The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday: Musical Bridges

Posted on: January 12, 2014

Good Sunday, Widdershins.

The last few days have been filled with conversations regarding the George Washington Bridge debacle.  In this spirit, I offer today’s musical concept of songs with the word “bridge” in the title.  There are more of them than you think, and span the generations nicely.  Also acceptable are songs about bridges, and songs by artists with “bridge” in the name.  I’m listing my selections below, and I know that you will have no trouble whatsoever adding a bunch more in this otherwise open thread.

(1) The Worst That Could Happen – Brooklyn Bridge

(2) Ode to Billy Joe – Bobbie Gentry

(3) Brothers Under the Bridge –  Bruce Springsteen

(4) Water Under the Bridge – Dan Seals

(5) Colonel Bogey March  –  Mitch Miller and the Orchestra

Have a great day, y’all.

12 Responses to "Lazy Sunday: Musical Bridges"

Sorry I’m late y’all. Had a few irons in the fire today.

Fredster, re our conversation last nite, I would like a new fresh team myself. Hubbie realized this morning that if the nines and chargers both win we would have a California Super Bowl, which would be interesting to us! Doesn’t look like the Chargers are going anywhere though.

annie@5: Well that would be nice but don’t see league expansion any time soon.

No, the Chargers aren’t doing too well right now against Denver and Peyton.

@6: ANd Knowshon. (Yes, I am a homer.)

Ahem. Has everyone forgotten the 59th Street Bridge Song?

I don’t know why but I thought you had Bridge over troubled waters in your list. Duh!!!!

Nope. :Left that one open

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job