The Widdershins

SATURDAY LIGHT FARE

Posted on: November 30, 2013

man crying

Yes Fredster is shedding some tears here along with our chat I’m sure, as the regular season of college football comes to an end.  LSU played their last game Friday against Arkansas for “the boot”, a gold-plated trophy in the shape of Louisiana and Arkansas.  LSU won the game, but my God was it ugly.  What can I say though, because it was a win and if the Tigers are lucky enough to win their bowl game that will give them a 10 and 3 season; nothing to sneeze at.  The rest of the SEC will play today except for Ole Miss and Mississippi State who played Thanksgiving night.  However, as chat reminded me, we still have the bowl games to go through.  🙂  So with that said let’s take a look at some of the things I’ve found that were amusing, odd, or otherwise interesting.

Okay this is an older one

I’ve had this bookmarked for awhile…perhaps because I wanted to avoid using it?  Anyway, what could be worse than the HoneyBoo Boo clan or the Kardashian clan?  Why the melding of the two into the Katrashaian Clan!  Oh Miz Pat where are you?

Here’s Mama June and her band of deep fried balls of butter as Lucifer’s favorite whores the Kardashians.

Uncle Poodle and Mama June are Kim, Honey Boo Boo is Pimp Mama Kris, Chubbs is Khloe, Chickadee is Kourtney, Sugar Bear is Bruce and Pumpkin is Scott Isadick.

If the Kardashians had souls, had butter running through their veins instead of the black blood of Satan and were filled with cheese balls instead of Botox, this is exactly what they would look like. It’s perfect and a million times better than the real thing. If being the Sketti Sauce Queen of Georgia doesn’t work out for Mama June, she should be Kim Kardashian’s double. If she perfected the whole “dead-eyed whore” look, she’d be a dead ringer.

And yes indeed, here they are:

There’s nothing else I can add to this and now I can delete the link!

But I’m not done with the Kardashians!

It seems that Kim K. decided to hold an ebay auction of some of her clothes with the announcement that “a portion” of the proceeds would go to help the people in the Philippines who were affected by the typhoon that hit.

“Hi guys, this is a very special auction because a portion of the proceeds of my eBay auction are going to International Medical Corps, a nonprofit organization that provides critical health services on remote islands where families are struggling to access medical care and basic resources like food, clean drinking water and vital medications,” she explained.

“The proceeds will go directly to the communities they’re serving in the Philippines and will help typhoon survivors get access to medical care and ultimately save lives,” she noted before adding, “My prayers and thoughts are with those affected by the typhoon. Check out my eBay auction here and support those who need our help in the Philippines.

What she didn’t disclose was that she was going to donate a lousy ten percent of the proceeds to this nonprofit.  Grrr!!!  If we don’t hear from Pat, I do hope that Socalannie will give us a comment since she’s actually been, like, up close and personal (within the same room) with them.  Bleh!

 Puhleeze say it ain’t so!!

Geez, I didn’t even know he was a grandfather, but Mick Jagger is about to become a great-grandfather!  😯

Jagger’s daughter Jade says that her own 21-year-old daughter Assisi is due to give birth in early 2014.

The 70-year-old Rolling Stones frontman has seven children and four grandchildren. Jade Jagger told the paper that the new milestone doesn’t seem like such a huge deal to him now. “I think making Mick a grandfather obviously had a big impact whereas, now, making him a great-grandfather is no longer particularly fascinating,” she said. “My dad has always been great at keeping the family together and having those important moments – Christmas parties, his birthday. We’ll be spending New Year’s Eve together, nearly all of us [in Mustique].”

Sheesh!  I sorta feel like I should go pick out my urn now!

I’m sure you’re tired of Black Friday stories

However, I have to admit this one is kind of cute as far as they go.  Annie Luck lives in Anchorage Alaska, not exactly known for balmy temperatures in November.  She was shopping for her three teenaged sons and saw some things at Best Buy that looked pretty good.  So Annie was there at Best Buy Wednesday at 4:00 pm.  Now she was no “dummy” so to speak.  She wore “five pairs of pants and five shirts to stay warm in 16-degree temperatures.”.  But Annie wasn’t going to be encamped in line at the store.  Annie had a better idea:

The 53-year-old Anchorage woman set up a lawn chair at 4 p.m. Wednesday, local time, to stake out first place in line for the opening of Best Buy 26 hours later. She spent part of Wednesday night sleeping in her car. A dummy in a face mask and construction hat held her place.   She figured she could save $1,100 by getting to the store early for two laptop computers and three iPods.

I’m just wondering what the person behind her, the 2nd in line felt about the dummy occupying space?

A few youtube videos

These two fellows were down under in Oz, when what pops up on their windshield but a red-bellied black snake, a poisonous critter native to Australia.  There are two clips and there is profanity in them.

Part One:

And part two:

Again, sorry about the profanity but these two guys were hilarious!

From Americablog:

A guy on a motorcycle goes 300kph (184mph) on the Germany autobahn (their federal expressway), and then you see him pull into the right lane to let some guy pass him, because you wouldn’t want the slow guy, going nearly 200 miles an hour, to cause a traffic jam.

Watch the speedometer on the motorcycle.  You can get some clear looks at it.  You can see where he drops down to 180 kph and then accelerates back up.  Yikes!  Oh I checked and 288 kph = 178.9 mph.  And your Fredster here freaks when he gets on I-65 and folks are doing 75-80 passing me by.  LOL!

Okie-doke that’s it for today.  Let me know below how your day is going.  I’ll be watching some college football trying to catch as many games as possible.

