The Widdershins

Archive for August 26th, 2012

Good Sunday, Widdershins.  .As I write this on Friday we really won’t know for a day or so whether Isaac will strike the Atlantic Coast of Florida (Chez Chat) or the Gulf Coast (Republican National Convention).  I’ll bet that you can figure out what I am rooting for in this case. I know that I’m writing this early, but I’m taking no chances regarding  power failures,

So, I started looking for songs about storms, and found at least two hundred.

Mostly the songs are about rain – I’ll bet that there are easily 150 songs about rain, but there are plenty of tunes about lightning, thunder, and wind.  So, let’s mark the peak of hurricane season with songs about storms – title, singer, and content all count – in this otherwise open thread.

Here are my five, in chronologic order. plus a bonus pick that I found irresistible.

(1)  Crying in the Rain – The Everly Brothers, 1962

(2) Lightnin’ Strikes – Lou Christie, 1965

(3) Rainy Night in Georgia – Brooks Benton, 1970

(4) Rock You Like a Hurricane – The Scorpions, 1984

(5) Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season  – Jimmy Buffett, 1999

BONUS PICK:-

I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash, 1972

Your turn, Widdershins.  The rains started here Friday, the winds picked up Saturday, and if I don’t chime in, I’ve got  no power and will be back as soon as it returns – which sadly, could be weeks.

Keep Up

Atrocities Documented:

What the F*ck Just Happened?!

Victories Won:

Your Victories Against Drumpf!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

I’m ready. Are you?

Blog Archive

Kellyanne Conway’s new job

So similar

Take the kids to work? NO!

3 turds control fate of healthcare for millions

That moment when *your* pussy gets grabbed

You go gurl! h/t Adam Joseph

***Disaster Donations***

Quick links for donations.

Donations for our furry, and other critter friends:

Texas SPCA Donate Page

Houston TX SPCA Donation Page

Red Rover Group

For the Virgin Islands (Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands)
CFVI.net

All Hands Disaster Relief:
https://www.hands.org/

Puerto Rico’s First Lady’s organization:
http://unidosporpuertorico.com/en/

Americares (provides medical/health support)
http://www.americares.org/en/

“The” Book

Nice picture of our gal

Time till the Grifter in Chief is Gone

Hopefully soonerJanuary 21st, 2021
3.3 years to go.