The Widdershins

Saturday Light Fare

Posted on: April 19, 2014

Celebration of the Passion at St Josephs Abbey

Celebration of the Passion at St Josephs Abbey

The credit of the photo actually reads:
As the holy cross is shrouded in incense smoke, worshipers pray during the celebration of the Lord’s Passion at St. Joseph Abbey near Covington Good Friday, April 18, 2014. (Photo by David Grunfeld, NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune)

With its large Catholic population, there were many observances made on Good Friday in New Orleans.  There were obviously many church services like the one above and also there were several groups who did Stations of the Cross Processions.  I just thought the picture was pretty so I decided to use it.

Holy Saturday it may be, but let’s take a look at some of the oddball things I’ve come across and as usual, some youtube videos that I thought were cute or amusing.

I, Hobby Lobby, have strong religious beliefs
but don’t let them get in the way of my retirement plans

Yes, we all know that the Green family which owns Hobby Lobby feels that having to provide some types of contraception coverage in their health plans is against their religious beliefs.  They said that having to provide coverage for “emergency contraception” was a violation of said beliefs.  That being said though, it sure didn’t stop them from spending lots of money on retirement funds that included investing in companies that manufacture those  very same products.  Hypocrites much?

Several of the mutual funds in Hobby Lobby’s retirement plan have stock holdings in companies that manufacture the specific drugs and devices that the Green family, which owns Hobby Lobby, is fighting to keep out of Hobby Lobby’s health care policies: the emergency contraceptive pills Plan B and Ella, and copper and hormonal intrauterine devices.

These companies include Teva Pharmaceutical Industries, which makes Plan B and ParaGard, a copper IUD, and Actavis, which makes a generic version of Plan B and distributes Ella. Other stock holdings in the mutual funds selected by Hobby Lobby include Pfizer, the maker of Cytotec and Prostin E2, which are used to induce abortions; Bayer, which manufactures the hormonal IUDs Skyla and Mirena; AstraZeneca, which has an Indian subsidiary that manufactures Prostodin, Cerviprime, and Partocin, three drugs commonly used in abortions; and Forest Laboratories, which makes Cervidil, a drug used to induce abortions. Several funds in the Hobby Lobby retirement plan also invested in Aetna and Humana, two health insurance companies that cover surgical abortions, abortion drugs, and emergency contraception in many of the health care policies they sell.

And some more of the hypocrisy here:

The Green’s contention that the pills cause abortions is a central pillar of their argument for gutting the contraception mandate. Yet, for years, Hobby Lobby’s health insurance plans did cover Plan B and Ella. It was only in 2012, when the Greens considered filing a lawsuit against the Affordable Care Act, that they dropped these drugs from the plan.

Okay, this ain’t light fare but when I read this I couldn’t help but LMAO, so yes I’ll put it in my light fare post.  You know how it goes:  My post – my rules.     😉

Like Horton Hears a Who
Ted Cruz is going to write a book

Please note that the link is coming from the Washington Examiner, which comes from the same folks who give us The Weekly Standard.  Just giving fair warning here.

Apparently there was a bidding war for the good Senator’s tripe, uh “memoirs”.  Seems that HarperCollins was the winner (?) of the war, offering $1.5 million for the thoughts of the 43 year old Junior Senator from Texas.

The book, still untitled and unwritten, will be part memoir and part Cruz’s view of how to get Washington to work again as well as his vision of the future for the country. The 43-year-old has quite a story to tell, being the first Hispanic to serve as Texas solicitor general and as Texas’ senator. Elected in 2012, he has also been in the middle of several major fights in Washington, including last year’s government shutdown and the continued efforts to repeal and replace Obamacare.

Far be it from me to tell anyone what to read but is there really that much interest or a market in the “continued efforts to repeal and replace Obamacare”?  What are we talking about here?  A couple of hundred deluded Representatives in the House pass a bill that says “Obamacare:  Be gone!”.  They keep doing this over and over.  The bill will never even be heard in the Senate and the President would veto said bill anyway even if it did pass the Senate.  But, I guess it will sell in certain markets.  Oy!

 

 The itsy-bitsy spider

Likes to crawl into the gas tank.  At least into certain models of Mazda automobiles.  It seems the yellow sac spider just has a thing for the smell of gasoline and can easily get into certain parts of the engine in the Mazda6 model.  Once it’s in there it weaves a web that blocks a certain vent.  Mazda advised regulators that it is recalling 42,000 sedans with 2.5-liter engines from model years 2010 to 2012 in the United States and here’s what they say it does:

The web weaved by a spider can lead to a restriction of fuel flow, which in turn can reduce fuel tank pressure when the emission control system purges vapors from the evaporative canister. This can put stress on the fuel tank, which may crack and leak fuel, increasing the risk of a fire, a report filed with NHTSA says.

Mazda said it is not aware of any fires because of this risk.

My general rule of thumb with spiders is that if I see one I smush it or spray it.

Some assorted youtubes

A good example of inertia.  Inertia = the resistance of any physical object to any change in its state of motion. In other words, it is the tendency of objects to keep moving in a straight line at constant linear velocity.  In this case a ship lost power in Hong Kong and a sea wall at a sports complex was the only thing that stopped it.

Tomorrow is Easter Sunday and I don’t know about these days, but previously, parents just loved to give their kids baby chicks at Easter.  This is probably not the way to take care of the chicks although this pupper seems to be handling it well.

Okay, this one is just sooo cute.  Emma and Cinnamon, or as Emma says “cimin” or something like that.

Lastly, no more selfies if you are as clueless as this guy and I’m sure y’all have seen this one.  If you haven’t seen it, consider this a P.S.A.

Okay Widdershins, this is an open thread.  Tell me below what’s going on in your world today, that is if anyone stops by today!

 

 

 

 

18 Responses to "Saturday Light Fare"

Color me surprised, but I’m amazed that Canadian Ted Cruz would settle for just a mere $1.5 Million and a single volume to constitute his memoirs and a world view from his lower intestinal tract. I’m sure the various authors of the biographies of Joe McCarthy will audit the finished product for “lifting” of large passages of content.

As for the kid getting kicked in the head, he should probably make that a regular occurrence just not around a railroad track.

Color me unsurprised that the Greens do not fiscally practice what they morally preach.

Color me wondrous that anyone showed up today! 😆

Prolix I know you’re probably already gone but perhaps Cruz sees this as a work in progress and it will be like the Robert Caro books on LBJ.

@chat: I really, really, really wish that would be taken into the Supremes’ decision making process on the case but I know it won’t be. However i do think it would be fair that the judges look at the fact that Hobby Lobby had previously covered some of these meds and it wasn’t until after the ACA was passed that they found these “beliefs” about those meds.

Damn! The White House won’t take any action on the “Deport Justin Bieber” petition on the White House website.

@5: {{{Sigh.}}} We lost the hockey game. He’s ours, fair and square.

@6: I guess there’s still a chance he’ll do something so fubar that it crosses the line legally enough (felony?) to get tossed out. We can only hope.

I have my first smart phone LOL finally joined the 21st century its got internet and everything…I can also text too. I just took my first selfie and posted it to Facebook. Have a great Hillary Clinton Pic as my wallpaper

Hey Fuzzy!! Congrats on the new phone. Just be careful that you don’t go over the limits on your data package. It *can* happen and I can attest to that. 😉

Poor Dustin my flat mate is trying to get me up to speed on this thing errr phone darn it I have to have it recharged now

I will watch out for that

fuzzy@10: Hell I’ve not used half the features on mine. I had to download the manual and when I did and saw it was 200 pages I just said “Aw shite!” If I want to do something and don’t know how, *then* I’ll look in the manual. LOL!!

I have a pink princess phone. I call people with it or they call me. It’s like magic or something.

{{{{Beata!!}}}}

I call people with it or they call me.

Yeah, that’s about all I use mine for too.

LOL Ladies Gay men have turned there phones to AI Personal assistants from what I understand. Wait pink princess phone you mean like Nancy Pelosi’s? in Madamab’s plays?

“Princess” phones were popular in the 1950’s and 60’s. Mine is pink.

I mean the 1960’s and 70’s. I got my decades mixed up.

I’m floating!

Fuzzy said: Gay men have turned there phones to AI Personal assistants from what I understand

Ok Fuzzzy, stay away from the Grindr app! 😉

Beata said: I’m floating!

I try to do that too. I have meds that help sometimes. LOL!!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Hurricane Harvey support/donations***

Quick links for donations.

Charity Navigator **does** give their ratings/evaluations of the organizations.

Charity Navigator Harvey Page:

Charity Navigator – Harvey

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

What Cassidy/Graham bill would do: