The Widdershins

Widdershins Lounge: Everybody Knows, A Little Place Like Kokomo

Posted on: July 15, 2011

The View from Under the Palapa

“Aruba – Jamaica – Ooh, I wanna take ya…” (Hat tip to Uppity Woman for the song and inspiration for tonight’s Lounge.)

I am sitting here looking at the photo I took myself, and I am shaking my head in wonder. Yes, that is what I saw for ten days, every morning, while I was on vacation in Aruba. How could a place so idyllic possibly exist? The fringe at the top of the picture is the underside of the palapa (an open hut with a roof made of palm leaves), which kept us from the sun while we sipped our frozen drinks (hubby had a strawberry daiquiri almost every day; yours truly tried different drinks). Every time we are there, we feel like we are in a dream world where the weather is always sunny, hot and windy; the people are always friendly; the food is always fabulous; and the ocean is always there, warm and welcoming.

Unlike Aruba and all the other islands in the song, Kokomo truly IS a dream; a symbol of wherever YOU love to be. So whether it’s a sunny beach, a green mountaintop, a peaceful forest, a busy city or your best friend’s house, anywhere you love to be can be Kokomo to you. So here’s a toast to that special place!

Tonight’s drink is the Aruba Ariba, a rather lethal mixture that tastes deceptively like Hawaiian Punch. It would knock your socks off – if you were wearing any. (Because it’s 100 degrees – get your minds out of the gutter, people! ;-))

Aruba Ariba

1/2 oz vodka

1/2 oz 151 proof rum

1/8 oz Coecoei

1/8 oz creme de bananes

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 cup cranberry juice

1/2 cup pineapple juice

Splash of Grenadine Top with Grand Marnier.

Do not shake, just stir lightly. Top with a “flag” toothpick with cherry and orange. Go “poco poco” (slowly) with this drink. They kind of slip up on you. Enjoy!!!

The bar’s open – whatcha havin’?

This is an open thread.

74 Responses to "Widdershins Lounge: Everybody Knows, A Little Place Like Kokomo"

The lounge is open, people!

I have to tell you all I am shocked…I went for a walk earlier and ended up running.

I only like to run when it is between 60 and 85 degrees, and not raining. Which means I have run approximately five times in the past 7 months. :lol:

This is for HT:

For Fuzzy – a Bushwhacker! (Rather appropriate for us anti-Dubyas here at TW.)

http://www.idrink.com/v.html?id=47442

I’m telling you, it sounds amazing.

It sounds good, albeit sweet. Of course, tropical drinks are just that. Just pour me two fingers of single malt, Mad.

@4 – But of course! Always have some of The Balvenie on hand for my Chat!

@5 – Oh, yummy! Probably a bit too creamy for lactose-intolerant moi.

BTW – that foul monster Murdoch and his evil empire are going D-O-W-N.

Couldn’t happen to a more deserving person.

MB@6: Yeah, it is a bit that. My main preference is this with just plain old club soda.

http://www.idrink.com/viewbrand.html?id=7113#

@8 Oh baby, now you’re talkin’! I love Maker’s Mark.

You know how hubby makes it? He puts some Grand Marnier, some Elderflower liqueur and some Maker’s Mark in a glass with ice and stirs it all up. It is quite tasty – some bartender in NYC made it for him and we had to run out and get the Elderflower right away so he could make it at home. :lol:

MB@9: Wow, that does sound good. I’ll have to see if they have the Elderflower liqueur at the ABC store and try that.

No lime in my martini – gin and olive please, and snap to it!
I’ve decided, the hair has to go. It’s driving me nuts. Okay, settling back with the martini. Love the Beach boys

Or perhaps I’ll have a Margaritta – lots of lime in those – they must be healthy.

@10 – It is called “St. Germain.” It has a unique taste. I thought it would be hard to find, but apparently it is becoming very trendy and popular.

You can get a tiny bottle of it if you want to try it out before spending the money to buy more. It is definitely on the expensive side. We bought a small bottle. :-)

Yes, HT ma’am! Coming right up. (Sorry, I don’t drink martinis so I am a bit of an ignoramus about them. :-) )

I stopped dying my hair (because of the premature grey) and went with a salt-and-pepper boy cut for about a year and a half. It was very freeing, but in time I just felt like I needed more hair. It’s now almost shoulder-length and I pretty much like it.

mb@12: The bottle looks lovely. Other than beer and wine, you mostly get liquor at the ABC stores in AL. There *are* liquor stores here, but they are usually a great deal higher than the ABC store. Shit, in nola we are used to buying whatever in a drugstore, grocery store, 7/11 or whathave you. Here, not so much.

@14 – I hope you can find it….I think you will like it. It’s not too sweet.

ROTFL: I found the website for St. Germain and they had a button for where to find it. I put in the zip code for here in AL and got zip for 50 miles! 8O I put in the zip code for Chalmette and found two stores within 6-8 miles; one in the quarter and one Uptown. :lol:

I think I know where the civilization is. ;-)

I’ll be back later. Time for Supernatural. (sigh) I love these 2 brothers.

@16 – LOL! Chalmette, the cosmopolitan center of Alabama!

Have fun with the hotties. I’m doing some TCB stuff and watching stupid shows on TeeVee.

Fredster, Dean is the one. Sam is cute, but Dean has the depth IMHO. Enjoy – as an old lady, I really like Jethro Gibbs (NCIS) and Hotchner (Criminal Minds) although my all time favorite is Gideon (Criminal Minds – Mandy Patinkin). Showing my age here, but those men – uhmmmm

Oh no! Chalmette is back in Loozeana, outside of nola. Gardendale is the delightful town in AL. (bleh)

HT: Actually I was thinking of having some of both: Dean for the intellectual and Sam for the hunkiness. ;-)

Fred@17

I used to make fun of mu wife and daughters for watching Supernatural, then I started to watch it…LMAO

I love that show! :-)

My taste is so eclectic these days, I don’t know what I like.

I will tell you one thing – that guy who starred in “Thor” is ferociously hot. SO not my usual type, but d*mn.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1165110/

@22 – Red, you are such a mensch! Good for you for giving the show a try. :lol:

Ah, Thor – now if I were only 30 years younger – sigh.

@25 – Yup, HT, he’s too young for me too. But what the hell, it’s all fantasy anyway. :-)

lmao…a mensh. That’s funny! :-)

More in my age range: Viggo Mortensen. Okay, he’s a bit older, but so is Mr. MadamaB. Molto delicioso!

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm614697472/nm0001557

@27 – You are, Red, you are. It’s a great compliment. :-)

I took it as such and I thank you Madam!

By the way, this party is for tee-totalers too. Can I get anyone a soft drink?

Whoa – I’m watching Placido Domingo singing “Rigoletto.” The voice is beautiful, but there’s a difference between a baritone and a tenor, for heaven’s sake!

Mt. Gay rum on the rocks or Another Caribbean rum — Appleton on the rocks with lime.

Love that song/video — it was probably recorded in Montserrat — which got a mention at about 1:20. The Beatles did a lot of their recording at Air Studio — on Montserrat as did the Mamas and Papas.

It is wet and raining here — ok — so what else is new? The rainy season lasts from January through Dec. with perhaps a short break in August.

Rural stuff — farmers here are having a heck of a time getting their hay mowed, dry, bailed and stored.

It is so much fun watching Murdoch sinking. I hope it’s permanent, but who knows. He might survive it. I saw a comment from someone in Britain that he still owns half of the politicians there and in a year – when everyone’s forgotten what he did – he will come back with a vengeance (as in: revenge.) Ugh.

Congrats MB on running! I’m starting yoga tomorrow. Taking an introductory course at the Iyengar Institute. I will report on how it went.

Domingo sounds wrong to me singing baritone roles. His Simon Boccanegra I just couldn’t deal with. Even if he’s got the right notes – we’re so used to his voice in tenor roles that it feels wrong when he’s singing baritone parts. But good for him for trying. It’s astounding how good he sounds – and even “for his age.” He sounds amazing. Pavarotti had the greater natural voice, but Domingo is by far the greater artist. (And the other one was nice for about 2 years in the 1970s.) Anyway, viva Placido!

@33 – MMMM, northwest – I love Caribbean rum! Pour vous!

I think my favorite “specialty” liqueur is Blue Curacao. I had a couple of Hurricanes while i was on the beach. Can’t find a good pic though.

@34 – Oh, DYB, good for you. I also do yoga a couple of times a week, then take long walks on the weekends. I hope you have a good instructor! They make all the difference.

Placido does sound good – really good – and his artistry is unquestionable. However, he is really struggling with “Rigoletto.” He does not have the strength where a real baritone would have it, and thus is pushing to convey the emotion. I’m glad he isn’t singing for a while – the extended duet scene with his daughter almost killed him!

If I depended upon running for exercise, I would be fat as a house. LOL When I was in my late 20’s, I used to run up and down hills and hike. I lived in a great neighborhood for running, though – haven’t lived in one since then, until now. Maybe that’s why I stopped!

@35 thank you!! perfect — exactly the way I love my rum.

@37 — be very careful about your knees when you run. You will pay when you get older. Trust me on this.

@38 – Right now I don’t run enough to worry…but if I take it up again seriously, I will definitely take care. I think I have my mom’s legs, though…she could play tennis for three hours a day when she was ten years older than I am now.

Oh, how interesting – this version of Rigoletto was actually filmed in Mantua, where the opera is supposed to take place.

The director is saying it’s supposed to be very cinematic…I disagree. I find it very claustrophobic.

DYB, go for the yoga! I started when I was in my early twenties, then lapsed in my thirties. When I broke every bone in my right wrist (I’m a righty), the ortho surgeon suggested I would never recover full use – I thank yoga for that – while I had not practiced in years, somehow the muscles remembered (yeah I sound nutty, but I have almost complete use today) Another thing, although I haven’t been a good practitioner, I can still bend over and touch my forehead to my knees. Stretching the spine doncha know. Yoga is the best. BTW, I’m back at it, however my point is that the time I spent learning and following in my twenty years with it has made me amazingly supple for an old broad. So my advice to anyone – go Yoga.

