The Widdershins

CELEBRATE VETERANS DAY!

Posted on: November 11, 2013

Proud Veteran

I’ll assume we all know that today is Veterans Day and that it is meant to honor those people who have served in our military in service to our country.  However, if you don’t know any of the history of the holiday I’ll include it below.  BTW, I’m taking this from the entry for Veterans Day in wikipedia so if I don’t footnote I’m intending to give proper credit.

Veterans Day is an official United States holiday which honors people who have served in armed service also known as veterans. It is a federal holiday that is observed on November 11. It coincides with other holidays such as Armistice Day and Remembrance Day, which are celebrated in other parts of the world and also mark the anniversary of the end of World War I. (Major hostilities of World War I were formally ended at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, when the Armistice with Germany went into effect.)

Woodrow Wilson was the first to declare a holiday and called it Armistice Day to be celebrated on Nov. 11th, 1919.  Wilson said:

“To us in America, the reflections of Armistice Day will be filled with solemn pride in the heroism of those who died in the country’s service and with gratitude for the victory, both because of the thing from which it has freed us and because of the opportunity it has given America to show her sympathy with peace and justice in the councils of the nations.”

In June 1926, Congress passed a resolution asking President Coolidge to issue another proclamation and observe Nov. 11th with “appropriate ceremonies”.  In 1938 Congress passed an act to make Nov. 11th a legal holiday and to be known as ‘Armistice Day’.

World War II veteran Raymond Weeks from Birmingham, Alabama came up with the idea of honoring all veterans veterans-wordjumbleand not just those died in World War I.  He then met with Gen. Dwight Eisenhower who gave his support to a National Veterans Day.  Mr. Weeks led the first national celebration in Alabama and he did this until his death in 1985.  He was also given the Presidential Citizenship Medal in 1982 by President Reagan who called him the father of Veterans Day.

Originally celebrated on Nov. 11th, the holiday was moved to the fourth Monday in October to be in compliance with the Uniform Monday Holiday Act.  In 1978 it was moved back to the Nov. 11th date.

VeteransDay-1776Now that’s a pretty graphic there and it is appropriate that we honor those who have died but Veterans Day should not be confused with Memorial Day.

Veterans Day is not to be confused with Memorial Day; Veterans Day celebrates the service of all U.S. veterans-who paid pricemilitary veterans, while Memorial Day is a day of remembering the men and women who died while serving

American Women vets

In my family my father served in and was retired from the Army.  The same goes for my step-grandfather.

If you have any stories of veterans in your family share them in the comments below.

I have never heard this one before but I like it.  My father served two tours in Viet Nam.

A song about those veterans who were referred to as “The Greatest Generation”.

This is an open thread.

14 Responses to "CELEBRATE VETERANS DAY!"

I see we’re going to war today on AMC.

Looks like it.

Lovely post Fredster.

My Dad was in the army in WW2, then transferred to army air, then air force after if was created, and left after Korea. He didn’t see any hard action though, I think he was more like the Tony Curtis character in Operation Petticoat. My mom says he was the guy all the women wanted to dance with at all the dances they had back in those days, and he got engaged to his Colonels daughter, while other gals chased after him. He was tall dark & handsome and a superb dancer, my mom says. Eventually, he met my mom and broke up with his fiance, although they didn’t start dating for a while after that, then got married after he was discharged. We gave him a military funeral and it was very nice. My Dad would have loved it.

Did you guys see the typhoon destruction in the Philippines? So sad.

Also, this little nugget about 60 Minutes now infamous Benghazi piece:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/11/60-minutes-benghazi-questions_n_4252057.html

annie@4: Your dad sounds like he was a character! For whatever reason my dad did not want a military funeral. I have no idea why except he just said “no, don’ believe I want that”. We could hardly go against his wishes so he didn’t have one.

The typhoon thing was just horrendous. And that 60 minutes thing did a lot of destruction to CBS’ reputation.

Beautiful song, Fredster, And a very nice post.

Great post, Fredster.

Annie, love the story about your dad.

Most of my family members were in the Navy ( my father and two uncles in WWII, my grandfather in WWI, and two great-uncles in WWI and WWII ) . A second cousin was an Army Colonel ( career military in WWII and later at Los Alamos ), an aunt was an Army nurse in WWII ( stationed in the South Pacific ), and two Choctaw great-uncles served in the Army’s Indian Division in WWI. One of my first cousins was a Marine. I salute them and all our veterans today.

Only the Colonel had a military funeral. He was very dashing. Looked like Montgomery Clift. He was my mother’s favorite cousin. Both he and his wife died quite young from cancer due to radiation exposure at Los Alamos.

Thanks Mary Luke!

Beata: Good grief you definitely had a family who served the country!

Palin babbles on against Obamacare with Matt Lauer. Terribly funny!

http://talkingpointsmemo.com/livewire/sarah-palin-offers-her-obamacare-alternative

Why is she even on the teevee?

Confirmed, it was my Transmission. Estimated cost $ 2200.00 dollars to repair. I have to get this taken care f but tonight Fredster we need to talk I have an Idea for a post. Well I have several. Those naughty Progress-a-bots have been busy over the last 24 to 48 hours.

fuzzy@12: Okay, Shoot me an email and give me a time. I think I know what you’re talking about: some of them are discoveriing a new object of affection. 👿

I’m still awake since I dozed slept thru a lot of the Fins game. At least it didn’t turn out terribly badly!

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.1 years to go.

Mueller Time!

Wise Words from Paul Ryan

Heroine of the Resistance

B-I-N-G-O!

PHONE CONTACT INFO FOR THE DNC:

202-863-8000

TELL PEREZ AND ELLISON HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT BRAZILE NUT!

Storify version of E. Rogers HVF explanation

Reason(s) to vote for Doug Jones