The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: New Beginnings

Posted on: April 20, 2014

Good Sunday, Widdershins.  This week has brought us both the beauty of the Passover and Easter holidays,  as well as the not so lovely Tax Day and some disconcerting international news.  All in all, it’s a time for new beginning, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s a celebration in and of itself – usually.

So, as is our Sunday custom, please feel to post any music that you see fit, or any thoughts that you have on your mind.  It’s our day off, and we should enjoy,  Paschal greetings to all who celebrate, love and light to those of us who do not.

This is an open thread.

(1) New Morning – Bob Dylan

(2) Morning Has Broken – Cat Srevens

(3) Turn, Turn, Turn – The Byrds

(4) Brand New Day – Sting

(5) I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash

 

 

17 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: New Beginnings"

After Easter Dinner, let’s all go get some ICE CREAM!!!!

@5: LOL. I love The Punchy Players!

It’s Easter. Have some lard!

The chicken sisters! 😆

Oh boy! We’re going to send some troops to Poland. Yay!

@8: I never would have predicted that! /s

Beata@9: Oh yeah, big surprise. Of course there’s no way, even with NATO troops, that we could have enough troops over there to make much of a difference.

It’s the Easter Beagle!!!

Happy Easter.
Hey, chatblu. how’s your back behaving?
Well, I hope.

That is scary about DOD sending troops to Poland. Laker has been working on his big research essay for the last two weeks and its about vets from Iraq/Afg with mental illnesses like PTSD. We haven’t even begun to recover from those two horrible wars, I can’t stand to think of another one starting. Fredster, what do you and other vets here think about the VA’s medical care?

annie@14: Oh annie, I’m not a veteran, but I did work for VA for a time at the Regional Office where they process the claims for benefits. Both my Dad and granddad were veterans and my granddad was in the nursing home on a VA contract. He would have to go the VA hospital for treatment and all i can say is that it was a nightmare at times. When he would go, the momster would go to the n.h. and then ride in the van with him to the hospital. D.A.V. provided the van service. it was an all day thing. It finally got to the point that I started taking a few hours of leave in the afternoon and meet them there at the hospital. I would make sure to where my VARO badge and then check to see how long they had been waiting and then try to use my meager influence (the badge!) just to try to hurry things along. I do know a lot of the complaining you here is because of the sometimes idiotic rules and regs with the VA. I know for myself whenever I saw a congress critter on tv complaining about the problems with VA I always wanted to shout out “Well change the damned regs to make things faster and easier and we’ll follow them!”.

Fredster, didn’t you & I really start becoming buddies over at Uppitys, talking about getting aid & attendance pensions for our folks? That was years ago!!! 🙂

@16: yep I believe we did Annie. LOL!

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar