The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: The End Is Nigh

Posted on: December 29, 2013

Good Sunday, Widdershins,

It’s almost over.  The year that began with such promise and played through in such a lackluster fashion will quickly be in the rear view mirror.  Let’s look ahead just a wee bit here, and celebrate the beginning of the end of 2013.

Feel free to post whatever you like that speaks to the end pf the year. There are songs with “old”, songs with “end”. and songs with :finished” in the title.  There are songs that simply sum up how you are feeling about this rather disappointing year.  If it makes you feel better and ready for the new year, I’m good with it.

Here are my selections.  Please add yours to this otherwise open thread.

(1)  Same Auld Lang Syne – Dan Fogleberg

(2) Another One Bites the Dust – Queen

(3) Over Under Sideways Down – The Yardbirds

(4) Over You = Gary Puckett and the Union Gap

(5) Starting All Over Again – Mel and Tim

12 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: The End Is Nigh"

C’mon Atl-Dirty Birds! Be the spoilers I know you can be! Put a beatin’ on Carolina!!

After clawing their way back in, and playing thru the Jonathan Martin upheaval, my ‘Phins are going to lose to the Jets and miss the playoffs. I just can;t watch any more.

And the dirty birds let me down. 😦
So, it’s up to Brees, Jimmy Graham and the rest of the guys to win and *maybe* back in to the playoffs.

Chat, did I forget to mention how much I loved the Huron Carol on Christmas? Things got a little hectic here with the blocked pipe in the kitchen, so I might have forgotten. I don’t know how I could have not heard that carol before. I love Christmas carols and have a book of them.

The Huron Carol is one of my favorites.

Sorry I didn’t contribute musically today; too many games on teevee.

Good point about this year being lackluster. I enjoyed your song selection, especially the Yardbirds. Laker is always interested in them since they had Clapton, Page & Beck as guitar players (not at the same time!). Fredster, also enjoyed your Sat post.

My family are all giddy about the Seahawks, and we like them too becuz of Pete Carroll. I hope they don’t choke in the playoffs, as the Seattle teams all have a habit of doing.

Share your love for the Yardbirds, but not for Pete Carroll. However, best to the Seahawks otherwise,

LOL! My fam all live in Washington now, my mom moved up there in the 80s and my sibs migrated up one by one. 😦 What is the deal with PC? Was he a FL or Dawgs coach? I really don’t know much about football. Also, surprised to see you so late! Hope you are ok.

Actually, my brother does not root for the Seahawks at all. He still roots for the niners or raiders, for whatever weird reason.

Nope to both on Pete Carroll. Just a garden variety jerk who bailed out and left his program to face the music.
Just not sleeping well this week. This will pass. soon I hope.

Well I’m not rooting for the Seahawks! The Saints won today so if we get past Philly in the cold we may have to play them again. Been working on the post for today and also watching the Breaking Bad marathon. Obviously I’ll be sleeping in today. 😆

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!