The Widdershins

Lazy Weekend: Stormy Weather

Posted on: July 26, 2014

Good weekend, Widdershins.   I’m baaaack.

The convention was good, Charleston is one of my favorite places, and I am nicely filled up with Country Captain and other local yummies.  We came back through Georgia, visited mom’s grave on St. Simon’s, and nibbled some of the world’s best ‘que along the way.  We arrived home almost a day late due to unremitting, torrential rain, so let’s celebrate rain, storms, thunder, lightening and all that it brings to Southern coastal summers.

I’ll be in and put this weekend, as my stepmother is in the hospital, but the floor is open to any and all discussion.  Love to all.

(1) A Rainy Night in Georgia – Ray Charles

(2) Fire and Rain – James Taylor

(3) One Rainy Wish – Jimi Hendrix

(4) Have You Ever Seen the Rain? – Creedence Clearwater Revival

(5) Buckets of Rain – Bob Dylan

26 Responses to "Lazy Weekend: Stormy Weather"

Well here’s the obvious one.

Chat may remember the FL congressman with the coke problem, Trey Radel. Well his successor Curt Clawson is no boy wonder either. Here he is talking to two employees of the State Dept. who happen to be of Indian ancestry…I mean the sub-continent. He doesn’t realize they are Americans and thinks they are indeed from India.

Oh, I remember, and this one appears to be a doozey.

chat@4: That would be an understatement. And it appears he continued his cluelessness even after the two State employees clarified who they were.

Fredster, that was hilarious! What an idiot! I can’t believe how many morons have been elected to office over the past several years.

Chat, welcome home, nice to “see” you back. I’m glad you had a nice trip. Charleston is on my bucket list. My sister went there last summer, her and her husband drove up the coast from Florida as far as North Carolina, then cut west. They really enjoyed it. Hubbie and I plan to do that ourselves. We’ve already seen most of the NE.

It’s a beautiful city, but then again I love wrought iron.

Me too!

I saw that Charlie Crist had a funny comeback about climate change:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/26/charlie-crist-rick-scott_n_5623452.html

Do you think he will be your next gov?

Welcome back, Chat!

Charleston, Savannah, and NOLA are all on my bucket list.

I had such a huge crush on Bruce Hornsby when I was in my 20’s. I’d still marry him if he happens to be interested.

@12: Call me, Bruce!

annie@7: i can’t believe how clueless some of these people are! I mean, couldn’t the committee staff have provided an agenda that listed the people appearing? And secondly, why would folks from a foreign country be appearing at a committee meeting? I mean, it’s the House Foreign Affairs committee but still…

@13: Love that classic Motown sound and style!

Me, too,.

Nola great, Irma Thomas

Internet has been fubar’d here for some hours. :evil;

Welcome back Chat! We were supposed to get storms here but so far, it’s been a false alarm.

Thank you. Good to be back, other than my stepmother’s in the hospital, may need a rehab, and things are way messed up/

Arggggh, sorry to hear, Chat. It has been a weird summer for a lot of people. I hope your stepmother gets better soon!

Best wishes, chatblu, to you and your stepmother.

Rhanks for the support and good wishes/

Hey everyone, here’s a video that was just shared by someone at my company. Really inspirational and apropos for my upcoming post. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.2 years to go.

Mueller Time!

Wise Words from Paul Ryan

Heroine of the Resistance

B-I-N-G-O!

PHONE CONTACT INFO FOR THE DNC:

202-863-8000

TELL PEREZ AND ELLISON HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT BRAZILE NUT!

Storify version of E. Rogers HVF explanation

Reason(s) to vote for Doug Jones