The Widdershins

Remain Calm, Etc: Party Like It’s 5775

Posted on: September 25, 2014

Good Thursday, Widdershin, and a Happy Rosh Hashanah to all.  While I am not of the Jewish persuasion, I will happily celebrate any and all holidays.  My friend Rusti is the ultimate Jewish mother and one hell of a good cook, so I have been known to frequent her table at holiday times for a nosh or three.  I do not pretend to be well-informed, but I have been told that Rosh Hashanah signifies the new year, when the righteous have their names inscribed in the Book of Life for another year.  There are gatherings, music, and wonderful sweets prior to the solemn season of Yom Kippur.  Being raised Roman Catholic, it’s almost as if Easter were to precede Good Friday.

Just to throw in my two cents’ worth, I hope that this season brings for us new life.  I wish for an end to eternal conflict, and hope for the twin miracles of peace and harmony.  As long as I am reaching, I would like to see some resolution to never-ending conflicts and mind-numbing callousness across the globe.  May this be the year that we actually begin to care about each other instead of believing that ends always justify the means.

I know intellectually that nirvana is not usually obtained, but I’m a Sixties kid.  I know, because I’ve seen it, that harmony is possible.   People can work together for the greater good.  Past practices can end, new beginnings can start.  My friend Rusti tells me that she does not make resolutions in the classical sense, but rather does self-examinations as to how she can be a better person, family member, employee, citizen, etc. then strives to improve.  That works for me.

This has been an uneasy year.  Expenses are outpacing salaries at a scary pace.  Medical costs are multiplying by a factor of awful.  The national debt can’t be getting better thanks to a defense budget that already exceeds that of any number of other nations’ combined total outlay.  We haven’t done much to solve our homeless problem, and veteran’s care is managed only by crisis.  Not exactly what we had hoped for in this enlightened age.

I won’t pretend that I have the foggiest notion regarding what to do about any of this.  I can’t even imagine what it will take to get Congress off of its collective keisters to do their damned jobs.  I can’t imagine who is voting for these people – oh, wait.  Yes I do, and I only wish that they would realize that their problems could be solved by cleaning house (and senate) up there.

But as we close out this year (if you are Jewish) and enter the autumn months, we have an outside chance of making things better.  So make a donation, call some people, register some voters and offer to drive people to the polls.  It’s our best chance to at least level the field and hope for a better tomorrow.  May all of our names be written in the Book of Life, along with all of those whom we hold dearly.

L’shanah tovah, y’all.  This is an open thread.

 

 

 

8 Responses to "Remain Calm, Etc: Party Like It’s 5775"

Can’t think of too much to add. I believe you covered it all. 😉

Also, I’m going nuts with a new phone. 👿 I can tell I’m turning into a crotchety old man because I’m losing patience with this shite. LOL!

What a wonderfully lovely post! Thank you Chat — may all our apples be dipped in the sweetest pots of honey.

A round of honey dipped apples!

Hey Widdershins:

I am told that it is my day tomorrow for the weekend post, but Fredster is kind of between places so to speak and won’t have internet access. Therefore, I guess chat’s post here will be the one for the weekend.

That was a lovely post.

We went out to dinner tonite and Keyshawn J. was eating there.

Keyshawn was a great player.
Actually, I got a blast of energy and put somethng up for the weekend.

Yeah, I liked him for calling the cops on Justin Bieber!

Looking forward to your weekend post!

Chatblu,

You got me to fire up the wayback machine. Here’s the Texas Talmud:
https://web.archive.org/web/20010213224854/http://web.wt.net/~cbenton/TexasTalmud.htm

Gotta love a two thousand + year record that instead of insisting on My Way Or The HIghway (imagine a paternostic voice proclaiming Ex Cathedra), or Kill All Them Others, a la Shiia’s n’ Kurds, says instead yeah, guess you’re both right. Tell G-d about it.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.3 years to go.