The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: A Round for the House

Posted on: November 3, 2013

Good Sunday, Widdershins.

During The Season, my Saturdays are full, so I tend to do my post Friday Evening.  This particular Saturday is circled in red (and black) annually, as it’s the date of the WLOCP (World’s Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party), when the University of Georgia and the University of Florida meet on (cough, cough) neutral ground in Jacksonville.  My ‘Dawgs will try to field a sufficient number of healthy athletes to wrangle with Fuzzy’s equally banged up Gators.  Only one will emerge victorious, unless the game is called due to an insufficient number of ambulatory players to finish the game/

This is absolutely one of the biggest games of the year to both schools.  Almost every SEC match-up is a border war, but this particular one is of the nuclear variant.  The schools cannot even agree on how many games have been played thus far.

One school will proudly display the Okefenokee Oar for the year, the other will have an empty space in their trophy room.  One Widdershin will be smiling today, the other will be maudlin and philosophical.  One thing is for certain – both will need a stiff drink or two,  Or three, perhaps.  Therefore, I dedicate today to drinking songs.  Mine are listed below, and I look forward to yours in this otherwise open thread.

(1) Chug -a- lug – Roger Miller, 1964

(2) Ten Rounds With Jose Cuervo – Tracy Byrd, 2002

(3) Piano Man – Billy Joel, 1973

(4) Family Tradition – Hank Williams, Jr. 1979

(5) Whiskey in the Jar –  The Dubliners, Celtic traditional

EVERYBODY SING:

24 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: A Round for the House"

Que pasa, Widdershins? Too hung over to participate?

Don’t even dare look into the stats in the dashboard; you’ll be pounding your head against the wall or the keyboard saying “Why?” “Why?”

This is absolutely one of the most depressing things I’ve ever heard in my life!

Ahem…colorful language used.

I never, never look at the stats.

@9: Good thing.

Perhaps everyone is just sluggish with the time change, getting darker sooner….NAH!

Maybe everyone is busy watching this:

’60 Minutes’ to profile Nick Saban on Sunday

My thoughts:

I’ll be watching Indy play Houston.

@12: Don’t blame ya.

Oh this is too funny: Rand Paul wants a shoot-out with Rachel Maddow over the plagiarism thing.

He keeps talking about footnotes and apparently doesn’t seem to realize that lifting whole sections from a site or source is a whole nuther thing completely!

Rachel v Rand? Sounds hilarious! Laker likes the stratocaster swivel stick in the whiskey glass upthread.

So what happened with the games? Hubs says that the Tigers play the Red Tide next Saturday?

Here’s what Rand says in Fredsters link:

“But the difference is, I take it as an insult and I will not lie down and say people can call me dishonest, misleading or misrepresenting,” he
added. “And like I say, if, you know, if dueling were legal in Kentucky, if they keep it up, you know, it would be a duel challenge. But I can’t do that, because I can’t hold office in Kentucky then.”

What an idiot.

btw, you probably won’t see me everyday til end of year. I am working massive hours right now. Don’t worry though, you’re not getting rid of me!

@15: Crimson Tide.

@ 17: Haha! I knew that actually. I call them red tide as a vague insult, as a red tide (algae blooms usually red in color) is a bad thing in the ocean, choking out other life forms. Lame, I know!

annie said: So what happened with the games? Hubs says that the Tigers play the Red Tide next Saturday?

My Tigers and the Tide both had the week off and yes we play each other next week in Tuscaloosa. I’m not even going to hazard a guess as to the game. LSU is a 10 and 1/2 pt underdog, but, we’ve won more than we lost in T’town. I would love for that to happen this time because it would most likely knock Bama out of the BCS game. 🙂

I am working massive hours right now. Don’t worry though, you’re not getting rid of me!

You better not run away from us!!

@18: Crimson tide is a literary reference to menses. Could amything be more insulting than that?

Aw geez. I don’t wanna think about what that means about Big Al.

Monday post is ready, want me to go ahead and release it?

Go for it.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

I’m ready. Are you?

Comments

DYB on Whaddah Week!
DYB on Whaddah Week!
Prolix on Whaddah Week!
NW Luna on Whaddah Week!
NW Luna on Whaddah Week!

Blog Archive

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job