The Widdershins

CHLOE: SHE WAS A DAMN GOOD DOG

Posted on: May 21, 2013

Chloe-looking 001-01

Chloe: 1998 – 2013

As you all may recall, I said last week I would be absent for a bit due to a family illness.  The illness was with my furbaby Chloe and she crossed the Rainbow Bridge last Wednesday.  She was having issues with her liver and I’m not exactly sure what they were.  But they had tried some meds on her and had done a trial of a medicine with her when working with a change of foods didn’t yield any satisfactory results.  She had been at the vet’s office for some time and they called me on the 10th of May to tell me she wasn’t eating and was drinking very little.  I dropped everything and went up there and my girl really didn’t look too good.  She perked up some with me but wasn’t her old self so I decided along with the vet to wait over the weekend to see how she did.  When I went there Monday I had bought a package of sliced American cheese and brought that in with me.  Chloe and I, along with one of the techs were in one of the exam rooms.  I was holding Chloe on the table while the tech opened up the cheese.  That’s all it took!  Man, she went after that cheese like I don’t know what!  The tech had just said she wasn’t eating, but she wolfed down that slice of cheese and continued as fast as the tech (I’m doing a brain-fart on her name right now!) could unwrap those slices.  The tech looked at me and said “Well she’s not eating any of our food!”  We both laughed about it because Chloe had eaten five slices of the cheese.

But it didn’t last.

I was really hoping it might, that by some miracle or such, that sliced American cheese might be the magic elixir to cure old dogs with liver problems.  But it wasn’t.  When I went by the next day, Tuesday, she was back to her very lethargic manner.  When I held her she would just sort of moan or groan.  It didn’t sound like a “hurting” moan but maybe one that was saying “I’m tired.”  She wasn’t eating again and they had had to give her some fluids since she wasn’t drinking much water either.  So I made a decision, with the concurrence of the two vets, that we would send her across the bridge.  I could not do it that day, but said I’d be back the next day, Wednesday, to do what I hoped was the best thing for her.

I got there the next day at around 12:30 because they told me to come between noon and 2: p.m. when they were normally closed for lunch and to do surgeries.  I had a small, miniature quilt which we sometimes put in her bed to cover up with.  I wrapped that around her, put her on the table (after getting some doggie kisses) and we “talked” for a good while.  I told her how much I loved her and was going to miss her.  We talked about the time she “treed” a possum in the back yard which scared me sh!tless when I heard her barking out there that night and it was a “different” bark.  She had the possum backing up toward our fence and she was on the advance.  When I looked at the possum all I saw were teeth and claws and freaked out!  I grabbed her little doxie butt and threw her in the house and went back and turned the hose on the possum.  We talked about “mommy” and “daddy” and I said I hoped she got to see them and give them lots of doggie kisses all over their faces.  I told her how mad she made me with her separation anxiety when she was left alone and took out her vengeance on the kitchen trash can when I had to take the Momster to the doctor.  I told her how she made me chuckle to myself sometimes in the morning, when I got up at 4:30 or 5 for work.  I would go in and pour a cup of coffee, head to the table with it and turn on the tube to catch the news.  Chloe was literally bundled up under any number of towels and such, into a ball that you could just barely make out to be something underneath there.  I would hear a rustling sound and look over.  Soon enough there would be a head that poked out, looked at me as if “oh it’s you” and then just disappear under all of those covers.  Chloe was not an early riser.

I guess we talked about forty minutes or so.  I looked outside the door and caught the doc’s eye and nodded.  He came in and explained that he was going to give her a shot which was an anesthetic and would make her unconscious.  When he gave her that shot I got down right in her face and kept telling her how much I loved her.  Soon she was asleep.  The other vet and two of the techs were there too.  He then gave her the next shot which went quickly to her heart causing a cardiac arrest and it was done.  I spent some more time with her holding her and telling her how much I was going to miss her.  I wrapped her up real snug in her quilt, kissed her and then left.

I have a couple of photos of my girl I’m going to put in here.  One of her favorite pose:  begging.  LOL!  Two pics of her in bed with her “babies”.  One of them is with her monkey which I got one Christmas.  If you squeezed it, the damned thing would sound almost like a chimpanzee and would set Chloe off to no end, with her shaking the hell out of it!  The other pic is of her and her “crockagator” in bed.

Dogs are wonderful creatures.  It’s true that they offer you unconditional love.  They don’t care if you got your behind chewed at work  to the point you wonder about yourself whether you are competent to hold the job you have.  If you have had one of those sh!tty days, when you get home they are there saying “Oh you’re home!  That’s so great!!  I’ve missed you so much!!  Come here so I can give you kisses all over your face cuz you’re the bestest ever!!!”  (that’s all rolled into one excited utterance and bark)

I’ll probably have another dog, but just not right now.  It most probably will be another doxie because I’ve loved Chloe so much.  And I hope I’ll be able to get one from a rescue group.  There are too many out there that need good homes.

Lastly, um, if you don’t mind, please don’t share your experience with a pet loss.  Not today.  I’d like this one to be about me.  I know furbaby losses are rough on everyone who has had a pet but I don’t want to share right now.  I have to pick up her ashes today and probably won’t be around too much.

Chloe-looking_002 edit

                     Chloe-monkey editChloe-looking_gator editThanks to my friend Sara who edited the pics for me.  I am terrible with a camera *and* editing software.  Much appreciated Sara!

15 Responses to "CHLOE: SHE WAS A DAMN GOOD DOG"

Aw, Fredster, so sorry about Chloe! She’s adorable!

She was s damn good dog, and DGD is the highest compliment this Georgia girl can give. Fortunately, time will pass and your good memories will for the most part displace the pain, though there always will be a residual tiny tug when you think of her. Love and light, Chat.

Hugs Fredster….I am there for you and yes Fuzzybears heart is breaking for you thank you for sharing these precious things about your Chloe-Big fuzzy Bear hugs…

Love the pictures of Chloe, Fredster. Thank you for sharing them with us. She was a little beauty with a big heart. I do believe pets go to heaven and I bet Chloe is with your mother and father right now, having a great time.

Chloe was a damned good dog and you were a damned good daddy to her. You gave her a wonderful loving home. She couldn’t have found better. I hope you can take some comfort in that. xoxo

Thanks y’all. She was such a big part of our lives. After Dad died, she was a constant companion for the momster.
Now doxies, love to eat. And eat and eat and eat! One day I was home, not feeling well. Went into the kitchen and then sat at the table. There was the momster breaking off pieces of toast with butter and jelly and hand feeding them to Chloe! Now I was the one who took her to the vet and was getting nasty comments about overfeeding her and I was saying “But I just give her the diet dog food with rice and some chicken broth and then one treat later. Little did I know what went on behind my back!

Fredster — how fortunate that Chloe found and adopted you. You two were indeed fortunate to have created such deep and abiding memories that will last forever. She was an exceptional companion as are you. Thank you for sharing this and I’m truly sorry your time together had to come to an end.

Prolix said: Fredster — how fortunate that Chloe found and adopted you

Prolix, she did, literally! There was a lab tech at our doctor’s office in La and her mom had Chloe who was part of a litter they had bred. Angel’s mom decided to give Chloe up because she also had a rottweiler and with that, couldn’t let Chloe out in the yard with the other dog. Angel mentioned her to me and I was interested so I went to Angel’s house one evening. Chloe and I had a sit-down in the floor and got to know each other. We decided we would suit each other just fine and so she became the furbaby for the three of us. At times she would drive me crazy but I wouldn’t trade any of it.

Fredster, many many hugs to you. I know how devastating it can be to lose a dear family member, human or pooch.

I agree with Chat, though. She is a wise woman. Just keep those memories of her close to your heart!

Thanks mad. She was my furbaby and I’ll miss her always but I know it will get better.

A beautiful tribute to a DGD. I was happy to do the pics for you…Pooh & Tigs were at the gate to meet her per my request. Now, I make no promises about her behavior after hanging out with those two and their LWD pals, but I’m sure she’s been shown the best squilly hunting woods and has been invited to share a bevvie at Woodie’s Place. Hugs, my friend…there’s another bright star in the heavens…and YOU have a very special angel watching over you!

Thanks Sara. You having been through this was a big help for me when I called and told you the news. Chloe needs to “act up” some and also act out some too so I trust she’s in capable paws with your girls. 😉
And I do hope I have that special angel. I really need one at times.

Beautifully done, Fredster! I know that couldn’t have been easy, to write such a lovely tribute to her. What a darling! Hugs to you and Salute to little Chloe!

“She was a damn good dog.”

….who had a damn good daddy.

((((((((((Fredster)))))))))

@socal & Uppity: Thanks so much. ♥
That was my little gal.

Lovely dog with a wonderful companion – you two were the best thing to happen to each other. My deepest condolences Fredster, take care of yourself.

Comments are closed.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

Our 2016 Ticket!

Our girl is gonna shine

Busted: Glass ceiling

HRC bumper sticker

She’s thinking “Less than 2 weeks I have to keep seeing that face”

Yeah I can make it

The team we’re on

Women’s March on Washington!

Right-click the pic for more info

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph