The Widdershins

Morning Widdershins: Let Them Eat Deep-Dish

Posted on: August 11, 2012

Good morning, Widdershins.  I’m back from yet another computer calamity, at least for the time being.  I must say that I got quite a bit accomplished over the past few days.  My general productivity appears to vary inversely with computer access.  Oh, well.

During this enforced period of down-time, I had plenty of exposure to news channels and the Olympics – the latter being the bright spot, the former not so much.  Were it not for the pure joy of competition demonstrated by the Olympians, I would begin to think that our current state of affairs is absolutely irredeemable,

I’ve watched hour upon hour of news coverage of our latest mass murder, this time in a Sikh community center.  This killer went out in the more usual fashion – he was shot in the abdomen by the police, and finished himself off with a single shot to the head.  Investigations are turning up some uncomfortable signs of White Power roots going back to when he was on active duty.  I worry what looking further into the matter of active duty military participation in WP groups might take us.  Supposedly, background checks are initiated on any military member who can access classified materials, but I’m uncertain how deeply into the ranks this practice would fall.

The following day, a mosque in Joplin, Missouri burned to the ground.  The long-delayed Islamic Center of Murfreesboro will open this week, with extra police and security.

What brought us to this point?  Honestly, I have to believe that five solid years of “the Moslems are coming, the Moslems are coming” likely had a lot to do with this. Three and a half years of whisperings about the current President likely did not help, either.  Yes, there is residual jingoism present even today, but the ongoing meme of “we’ll fight ‘em over there so we don;t have to fight ‘em over here” really set the stage for an ugly scenario.   Sadly, layer upon layer of callousness has been building for the last decade.

Not all of the aforementioned callousness is directed at those perceived to be different.  Witness the statement of John “PapaJohn” Shnatter with regard to the crushing cost of not  providing health benefits for his employees.  Why, he reckons that there could easily be an extra fourteen cents added to each and every tasty pie in order to cover these costs.  From Politico:

Pizza chain Papa John’s told shareholders that President Obama’s health care law will cost consumers more on their pizza.

On a conference call last week, CEO and founder John Schnatter (a Mitt Romney supporter and fundraiser) said the health care law’s changes — set to go into effect in 2014 — will result in higher costs for the company — which they vowed to pass onto consumers.

“Our best estimate is that the Obamacare will cost 11 to 14 cents per pizza, or 15 to 20 cents per order from a corporate basis,” Schnatter said.

“We’re not supportive of Obamacare, like most businesses in our industry. But our business model and unit economics are about as ideal as you can get for a food company to absorb Obamacare,” he said.

“If Obamacare is in fact not repealed, we will find tactics to shallow out any Obamacare costs and core strategies to pass that cost onto consumers in order to protect our shareholders best interests,” Schnatter vowed.

Now, if I read that right, “Papa” John is in a snit because it will cost him some money to not offer health care to his employees.  Rather than see his stockholders discomfited, “Papa” is more than willing to see you and I pick up the cost.  Now, I would not mind one bit paying an increase that provided health insurance for his employees, but it galls me to no end to pay more so that he can continue to shirk.  Up with that, I will not put.

Widdershins, we probably cannot do much to stop mass murderers.  We are going to have a rough time changing hearts and minds about Moslems, Sikhs, etc.  One thing we can sink our teeth into is Papa John, and do our best to take a big ol’ bite out of his profits.  From this day forward, I will order my pies from any other pizzaria in the whole world, and I have called every Papa John’s in my area and advised the of this decision.  I will pass along the address and telephone number for Papa John’s corporate headquarters:

Papa John’s

2002 Papa John’s Boulevard

Louisville, Kentucky 40299

Telephone: 502-261-7272

I invite you to join me in notifying Papa John’s that you have ordered your last special from him.

This is an open thread.

48 Responses to "Morning Widdershins: Let Them Eat Deep-Dish"

You cannot define the meaning of greed until you listen to these fools whine about their sacrifices.

Really Paul Ryan? Tea Party Candidate? Does Mittens even want to be President?

i burned my right hand yesterday and it’s difficult to type, so pls forgive my lack of caps and other errors but i just wanted to say that schnatter’s concern about an additional few cents per pizza without considering the enormous good health insurance would do for his employees is exactly why the last thing this country needs is a CEO in the white house.

@3 Right on! While it was painful for you, I am so glad you typed that–it needed saying.

@3 Well said.

It actually appears that since Papa Johns already provides Insurance to its employees even part-time ones Obama-Care would actually cut his Insurance costs. This guy wants to shoot himself in the foot.

Here’s Papa John’s website. Looks like good benefits for managers and part-timers. Can’t for the life pf me figure out what fukktime crew gets,

http://www.papajohns.com/careers/benefits_01.shtm

@6: Gee, Fuzzy, is it possible people like “Papa John” aren’t thinking very clearly? :wink:

@7 LOL!! Now that’s a typo worth repeating! fukktime crew!!

@ Beata – Well he probably has a lot of yeast from all self rising dough in his head and its eating his gray matter

@ 7….okay drink coming out my nose and it Burns! LOL

@7 – I never could type…….

Hehe. Instant classic typo.

Skulking off now…..

Mitt earlier embraced Paul Ryan;s budget. Now that he has selected Paul Ryan as his running mate, he is attempting to distance himself ftom the budget, Is anyone else confused here?http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/11/mitt-romney-paul-ryan-budget_n_1767765.html

chat@7: We don’t have a keepers folder but there is copy and paste into notepad for eternity! :lol:

janicen@3: Excellent point.

I’m trying to figure out on whom he will be paying the penalty for *not* having health insurance if he already offers it?

And further, if you think about it…how many of the employees are probably under 26 and still on mom and dad’s health insurance?

@15,Here’s a thought– I am not a psychologist, but sometimes play one in the kitchen (especially after I’ve stayed at a Holiday Inn). I’m seeing a pattern here that could indicate Mitt has serious issues with self-loathing. All along, he’s been running against his record in MA, essentially running against himself. Having exhausted that one, he needed a replacement. So, he embraces Ryan’s budget, then embraces Ryan, then runs against them both.

Oy…

While announcing his selection of Paul Ryan as his running mate, Mitt Romney introduced the Wisconsin congressman as “the next president.”

“Today’s a good day for America, and there are better days ahead,” Romney said during a rally in Norfolk, Va. on the USS Wisconsin. “Join me in welcoming the next president of the United States, Paul Ryan

Chat said @7:

“Can’t for the life pf me figure out what fukktime crew gets.”

Well, given the number of times PapaBigJohn Shnatter has been sued for sexual harrassment and creating a hostile work environment, the “fukktime crew” gets paid pretty well after the suits and/or settlements are paid.

Oh, and by the way, the same guy who is complaining about 14 cents and complaining about his employees having health care — he recently held a fundraiser for Mitt Romney — he held it at his house — check out his house:

@21: Not a bad little pied a terre.

prolix@21: Now why did I think AK when you had Anchorage? I just thought “Sara Palin country?”

Is it possible that Ryan was picked to take the heat off Mr Romney’s refusal to release his taxes? Now all the attention will be on Ryan and his (despicable) budget proposal. Just an Idea. WRT that estate video, we are back in the days of and divine right of the Kings aren’t we.

So Mr. Ryan, do YOU think Romney should release more tax returns?

HT@24: Interesting!! Never crossed my mind!

Sophie@25: Hah! Talk about a question he would tap dance around!!

Uppity’s tweet on the Ryan announcement:

Dak had the same idea about clouding the tax issue. BTW, Ralph B and Pat concocted the best bumper sticker.
Vulture/Voucher 2012: You’re on your own.

Great stuff Pat!

Vulture/Voucher 2012: You’re on your own

Love it!

My version of the RMoney/Granny Starver bumper sticker:

Vulture/Voucher 2012: You People Are On Your Own

Beata – even better – adding a touch of Ann and Rafalca to the mix, although Rafalca really doesn’t deserve to be in the same category.

@27: Upp has a “Get Out of Jail Free” card because she lives in New York where Obama is sure to win. She can afford to stay home. The rest of us are not so fortunate.

I am actually excited about this race now. The Ryan pick has drawn a clear ideological line between the tickets. It’s Romney’s FU to the poor, the disabled, and the elderly. I know which side I’m on.

In addition, gives one more meaning to Droit de Seigneur – considering Ryans stand on women’s rights and his intention to deny them any rights, seems appropriate.

Beata, you have always been and will always be a person who fights for others. Hopefully the Ryan choice will energize more people to get out and vote. If not, you are doomed, and we in Canuckistan are probably right behind you, as all your religious zealots have set up shop in our capital complete with lobbying privileges. They are insidious, and they are spreading. Handmaid’s Tale, here we come. Fortunately Margaret Attwood is still alive and is still one of the most beloved authors in our country, so perhaps we have a better fighting chance, but if your country goes down, not so sure how long we can hold out.
REmember, I have two spare bedrooms and with the hoax climate change, I shall probably be living in a tropical zone in a few years, that is if the increase in the oceans doesn’t totally submerge us – after all, we are at sea level here.

HT, it’s good to see you commenting. I always miss you when you’re not around.

Oy, I worry about my loved ones. I’m a Jewish mama at heart. :)

What, you’re Jewish? Recipes please – start with Kreplach, go to Kishka and continue on from there – please. I love that food and my friends who are jewish don’t know what I am talking about. Of course, if you are not jewish, ignore my comment. But if madama has the recipes – please, please.
P.S. I’m here every day – just going through a really bad patch lately and am in the depths of depression – which I hate, and I fight, but sometimes it just overtakes you and you end up doing nothing – you all know what I’m talking about. Although I am here every day and I enjoy the comments, but I just don’t have anything to say. Three deaths of loved ones – two in the last three weeks. Sheesh, what else can happen. Enough about my problems, Beata I worry about you when you don’t comment because your problems are much greater than mine, so make sure you continue to chime in. Even though I may not comment, I really enjoy your pithy remarks here and on Skydancing.

@36 Hopefully the Ryan choice will energize more people to get out and vote. If not, you are doomed…

HT, we are doomed either way. There is no good choice.

Woody Allen explains in Annie Hall

Beata said: The Ryan pick has drawn a clear ideological line between the tickets. It’s Romney’s FU to the poor, the disabled, and the elderly. I know which side I’m on.

It was also a kiss-upto the tea-party segment of his own party.

La will go red w/out a doubt so I wonder if it’s worth it for me to vote for “O” or not. I’m sure Jill Stein will be on the ballot so that’s an option.

I have to figure out something for din-din 2nite. Chinese? Meh. But I don’t feel like much of anything else either.

@39 Sophie, it ain’t over till the fat lady sings, or so the saying goes in show biz. I’m hoping for a better outcome for all our sakes.
Being a liberal, I have little room today for hope, but hope I do. And if it all goes down in flames, I regret nothing about what I feel. Ryan is a granny starver (ht Charles Pierce) and Mitt is a truly empty although very expensive suit (I bet one of his suits could feed four families for a month)

Fredster, we have the greatest polish market near my place, and they have a hot counter. Tonight I dined on Perogis and cabbage rolls – it was heavenly. I hope you have similar places where you can get divine food. Pizza and chinese – blah – unless the chiness is authentic but that doesn’t happen most places. Good luck on your dinner choice – just not Chick-Fil-A eh. (had to throw in the eh – I’m Canadian after all and according to the American news channels, we always end our sentences with eh which is actually somewhat like aye)

“Vulture/Voucher 2012″ was the title of a post on another blog post just before 7 o’clock this morning. Funny how these things catch on.

@44: it ain’t over till the fat lady sings, or so the saying goes in show biz. I’m hoping for a better outcome for all our sakes.

Well, that’s just it. For me, there is no better outcome this time around. I feel equally miserable no matter who wins this thing. I have two fantasies for a better outcome. 1.) Big Dawg takes a floor vote and Hillary is in. 2.) The Mayans are right. Oh, and 3.) Maybe Jill Stein will win.

So the odds of me getting a better outcome are slim to nil. Closer to nil, probably. I’m only in it for the down-ticket races this time around.

I’m only in it for the down-ticket races this time around.

That may be the same thing for me.

What Happens When Chatroulette Users Encounter a Man Lipdubbing ‘Call Me Maybe’ in a Bikini? – VIDEO

Comments are closed.

Stop Fast Track and the TPP!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Are You…Too Left/Liberal For Obama?

Blog Archive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers