The Widdershins

Once again it’s time for SATURDAY LIGHT FARE!

Posted on: May 3, 2014

Vintage ParisSaw the picture above and thought it was a nice photo.

So once again it’s time for some of the lighter or odd things I’ve come across on the internet.  Nothing heavy or depressing like the oligarchy today.

It must have been some really good boxed wine

I had this one bookmarked and then overlooked it when doing the light fare things.  So anyway, this woman decides to stroll into a Publix Supermarket in Ocala Fl.  The problem was that she wasn’t wearing any pants.  She did, however, have a top on so I guess that made it okay…for her.

The store manager tried but failed to get the woman to surrender the wine. She wasn’t wearing pants, but she did have a pair of slippers on.

Authorities said the incident happened about 1:30 p.m. Tuesday. The woman was identified by police as Desiree Taylor, 35.

Officials said surveillance video showed Taylor strolling through the produce aisle and deli before picking up two boxes of wine worth about $42 combined and headed to the exit.

I rarely drink wine because it tends to give me a headache but that must have been “some” good wine to cost 42 bucks for two boxes.
There is a video you can watch and it seems that some folks just sort of ignored the woman as she strolled in and some folks hardly seemed to notice.  Does that mean it’s possibly a common occurrence in Ocala?  I dunno.  The store manager did try to stop her…
Todd Long, the store manager, told authorities that after she walked out of the video frame, he tried to stop her and get the wine, but she started swinging her arms wildly and fled.
The police do know who the woman is because of a previous altercation with them.

Taylor was described as being about 5 feet 4 inches tall, with a tattoo on her neck.

If Taylor is arrested, she could face at least one count of retail petit theft and other charges related to her attire or lack thereof.

Taylor was arrested on March 2 on charges including battery on a firefighter or emergency medical technician and resisting an officer.

Authorities said those charges stemmed from an incident in which Taylor was acting strangely and screaming profanities at an apartment complex pool and resisted officers and firefighters when they came to her unit to check on her well-being.

Oh yes I can see this in Oklahoma
and no I don’t mean a surrey with the fringe on top

With Governor Mary Fallin’s mindset of full speed ahead on an execution, yeah I can see this happening there.

Gun range aims to be the first with a liquor license in Oklahoma

Yes, you read that right.  There’s a gun range that wants to open up in Oklahoma City and also offer liquor.  After all, what could go wrong?  🙄

Owners say the state-of-the art indoor gun range will make history in Oklahoma, although across the country the concept is not new.

At 40,000 square feet co-owner Jeff Swanson says Wilshire Gun will be a full-fledged destination.

“As a group we wanted to build a place, the first one in Oklahoma, where you could go in, shoot, enjoy the retail area and then go to the café,” he said.

The plan calls for 24 firearm lanes, 10 archery lanes, a simulation room, classrooms, and VIP Lounge.

Now, I’ve known some people from the “gret stet” of Oklahoma and they were great folks; I even had a boyfriend from there, back in the day.  That being said, I don’t see how this turns out well even with any safeguards the owners of the place want to have.

Folks with the range insist it can be done safely. They say they’re working with several ranges from California to Texas who have never had a problem.

They just have to ensure folks shoot, then drink, and not the other way around. Oy! SMH

“Any misconceptions or joking aside, beer and bullets, guns and alcohol, they do not mix,” Swanson said.

A major aspect of the safety plan includes scanning any customer’s license before he or she operates a lane or orders food, alcohol or merchandise.

“Once your order a drink your driver’s license is scanned and you are red-flagged and you’re not allowed into any of the shooting facilities either as a spectator and certainly not as a shooter for the remainder of the day,” Swanson said.

Well it seems like there are a lot of possibilities for human error in this.  And it seems a gentleman from the state Alcohol Board feels the same way.

“I guess you could go back to the old adage where there’s a will there’s a way, so no matter how many safeguards you do put in place there’s always someone who’s going to try to get around those,” Fairchild said.

The city planning commission voted in favor 7-2.  I guess the family that shoots together…well you get the picture.

I have no idea why this is important
but it was on Page Six so I bookmarked it

So it seems that one “Christ Bearer”  aka Andre Johnson must have been despondent about something.

A Wu-Tang Clan-affiliated rapper sliced off his own penis and jumped off a second-floor balcony in an apparent suicide bid early Wednesday, cops in Southern California said.

Christ Bearer, whose real name is Andre Johnson, was rushed to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center following the 1 a.m. incident in North Hollywood, law enforcement sources told TMZ.com.

