The Widdershins

SATURDAY LIGHT FARE

Posted on: November 16, 2013

tomato soup grilled cheese

tomato soup and grilled cheese

Good Saturday to you Widdershins!  The pic above is an image of what I had for dinner last night.  We had two nasty nights this week where the temps went down to the 20s and Friday was dreary, rainy and in the 50s so I thought some nice comfort food would hit the spot.  It did.  In fact it hit that spot so well I had to fix myself a second grilled cheese sandwich!  Okay so let’s take a look at some of the lighter things that caught my eye on the internet lately.

Some guys have all the luck

It’s simply not fair I tell you…NOT FAIR!  Joseph Palmarchuk likes to play the lottery.  And apparently he’s quite good at it if indeed there is a skill involved.  You see, Joseph played a lottery game some years ago in Tennessee and won a million dollars.  Then, recently in Michigan he played again and won Michigan’s Classic Lotto 47 game to the tune of $1.35 million dollars!  So, does he have a system or something you may ask?  Nope, Joseph “says he likes to buy lottery tickets that retailers put aside as mistakes.”.  Oh geez!  No system, no picking birthday dates, a house number or anything like that.  Joseph just grabs the leftovers!  Asked what they were going to do with the money, “The Palmarchuks plan to hunt for a condominium in a warm state to skip Michigan winters.”.  That’s the ticket Joe, take the money and run.  Just make sure you go to a state that has lottery sales.  😆

Yes, we have no bananas

I saw this article on HuffPo last week.  I dearly love a banana in the morning.  It’s probably the only healthy thing I have for breakfast because after the banana I usually have some toast or a pastry with coffee.  However after reading the article I’ve paid close attention when I go up to that banana bin in the store to pick out about 4 or 5 nice one.

A British family was forced to flee their home in Hampton this week after finding Brazilian wandering spiders on bananas purchased at nearby Sainsbury’s store. According to local reports, Consi Taylor was halfway through eating one of the fruits when she discovered the deadly spiders on the supermarket bananas.

Consi Taylor was getting ready to have a snack of her banana when she noticed a white splotchy area on the fruit.  When she took a closer look she saw it looked like a cocoon that was holding dozens of spiders!

“I had a closer look and was horrified to see they were spiders. They were hatching out on the table, scurrying around on my carpet,” she told The Sun.

The Taylors got a pest control company to identify the spiders and it seems they were Brazilian Wandering Spiders.

Brazilian wandering spiders are native to tropical climates in South America. They are commonly called banana spiders since they tend to live among banana trees and show up in banana shipments from time to time. In 2011, another arachnid, believed to be a Brazilian wandering spider, caused the evacuation of a grocery store in Germany after the creature was spotted under a shelf near a banana delivery.

According to the Guinness Book of World Records, which lists the particular wandering spiders as the most venomous type of spider, a mere 0.006 mg of the arachnid’s venom could kill a mouse.

And here is a picture of one of the nasty little things:

I, for one, have no particular use for spiders.  When I see one I try to introduce them to my foot enclosed in a shoe.  Failing that I like to introduce them to RAID.

Model says boyfriend was particularly clumsy

Well that’s her story and she’s sticking to it.  But it seems that the real story was that model Shadae Scott really stabbed her boyfriend because she was mad at him because his dog ate her pot.

Shadae Scott allegedly slashed her lover, Kevin Wiggins, with a pocket knife on his face, head and hand at 7 p.m. on Sunday.

Cops believe the 26-year-old also kicked her partner out of their Diana Beach apartment and hid all his clothes.

Now, Ms Scott says she pulled out the knife to “protect herself” when *he* stopped **her** from leaving their home.  Said Ms Scott:

He then “kept walking into” the pink blade as they fought over dinner plans, she added.

She was charged with domestic battery and was ordered to stay 500 feet away Kevin.  Somehow I do believe ole Kev will be sure to stay 500 feet away from her!

They say they are tired of the “media” attention

They who you ask.  Why the Kardashians I answer.  Yes it is supposedly true.  Of course I believe this as much as I believe any of them are capable of having a monogamous, long-term relationship with anyone other than themselves.  Nevertheless, here it is:

…lately, the spotlight might be getting a little too hot for the media-savvy reality brood.

Khloé, 29, who’s dealt with headlines about her supposedly rocky marriage to Lamar Odom for much of the year, admitted Thursday that while she’s grateful for her fans, the fame can be a little much.

“Sometimes you’re like, ‘I just don’t want to be bothered by anyone,’ not even a girlfriend,” she told E!. “Sometimes you really just want to lock yourself in a room and have your personal space.”

Interestingly, her comments came on the same day that People reported Khloé and Lamar are seeing a therapist both as a couple and separately.

[snip]

The “Keeping Up With the Kardashians” stars have been in demand for so long that 16-year-old Kylie Jenner revealed on Wednesday that she can’t recall a time when she wasn’t famous.

“I don’t remember how it was before [I was famous] because I was nine when this all started,” Kylie told Us Weekly. “So it’s kind of like I grew up into it. It’s kind of like I don’t know any different.”

[and another snip]

Still, let’s not get crazy. The family that’s responsible for an empire of TV shows, clothing lines, beauty products, and more isn’t planning to fade into the background anytime soon.

Kylie, who’s already a model and clothing designer just like her 18-year-old sister Kendall, explained that she has big plans.

“We’re still working on our PacSun line. We have a jewelry line at Nordstrom and we’re coming out with a book that we’re really excited about,” she said. “I would love to in the future maybe create my own line and branch away from Kendall and continue PacSun.”

The Kardashian’s youngest sis tossed out that she’d also possibly “try acting or something.”

Look at it this way female Widdershins:  You now know what not to buy and where not to buy it.

A couple of youtubes

This was done at a Boston Celtics game and apparently the guy is just dancing with abandon.

Okay this dog has a strange way of going down the stairs.  Now the dog is perfectly fine.  He just has his own particular style of dealing with stairs.

And a final one to go along with the banana story.

And now a poll on the Kardashians.  Vote early and often!

Okay it’s an open thread Widdershins.  Let me know how your day is going in the comments below.

23 Responses to "SATURDAY LIGHT FARE"

Bulldogs just have their own unique style What can I say?

chat: I luv the look he gives his owner after he’s down the stairs and turns around. Sort of like “So??” 😆

it was a helluva game chat. I thought Murray was going to come back one more time. 😦

Tough to do in 25 seconds. I got rather bored with the Marshall story, though. Wonder how many people know why he was dismissed from the team?

Omg. We saw the end of Chats game. Heartbreaking. USC is playing Stanford now, tied in the 3rd. Fredster, do the Tigers play today?

socal: Tigers were off, they play A&M next week. I’m cheering your Trojans right now.

chat: I thought the announcers said something at one time about why he was booted from Ga. Of course you had that winning CBS college duo of announcers. Can’t stand Gary whats-his-name.

Didn;t hear it, only the ongoing mantra of “redemption”, Not that I don’t believe in second chances, I do

I could have misunderstood, plus some of the things you and I talked about, you might have mentioned it.

Big win for Trojans!

Woooohoo Annie! Coach O done good for y’all! Congrats!

I shoulda put that as Coach Oeaux! 😆

Haha! Good one!

Coach Oeaux has been hugging everyone in sight, now he took the sword from the kid that plays the Trojan and held it up in front of the marching band. He certainly goes for the dramatic.

You all may have found your coach after all. Pass that along to Pat Hayden!

Hey annie, I meant to ask: Did you vote in the Kardashian poll?

Yes, I can’t stand them.

annie@17: When i saw that article and bookmarked it, I thought of you and Pat Johnson. LOL!

I really wish I hadn’t read that spiders in a banana story….

DYB!!!! Great to see you again.

DYB@19: Well hello!!!

I’m certainly giving my bananas a “once over” at the store and then tie them up very well in the plastic bag for a day or two. It may hasten the spoilage of the bananas, but I figure the same goes for any spiders also.

yeah but. . .the dark brazilian wandering spider grows to 4-5 inches in length and has the same body characteristics as the north american tarantula. . .so yeah, they were singing about the same spider.

Wonderful blog post. It’s useful information.

Share your thoughts below

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!