The Widdershins

Relaxing Monday: Happy Labor Day!

Posted on: September 1, 2014

Per chat’s post over the weekend, we can celebrate many things today – the grand idea that is Union; the strides the union leaders made for American workers, which we now take for granted; a day off, for those of us still toiling in the corporate fields; the return of college football; or for me, a variation on the word. After several hours of labor last week, my sister-in-law successfully produced…a beautiful baby boy. I am now an aunt! (Apologies, but I won’t be sharing names or photos on social media per my brother’s request. Trust me, he is the cutest baby ever – and I am, of course, completely objective. 🙂 )

So sit back, enjoy your day off, and discuss whatever you’d like…and enjoy this amazing video of Leontyne Price singing both the alto “He shall feed his flock” and “Come unto Him, all ye that Labor” from Handel’s Messiah. You. Go. Girl!

This is an open thread.

 

7 Responses to "Relaxing Monday: Happy Labor Day!"

Mazel tov, Auntie M. Is the music a clue to his name? Maybe Emmanuel? Surely y’all wouldn’t name a Jewish kid Jesus, although, come to think of it…………….

Very sweet! Congratulations to all! I loved being an aunt.

congrats MB! And of course to the parents too!

Being an only child, I have never been an aunt. A few of my friends’ children have called me that, but more as an honorific.

Happy Zeptember everyone! We had a lovely day today. Went to our favorite beautiful park for a Led Zep tribute band concert. There was probably a few thousand people there, everyone was in a chill, happy, summer mood, and the band was great. Laker went down and hung out right in front of the stage, but hubs and I sat on a quilt on the grass up the hill but directly in front of the stage. It reminded me of fun times at Cal Jam 2, when I was a youngster. The town we live in is very hilly, and this park is rolling hills with a creek and tons of trees and beautiful picnic areas.

annie@5: Sounds like a very idyllic location and event. I’m envious.

Congratulations MB — I’m sure he is the handsomest lad in all the land!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

DYB on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!
NW Luna on Invent This!
Sweet Sue on Invent This!
DYB on Invent This!

Blog Archive

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph