The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend Music: Name Dropping

Posted on: August 8, 2014

It’s Friday, Widdershins.  Are you ready for the weekend?  And, are you ready for some football?  The preseason officially kicks off today.  The Dark Times are over, y’all.

Meanwhile, back at the blog, it’s time to take the weekend off and enjoy ourselves.  This week’s topic is songs with names in the title.  I found well over 100 of them while researching this, so there should be no brain strain involved here.  Post your favorites, along with anything else that comes to mind in this wide open thread.  I’ll be in and out, as my stepmother is being discharged tomorrow, so I need to get some things done to prepare her apartment for her arrival, then settle down and watch the preseason games.

(1) Abraham, Martin, and John – Dion

(2) Bobby McGee – Janis Joplin

(3) Cathy’s Clown – The Everly Brothers

(4) Lola – The Kinks

(5( Lady Lynda – The Beach Boys

BONUS:

(6) The Name Game – Shirley Ellis

 

 

39 Responses to "Lazy Weekend Music: Name Dropping"

Hey, Beata. Good to see you.

Hi, Chat. I hope all goes well with your stepmother tomorrow.

Thanks. I’ll need all the support we can muster.

it’s a name!

The unhappy sequel to “Tiny Dancer” ( Maxine’s song ) :

A true story about a name:

I have been to church only once since my mother died. I went on her birthday to light a candle and say a prayer. It was not during a regular service and the church was empty. I went up to the front to light a candle and pray for a few moments. As I started back up the aisle to leave, I saw a woman kneeling and praying in a back pew. She had not been there when I first arrived.

As I was leaving, I heard a woman’s voice say, “I’m glad you came today.” I turned and saw the woman who had been praying standing there. I didn’t know her. She smiled and said, “I hope you will come again. Remember to ask for ( she said a name ) . I am always here if you need me.” Then she went back into the church. The name she said was my mother’s.

Beata@18 Holy smokes, Beata.

Amazing Beata (and creepy!)

it’s a name!!

Yep, guess who’s here for the night shift. 😉

@20: No, it wasn’t a creepy experience. I consider it a message from my mother and find it comforting.

Beata@30 Meant no offense, but I would have been shaken by something like that.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!