The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: Really, Really, Old School. Really.

Posted on: November 17, 2013

Good Sunday, Widdershins. Today is the official end of my middle-aged years. Tomorrow, I turn 65.  I’m not really whining, as I consider aging to be better than the obvious alternative, but I am now. officially.  oooooooooold.

Oh, I really should not complain.  I would not have grown up in any other time or place in history.  I witnessed some amazing changes in American life, law, customs, and social norms and mores.  It was quite a ride going from the days of June Cleaver all the way to Woodstock,  and I learned a lot along the road.  The years since 1948 have been transformative, and I’m delighted to have been even a tiny part of the changes that have come about.

There’s been a good deal of music written about age, aging, and old folks.  I must have found fifty or more while researching this piece,  and I’ve listed my favorites below.  Please join my pity party pre-celebration of the “Big 65” by posting music or anything else that strikes your fancy in this wide open thread.

(1) Don’t Blink – Kenny Chesney (2007)

(2) Both Sides Now – Judy Collins, 1969

(3) Touch of Grey – Grateful Dead, 1987

(4) My Generation – The Who, 1965

(5) Too Old to Rock ‘n’ Roll, Too Young to Die – Jethro Tull, 1976

(6) Forever Young – Rod Stewart, 1988

19 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: Really, Really, Old School. Really."

Ahem! Misery loves company.

Look chat…”they” keep saying that 60 is the new 40, whatever that means, so you’re only 45.

Well the Saints are on now, but I’ll be back!

I’m already 64.

Closet thing I could find.

A happy song for what I hope will be a happy birthday, Chat.

Nice song Beata!

@7:Well, it is close.
@8: Thanks, Beata.

Fredster @2: yep, we all gotta keep telling ourselves that!

Good choice Beata. Also love touch of grey.

Aww, Happy Birthday Chat! And many many many many more to come!

Happy Birthday, Chat!

I have an hour and 48 minutes left prior to the onset of my golden years.

15 minutes left.

Ten more minutes.

Hello, old age. It’s me.

Not to worry. The best is yet to come…

Congrats, chatblu!
I’m only two years behind you.

What Beata said @17.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job