Christ Bearer, a member of the rap group Northstar, was listed in critical condition.

Some members of the group live in the same building as their injured pal and said he was not on “any hard drugs that would cause him to do such a thing,” according to TMZ.

Firstly, I might question the idea of suicide when it’s a second floor balcony.  Stoned out of his mind perhaps.  Secondly, so much for Page Six

I went through this with Brandy the Sheltie

So this poor little black and white (is he a tuxie?) cat Lenny was found as a stray and brought to the Scottsville Veterinary Hospital and Pet Adoptions in Rochester, N.Y. The group there nursed him back him to health and got him in good shape (so they thought) to go to his forever home.  And indeed, Lenny was adopted.  But then after two days Lenny returned from his forever home. back to the adoption place.  The reason:  he farted too much.

I had a similar situation with Brandy the tri-color Sheltie.  I was working at a Navy data center on the 3 to 11:30 shift, Tuesday-Saturday work week.  It was extremely difficulty to get together with friends because they were usually already out and about.  Thus, my Saturday “Friday nights” became a habit of calling a pizza joint before leaving work, grabbing it on the way home and then settling in to the recliner and watch some tube. I would share a small bite or two of pizza with her.  Terribly exciting.  So, Brandy got used to the aroma of the pizza when I was coming  in and would barely give me time to get a plate, get a slice or two on it to then give her her little portion.  As I was sitting in the recliner cross-legged (much more svelte Fredster then) she would get on the rug below the recliner and eventually end up on her back, four legs and feet in the air and doze off.  One night she was thus positioned, dozing off and I was watching teevee and having a cocktail.  All of a sudden I heard this quiet little “pfffft” noise and thought nothing about it.  Then:  OMG, the odor wafted up and got me.  So it dissipated and I forgot about it until a while later I heard another little pffft and yep same thing.  At this point I had to wake her up and convince her to move over to a rug, which she did grudgingly.  I do believe that after that we changed her diet.

But there’s good news for Lenny!  He got adopted again!!

Lenny the gassy cat

The short-time owner suggested the frequency and duration of Lenny’s noxious emissions might make him much better suited for an outdoor life.

“But since he’s been back here, there haven’t been any problems,” said Jessica Giehl, Scottsville’s adoptions director. Clean living and a healthy diet may be the reason for that, “but we did still nickname him ‘Smelly Cat.'”

Made a minor celebrity by a March 31 Facebook posting on Scottsville Veterinary Adoptions’ home page, Lenny’s story ultimately has a happy ending.

He was adopted anew on Monday.

So the adoption center may not have named him Smelly Cat but I’ll throw in the Friends video clip just for fun.

A couple of youtube clips

Brian Williams raps “Gin and Juice” and quite well!

I am just now trying to get into Game of Thrones and it’s difficult as hell, to be honest.  I’m not going to go read a book or anything deep on it, but I may be able to find a “Game of Thrones for dummies’ small book or something similar.  I have to say though, that I was surprised when I saw Ellen make an appearance at Joffrey’s wedding!

Okay Widdershins that’s all I have today. This is an open thread so if you are so inclined let me know below how your day is going or gone.

 

 

 

9 Responses to "Once again it’s time for SATURDAY LIGHT FARE!"

Okay quixote…just for you! 🙂

Hey, thanks! What happened was I saw the title in my rss, planned to have a look later, and then it was gone. 😯

The drinkin-n-shootin ranges? As you say. What could possibly go wrong? (What is this country coming to? I mean, really. What is it coming to?)

Since that couldn’t possibly be an issue, I’m glad you struck a serious note and let us know about the real problem of gassy pets! (My pets have been birds, so I’ve been totally unaware of this crisis!)

My cat snores. It’s not very loud but it can be annoying.

Neither doggie snores. They are both excellent sleep companions, except for Haggis who rolls a lot.

Love it Paul/Bush 2016 Dream ticket in the Offing…. oh and look who just may have shown his cards on who Obama is endorsing in 2016 (see comment @ 7:30 and then again @ 14:37…All I can say is poor Joe Biden!

Today is the 44th anniversary of the Kent State Massacre.

@quixote: I had taken it down when i saw a couple of things I wanted to reword and then forgot to click publish again! I had a little flag pop up where someone commented on my comment on another wp blog. I got involved in the back and forth on that one and forgot about here. 😆

Fuzzy@5: I don’t see Jeb taking the 2nd seat, but who knows?

see comment @ 7:30 and then again @ 14:37

Do you have a link to this?

Chloe used to burp, but no farts.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph