The Widdershins

Lazy Sunday Music: Best Rock Anthems

Posted on: October 20, 2013

Good Sunday, Widdershins.

Today, let’s talk about those rock songs that prompt you to sing along.  The ones that fill the concert hall/car/whatever location with full-throated participation from the listeners. Every generation has them, and some carry over through several.

While researching this, I came up with 35 songs that I consider to be classic for type.  I did a lot of winnowing, and brought it down as far as possible.  You should have absolutely no difficulty thinking up all sorts of tunes here, so post them, and anything else that you like, in this wide open Sunday thread,

(1) We Will Rock You – Queen, 1977

(2) Ohio – Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, 1970

(3) Life’s Been Good to Me This Far – Joe Walsh, 1978

(4) Wild Thing – The Troggs, 1966

(5) Born to Be Wild – Steppenwolf, 1969

(6) Maggie May – Rod Stewart, 1971

(7) Sweet Home Alabama –  Lynyrd Skinner, 1974

17 Responses to "Lazy Sunday Music: Best Rock Anthems"

Sing along and play air-guitar.

“Ramblin’ Man” – The Allman Brothers Band

“Rock’n Me” – The Steve Miller Band

“Old Time Rock and Roll” – Bob Seger

“I Love Rock and Roll” Joan Jett and the Blackhearts.

How could I forget?

Just remember, I could have put the long version here.

Sorry I missed out this weekend. Great old rock tunes.

My god, what a horrible weekend for sports for us Widdershins! Geeze. I didn’t see much of the action due to working all weekend, but our Dodgers & Trojans lost, and hubbie & laker like broncos, who lost, and the fav teams here also I see. Bummer! Laker sends this healing classic:

annie@12: Tell Laker thanks for that healing music. We all needed it after this weekend!

I’m on board with healing.

IU came close to beating Michigan in Ann Arbor for the first time since 1967. The final score doesn’t show how close the game really was. Close but no cigar. I felt so bad for the team.

Check in with the rest of us. I’m in room 21-24.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph