The Widdershins

Congratulations Women – It’s your month!

Posted on: March 12, 2014

320px-Stamp-US-1970-Woman-Suffrage-2-f6634

A stamp issued in 1970 marking the 50th anniversary
of the 20th Amendment

Good afternoon women Widdershins and the guys too.  I was surprised to find out that March is Women’s’ History Month here in the U.S.  Color me surprised to say the least.  I could say that probably it hasn’t been on the news due to the situation in Ukraine or even the Malaysian airliner that’s missing, but hey, you know as well as I do that that would most likely be a big, fat, ole fib.  Nah, it’s much more likely that the producers of the national news show figure they’ll find 30 seconds somewhere between now and the end of the month to mention it.

Over at Americablog, I saw that John Aravosis put up a post on Women’s History Month and was surprised to find out that waaay back in 1915, there was a woman, Alice Duer Miller, who was a “feminist” writer for the New York Tribune.  Aravosis further found out that some of Miller’s works are in the Library of Congress and can be read online!  Miller wrote one piece called “Are Women People”, which you can read at the Library of Congress, by going here.    She wrote one piece titled “Why we oppose votes for men.  Here’s a copy of it:

why-we-oppose-votes-for-men

Another is titled “Why We Oppose Women Traveling in Railway Trains:

why-women-shouldnt-be-permitted-to-ride-trains

And finally one titled Why We Oppose Pockets for Women

why-women-shouldnt-have-pockets

I especially liked numbers 5 and 6!   😆

I’ll grant you that these are definitely not what we could call “enlightened” views today, but I did find it interesting that a woman was even given a venue to write about these things considering this was in 1915.

Also, if you would like to check further into the suffrage movement, you can find more information and resources at the Library of Congress by going here.  There is also a link to other works and topics about women in America by going to this link.

Here is a link to the National Women’s History Project which I found interesting.  Also, there is information at the Smithsonian online which you can see here.  And finally, here is a link to the National Women’s History Museum.

Alright ladies, this may be a short post, but I hope you find the links worth checking out.  I enjoyed reading them as I was getting the links to create the post.  There is a wealth of interesting information there. I’ll close my post with an image I found and then was able to find a performance of the piece on youtube, performed, naturally, by a woman!

Suffragette_Waltz

This is an open thread.

13 Responses to "Congratulations Women – It’s your month!"

Women’s History Month? I just looked it up, apparently its new & Obama “proclaimed” it:

http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2014/03/01/presidential-proclamation-womens-history-month-2014

I guess its ok. Maybe kids will learn a little about the different women’s movements at school or on the History Channel.

We watched the movie 42 last nite. God, its amazing how much things have changed since our parents were born. We are having a hellacious windstorm here. Ick. Would rather have rain! Happy Humpday everyone.

Hey annie! When I went to the L.o.C. site and read some more of Alice Miller’s writings, I realized she was writing satire (or at least I hope she was) ! To be honest I’m not sure if Nat’l Women’s History Month is new or not. When I started to add the tags for the post, it looked like that tag was already in there, so I’m not sure, but maybe they will cover it on the news sometime this month!

@2, If Fox covers it, the headline will be: Obamacare causes women to believe they are so special, they have declared March Women’s Month, when March should be the month women are marching to repeal Obamacare.

Every story must begin and end with Obamacare — no matter subject or verse.

I’ve been expecting today a Fox Breaking News report: Obamacare causes Spanish Harlem building to explode and the residents were without insurance because of Obamacare.

See how it works — I need to send a resume to Fox.

Well it looks like Mr. Aravosis decided to not allow me to link to his images. Sooooo I’ll go there and download them and put them in here. 👿 It’s not like I didn’t give him credit.

So Mr. Aravosis, done and done. I’ve added back the images. I really ought to take out the h/t to him.

Prolix@3: I guess you saw where WaPo discredited the claim of the woman with cancer who said her premiums and other costs (out of pocket) were “unaffordable” under obamacare, compared to her former plan.

WaPo checked and found out that was not quite true.

Before her plan was canceled, Boonstra was paying a $1,100 monthly premium. That’s $13,200 a year, without adding out-of-pocket expenses like co-pays and prescription drugs. But under her new plan, the Blue Cross Premier Gold, Boonstra’s premiums are down to $571 a month, and out-of-pocket costs are capped at $5,100. That’s a maximum annual expense of $11,952 a year.

According to The Detroit News, Boonstra said it “can’t be true” that her new coverage is cheaper than her old.

“I personally do not believe that,” Boonstra said.

So what the hell do you do with someone who has a serious disease and refuses to believe the facts when they are pointed out to her? Simply incredible.

Fredster, there are so many people like her.

annnie@7: Someone at the HuffPo piece said now they were all “math deniers”. I’m more than certain the Kock uh Koch Bros would be more than happy to let her die for the cause but I’d be damned if I would!

The WaPo piece said she mentioned something about what if she needed a bone marrow transplant which would cost $350,000. However, it wouldn’t cost her that because her OOP (out of pocket) expenses would be capped for the year. DUH!!!

After a little bit more research, WaPo decided to give her story 3 Pinocchios instead of the original 2.

Speaking of the ACA, i wonder if DYB was able to get in touch with his insurance company to get some info on his plan and to get his i.d. card with them?

Hey hey! Great post, and I loved the satire! Thank you Fredster. I feel bad that I didn’t write anything about Black History Month in February, but that always gets a lot more attention in the media than Women’s History Month.

This designation is not a creation of The One! (Don’t give him the credit, please. :-))The idea was germinated back in 1980 with President Jimmy Carter, who declared Women’s History Week from 3/2 – 3/8, culminating on International Women’s Day. From there, the idea grew and Congress ratified March as Women’s History Month in 1987. (During the Raygun Administration, no less! A small gleam of light in the Randian darkness.)

MB@10: Hey! Thanks, and thanks for the info. And isn’t it wonderful that they gave y’all an entire week at first! That’s so bizarre that the congress critters made it an entire month back in Raygun’s day. Now if the media would just do something in the news with it. I mean, I have the network news on in the background often, but I don’t recall seeing anything about it. 👿

I’m off to the LoC to read everything I can find by Alice Miller! What a gem. I was rolling on the figurative floor. She wrote in 1915, no less. The MSM these days wouldn’t go near anything that subversive. We’re going backward, but it was still great to be introduced to her.

quixote@12 said: She wrote in 1915, no less.

That was the incredible thing to me. She was able to write those things and get them printed back then!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed