The Widdershins

Sins of a father…

Posted on: September 16, 2014

Following up on MB’s evocative thought experiment from yesterday, why don’t we workshop Adrian Peterson’s statement about the allegations of child abuse? First, the statement: Adrian Peterson

“I never wanted to be a distraction to the Vikings organization, the Minnesota community or to my teammates. I never imagined being in a position where the world is judging my parenting skills or calling me a child abuser because of the discipline I administered to my son.”

“I have to live with the fact that when I disciplined my son the way I was disciplined as a child, I caused an injury that I never intended or thought would happen,” he wrote. “I am not a perfect parent, but I am, without a doubt, not a child abuser. I am someone that disciplined his child and did not intend to cause him any injury. No one can understand the hurt that I feel for my son and for the harm I caused him. My goal is always to teach my son right from wrong and that’s what I tried to do that day.”

An old adage comes to mind: A camel is a horse designed by a committee. Statements, like Peterson’s, are committee assignments. There’s the manager, the agent, the attorney, the publicist, the media consultant, the financial manager, and maybe a family member or two all weighing in on what needs to be said and in what order.

Let’s dissect the first paragraph. First apologies to the Vikings, Minnesota, and his teammates and then he claims a certain victimhood where the world is judging his “parenting skills,” all before he mentions the word “son.”

His next sentence is the sickening excuse so often used, “I disciplined my son the way I was disciplined.” An accurate decoding of this sentence, “I beat my child the way I was beaten.” From there, he again turns to the victimhood of feeling hurt since the injury he caused with not “intentional.” He sums up with saying his goal is to teach his son right from wrong. I’d offer a good first lesson might be that hurting someone is wrong.

A miniscule number of child abusers set out to be child abusers. It isn’t a vocational choice high on the selection charts. The vast majority of child abusers are fulfilling the circle of the abuse they have suffered. Peterson wrote that he worked with a psychologist to discuss alternative methods of child discipline — I would strongly suggest further work or a more assertive psychologist.

Beyond the tarnishing of the “Peterson brand,” the tone deaf, rudderless leadership of the Minnesota Vikings has an even bigger battle to wage since reinstating Peterson to play next Sunday. Radisson immediately suspended their partnership with the team.  I expect others will follow since no publicity conscious company wants to become an asterisk in the growing Goodell mess.  And for someone who “never wanted to be a distraction” this boneheaded reinstatement guarantees Peterson will most certainly be an enormous distraction.

Adrian Peterson has a wonderful reputation of doing the right things on the field and when people are looking. The true measure of a person is what you do when people aren’t looking. Here’s a sample of the latter captured four days after the “discipline the way I was disciplined.”

AP 3

AP 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AP 2

AP 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is an open thread.

5 Responses to "Sins of a father…"

I’m not sure what to say for sure about this. Looking him up, Peterson was born in Tx. I’m sure corporal punishment was pretty much the norm, “back in the day”. I received my share of spankings as a child and I don’t believe I was harmed by it. Mind you, I’m talking about a spanking most of the time although I did get the belt a few times.

I haven’t followed this completely so I don’t even know if Peterson caused any physical injury to his child or not. If so, then that’s a different story.

Well…no surprise that this happened.

I just read some things and saw a piece on Lawrence O’Donnell and apparently Peterson did seem to go overboard with this child. It appears that the child was injured more than what would occur with a simple “spanking” or something like that.

Well after all the squirming and hem-hawing, the Vikings have put Peterson on the exempt-commissioner’s permission list.

the Minnesota Vikings have reversed course and placed star running back Adrian Peterson on the exempt-commissioner’s permission list, a move that will require him to stay away from the team while he addresses child abuse charges in Texas.

The Vikings made the announcement early Wednesday morning, about a day and a half after initially deciding that Peterson could play with the team while the legal process played out. Peterson is charged with a felony for using a wooden switch to spank his 4-year-old son.

the Minnesota Vikings have reversed course and placed star running back Adrian Peterson on the exempt-commissioner’s permission list, a move that will require him to stay away from the team while he addresses child abuse charges in Texas.

The Vikings made the announcement early Wednesday morning, about a day and a half after initially deciding that Peterson could play with the team while the legal process played out. Peterson is charged with a felony for using a wooden switch to spank his 4-year-old son.

The Vikings came under heavy criticism for their initial stance. Several sponsors responded by either suspending their deals with the Vikings or severing ties with Peterson.

Of particular concern are the areas over the kidneys. Sadly, this does go past the point of discipline, even allowing for the fact that this is likely the apex of bruising. Any ER employee would have called Child Protective Services. As a parent and a grandparent, I am acutely aware that the little darlings can drive you wild, but you can make your point with a timeout out or one swift swat on the backside.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.1 years to go.

Mueller Time!

Wise Words from Paul Ryan

Heroine of the Resistance

B-I-N-G-O!

PHONE CONTACT INFO FOR THE DNC:

202-863-8000

TELL PEREZ AND ELLISON HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT BRAZILE NUT!

Storify version of E. Rogers HVF explanation

Reason(s) to vote for Doug Jones