27 Responses to "SATURDAY LIGHT FARE"

Fredster, somehow the dummy waiting in line symbolizes the whole stupid “black Friday” mess. A completely media invented event. I suspect if we never had cable t.v., most of the public would never have known that corporate auditors called the day after Thanksgiving “black Friday”. And really, if you have to wait till late November to be showing a profit, should you be in business?

if you have to wait till late November to be showing a profit, should you be in business?

Agree with you totally. I have panic or anxiety attacks when I get in large crowds that just sort of engulf you so I avoid the mess entirely.

I don’t know if I’ve shared this story or not, but one year I wanted to get a couple of things for the parents that were at a dept store in nola at one of the bigger malls. I got to a stoplight about a block away from the mall and looked over, saw the parking lot was just jammed and ended up making a u turn and headed back. There was no way in hell I was going to put myself into that swarm of folks! This was waaay before the advent of online shopping. I think I got them two other gifts of some type if I recall.

OMG, take a look at this: People in West Memphis Arkansas were fighting each other over towel sets that were on sale at a Walmart. 😯

I think this is from the Walmart in question.

And another one.

http://instagram.com/p/hR9LOKQUq5#

@2 Fredster, I have done that mall turn-around too. I am wondering just what, psychologically, is going on here. Media hype alone couldn’t bring about this behavior? Do we have any resident shrinks here who might comment?

Maybe Chat, she’s a nurse, and nurse’s have to be psychiatrists most of the time.

I mean, on a psychosocial level, what do these behaviors say about the individuals engaging in them, and our society publicizing them as if this, on some level, is a really good thing.

OMG! I am a wreck. (tee-hee.) ML, I’ll be back in a few.

Good post, Fredster. I don’t understand the whole Black Friday craze. I have those panic attacks in crowds, too.

They must really love their towel sets in West Memphis! Who knew?

IU just beat Purdue in the annual Old Oaken Bucket rivalry game. Yay! PU stinks!!! Now we’re watching the Notre Dame-Stanford game.

Annie, I hope the UCLA-USC game is a good one. My grandparents lived in Pasadena when I was growing up. We visited them there in the summertime. My aunt graduated from UCLA and was a cheerleader for the Bruins. I guess I should root for UCLA but I don’t really have a dog in that hunt so may the best team win!

I hope all the Widdershins had a good Thanksgiving and are enjoying a fun weekend.

chat: I didn’t get to see the end of yours for watching the Bama and Auburn game. AUBURN WON!! Take that you lil prick Nickie Saban! Hahahahahahahhahahaaaa!!!!

Congrats Beata on the I.U. game and good luck to USC Annie!

Beata said: They must really love their towel sets in West Memphis! Who knew?

I’ve seen the towels at Wally-world and they must have really changed something in the quality for them to be fought over!

@5: Mary Luke, Bostonboomer at Skydancing has a PhD in psychology. Maybe she can explain the behavior. My guess would be some kind of mob mentality. I try to avoid malls in general but especially at this time of year.

@8: We watched the end of that Auburn game. Wow, that was really something!

I have those panic attacks in crowds, too.

Isn’t it great to start hyperventilating in the middle of a crowd and you feel like everything is closing in on you?

Beata: What I loved was that Saban argued for that extra second, he got it an went for the field goal but with a different kicker and it fell short so the Aubie player was able to return it! So, no Bama in the SEC championship game and they will surely fall from their #1 spot in the BCS.

@13: Oh, yeah. The first time I had one I thought I was dying. Now that I understand what they are, they don’t bother me quite as much.

Yep, that was me too. Thought it was the mother of all heart attacks. Mine are mostly controlled now with two meds.

I’m back. I think that the whole mall phobia thing is that we just don;t want to spend all that time getting from point a to point b. We have better things to do Not to mention, I am slight;y claustrophobic and can live without the crowds

chat@17: Congrats on the game. I had to stop switching over to yours when y’all went to o.t. and when I went back after the Bama game, your game was over.

We have better things to do

True. And I’ve never understood what people get out of battling through a mob of folks who are pushing and grabbing and snatching at things just because of a sale.

I’ve only ever gone out on Black Friday twice, Once was to pull up tp the curb and let my daughter out, then circle the parking lot until she was out, and pick her back up. Repeat as needed. I went a few years ago because one of the local craft stores had a Cricut machine, which is a little die-cutter used in scrapbooking, and I knew that my daughter really wanted one. It was less than half price.
As far as my game goes, I am still breathing into a paper bag.

As far as my game goes, I am still breathing into a paper bag.

Cocktail time!

My poor Dawgs have had so many injuries to deal with, We’ve had teams that were more storied, but this group has shown more heart than any that I can recall.

@Beata: Love it!!

@21: When I caught part of the Ga game y’all had zip for a score and it just looked awful. Then when I got back to it later you guys had the lead in o.t. but I missed the final part of the game.

It was awful until the 3rd quarter. New QB had a serious case of the yips.

Was just watching the news/sports after the games. Time to cheer on Mizzou now. LOL

Annie, sorry about the loss with USC. Coach O is still a good guy though.

15 | Beata
November 30, 2013 at 7:55 pm

@13: Oh, yeah. The first time I had one I thought I was dying. Now that I understand what they are, they don’t bother me quite as much.

I had panic attacks in my late twenties, early thirties. Being unable to take a full breath is just horrible: I, too, thought I was dying.
Later, I was diagnosed with asthma, but it was most likely some kind of pre-emphysema since I was almost a three pack a day smoker!
I gave up smoking and the attacks stopped. Today, if I feel my chest tightening, I breathe into a paper bag–it works.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed