The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Movies: The Cold War

Posted on: March 2, 2014

Good Sunday, Widdershins.

It’s been a number of years since the nation obsessed with Russian incursions, but we find ourselves at it again with the current troop movement into Ukrainian territory.  I am dizzy trying to figure my way through treaties, acts of Parliament, and who is actually in charge.

While this all clears up, we might reflect on some of the great films made about the Cold War.  Some remarkable cinema that revolved around the CW and it’s spies was filmed between the mid-Fifties  and  the present.  A few have actually been remade, but I seem to prefer the originals every time.

So, Widdershins, make some popcorn, pour yourself a libation, and post about films or anything else  you might like.  And for those North of me, bundle up.

This is an open thread.

(1) Fail Safe – 1964

(2) Thirteen Days – 2000

(3) Charlie Wilson’s War – 2007

(4) On the Beach – 1959

(5) The Manchurian Candidate – 1962

13 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Movies: The Cold War"

@4 You hit the jackpot on that selection, Chat. No matter how many times I see it, Ava Gardner just breaks me down. Love that woman.

I have a couple here. Ignore the title there.

Might be the same movie but you have to have Major Kong.

“The Day After, tv movie.

Long clip, “The Russians are coming, the Russians are coming!”

All excellent choices.

I remember watching that TV movie and thinking “Put me right underneath one of the bombs”. I wouldn’t want to be a survivor, if you could call it that.

Oh this is incredible! Taking your photo with the Russian soldiers?

Read some of the comments there too.

Not certain that these folks wish to be saved.

@9: No, I think that’s around the area in Ukraine where they identify more with Russia.

Looking here, I don’t see where there is much we can do militarily. I think the closest we could get ships would be the Mediterranean and then we’d probably have to get permissions to fly over other countries to get to the Ukraine.

@12 Putin is wrong, but do we really want to get in a war with him? That gives me the chills-makes me feel like we’re headed for the Day After. Nobody controls Vladimir Putin. Just imagine if we had Cheney or some like-minded warmongering repub in office-they could set off a nuclear war.

@Mary Luke: but Ukraine is a NATO member and there is the agreement that if a member country is attacked, NATO is supposed to respond.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph