The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Movies: Movie Moms

Posted on: May 11, 2014

Happy Mother’s Day, Widdershins.  What better topic for today than our annual tribute to movie moms?

Mothers feature prominently in any number of films.  They range from sweet to salty, from angelic to monstrous, and from funny to fabulous.  Moms may be the leading lady, a supporting actress, or an afterthought.  They may be cast as monarchs or cleaning ladies, executives or housewives.  Their affects and occupations are as varied in film as they are in life.  So let’s discuss the movies that celebrate them.

Oh, and I don’t have to remind you to remember your mother in some small way today, do I?  If you’re fortunate enough to still have your mom, call her.  Send her a card or flowers.  They are too soon gone from our lives.

This is an open thread.

(1) The Manchurian Candidate, 1962.  Angela Lansbury as Eleanor Shaw Iselin

(2 Ordinary People, 1980:  Mary Tyler Moore as Beth Jarrett

(3) Mask, 1985:  Cher as Rusty Dennis

(4) Grapes of Wrath, 2940:  Jane Darwell as Ma Joad

(5) The Blind Side, 2009:  Sandra Bullock as Leigh Ann Touhey

 

21 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Movies: Movie Moms"

Hubbie and I were just talking about how Cher turned out to be such a great actress. Happy Mother’s Day!

And to you.

Nuthin’ says luvin’ like Mildred in the kitchen.

Why not Carol Burnett’s take on Mildred.

I have always .loved Carol as Scarlett.

I want to wish a Happy Mothers Day to all the moms out there.

I still miss ya Margaret but I know you’re in a better place now.

Okay, have to do it.

The devil made you do it.

This is the first Mother’s Day without my mother. I don’t have a movie clip to post but here is a song she used to sing to me.

I love you, Mama. Always.

Beata@9: This will be a rough one for you, but you’ll be okay.

Hugs!!!!

Happy Mother’s Day to Chat, Annie, Mary Luke, and the other moms on the blog!

@10: Thanks, Fredster. I didn’t think today would be so difficult but it has been. At least it’s almost over.

I know how much you miss your mom. ((( HUGS ))) to you.

The first year is tough. It does not ever completely go away, but it does get better.

Happy Mothers Day to all our Widdershins Mothers and those who have or miss their moms…I love you all.

chat is right: it never does go away completely, and I’m not going to say it gets “better” but the hurt gets less sharp. And it’s true that you’ll recall more of the good things and less of the painful.

My mom passed in 1972, so it’s been awhile for me/

What Fredster says @15 is very true. Hugs to all of you that have lost your Moms.

I blew a kiss skyward, yesterday.
It was my second Mother’s Day without a mother; it does get less painful-more sweet than bitter.

That’s a good way to put it, Sue.

Sue@18: As chat said.

@11 Thank you, Beata, and bless you!

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!