have to look over plans, do some stuff with my account on the A.C.A. website and choose a plan.

This is an open thread.

16 Responses to "Mean girl"

I saw this story, and I thought the comment by the “communications staffer” was particularly vicious. The comments were so over the top, “dress like you deserve respect, not a spot at the bar,” the girls were dressed like preppy students, I have never seen these girls dressed like anything else. The whole piece was dripping with arrogance, sarcasm and utter bullshit. I’m so glad the witch got the boot. As far as the ridiculous spicer comment goes, I thought Lauten’s comment really deserved to be dissected by everyone, it was so disrepectful. I hated bush with a passion, but I never criticized his daughters. I did wonder though why the media never said anything about Laura Bush’s vehicular manslaughter though. The media hushed up the whole thing as best they could. This, after railing on Hillary for 8 long years. The repubs are so hypocritical it makes my head spin.

@1: Ibid.

@1: I cannot recall ever seeing these young girls not well dressed when it was some type of official or semi-official function where they were present. One of the links also mentioned the time that Rush Limburger called Chelsea Clinton a dog. As if, Rush, as if, you Oxycontin-addicted turd.

And I’d really love to know what Lauten shoplifted from the Belks store. 😉

@2: The store for Southern style!

@chat: Hahahahahaaaa!!!!

I got the tax bill for the house back in La. so I mailed it out today, Priority mail “2 day”. It was picked up this afternoon and according to the USPS website, expected delivery is Monday. ❓

That’s a loooong two days. Did you see that the NYC grand jury failed to indict in the Eric Garner case? Even the conservatives are miffed:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/12/03/eric-garner-conservatives-chokehold_n_6264886.html

It was with interest that I noted Ms. Lauten began her prayerful reflection after her hand was called on her hateful screed. Note to her, if her religiosity is indeed real and not a rallying cry for the “good born-again sinners” to come to her rescue, I would suggest in the future she undertake the prayer before she so smugly types.

@7, as egregious as McCulloch was in the Michael Brown killing, this prosecutor is even more insidiously craven in this miscarriage of any semblance of justice.

Prolix@8: Exactly.

@7: Even more than the Ferguson g.j., I can’t believe this one. Looks like the Justice Dept is going to be really busy. SMH

If this is how it will go, how will body cameras possibly help?

@12: Exactly what someone else asked.

The Rude Pundit has a post on the NYPD cop choking of Eric Garner and the grand jury.

Good post @ Rude Pundit.

annie@15: He certainly doesn’t hold anything back. 😆

i’ve been busy this evening going through the A.C.A. stuff. I checked a new plan that was available on the exchange here but ended up staying with mine even though it went up a pretty good bit.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!