@41 = You rock, HT! You go on with your bad Yoga self. Namaste!

While I enjoy Domingo and Pavorotti, I really like Ben Heppner – a tenor of course.

@43 – Hmmmm…could it be because he’s Canadian? ;-)

Late to the party! I’m watching Rigoletto, too.

Tee-totaler, here. I’m having Kern’s Apricot Nectar with Canada Dry Ginger Ale.

I’m excited about starting yoga. I hate running! But I love spinning at Soul-Cycle. (We did a Harry Potter ride this last Thursday. That was fun!) I’m adding yoga to my exercise routine to mix it up. I’ve hit a plateau in my weight-loss. I’ve been stuck on the same weight for about a month. Hopefully yoga will help me break through!

Sorry, Placido – THIS is how it goes.

Goosebumps!!!

(And at the right tempo too…that helps.)

I studied yoga at an ashram with a very controversial Swami when I was in my late teens and early twenties. I never fell under his spell, however, but lots of women did. He was not my type.

@45 – That sounds delicious, Beata.

@46 – DYB, you can’t go wrong with yoga! It is awesome for flexibility and strength. Not sure about the weight loss, but it couldn’t hurt..

The Swami I studied with was fat. Yoga certainly didn’t help with his weight loss.

Wow, Mehta’s tempi are very slow. This poor soprano! At least she is young and strong. :-)

@50 – :lol: Was his weight part of the controversy? Or was it his womanizing? That’s not very swami-like.

@52: Sexual abuse. Not a pretty story. I avoided him as much as possible.

@46 Good luck DYB. Seriously, Yoga is something that once practiced will stay with you for your lifetime – and it’s so healthy – all that stretching and twisting.
@45 Beata enjoy.
@44 I think he’s a superior tenor and it has nothing to do with his nationality (perhaps) Same as I love Measha Brueggergosman – amazing voice- – in my opinion the best since Kiri Te Kenawa, but I’m an ignoramus about technicality – I just know what I like.

I’m going to be taking classes at the Iyengar Institute. I’m told it’s a good way to start with yoga.

I’m not taking yoga primarily as a weight-loss exercise, though calories burning can be pretty high with yoga. It’s more to confuse my body and give it a kick. My spin classes will remain my primary cardio/weight loss exercise.

@53 – A wise move. I studied karate with a shihan (above sensei) who was a massive womanizer. He did hit on me a lot but I avoided him too. I don’t think he stooped to abuse, though. That is horrible.

@54 – Googling the lady with the impossible name now.

I studied tai chi and yoga after an injury forced me to give up ballet. I wanted to continue movement classes but ballet was no longer possible. I really loved the tai chi. The yoga was less enjoyable.

Watch out for smarmy Swamis, DYB. :lol:

Ooooh, the quartet! The tenor and mezzo are very, very good – and gorgeous.

Beata, I’ve never met a yoga master who was overweight so perhaps that was an indicator that the self named swami was a con man?

@59: Oh, he was a con man, HT. If I gave you his name, you could google a long list of stories about him. It was a cult.

HT, thanks – I really like Measha Bruggergosman!

I just realized that Placido Domingo now looks very much like my father. :lol:

Dame Kiri for you, HT:

Madamab, Measha is (in my opinion) amazing. As previously mentioned, she’s the next incarnation of Kiri, who I also love. And she’s so bleepin versatile. (BTW, my first love was Anna Moffo) Here’s Measha singing a song that another Canuck wrote (and Joannie is in the audience).
Beata, thanks for Dame Kiri – isn’t she incredible?

@62: Therapy might help you with that, MB. :)

@63 – and that was LIVE! I cannot imagine going to the Met and hearing anything even half that good these days. What a singer, what a voice, what an artist.

Thanks everyone for coming to the Lounge tonight. Have a great weekend and DYB, let us know how the yoga goes! I hope you enjoy it.

@65 – P.S. If you saw the pictures of them close together, you would be shocked. I swear I took my meds tonight! :lol:

Night all!

I’ll say goodnight with this recording by Sylvia McNair, who came back to teach at IU after being diagnosed with breast cancer:

@65, Beata, you are so funny. BTW, I miss your gravatar of your mom however, the green gremlin is good. Seeing as he has so many arms, could I borrow him to do my cleaning?

@62 Madamab it’s an age thing. I have three sisters and a brother. When we were children no one could have linked us. Today, no one could doubt that we are related but it’s taken 40 years for the genetics to kick in. {Perhaps there is a link?)

I liked Measha back before she got her stomach stapled! Lovely lyric soprano. Now she looks like a supermodel. But does she do anything other than concerts? I haven’t seen her doing staged opera yet.

BTW, I’m hoping my swami is swarmi. However, she’s a woman, so even if she is it won’t do much for me.

Hey I’m here. Better late than never, right? Got any left over booze?

Sorry Uppity – all gone. You have to get here earlier!

Sh*t. You lushes!

……..draining bottom of bottles….

[...] Widdershins Lounge: Everybody Knows, A Little Place Like Kokomo … Widdershins Lounge: Everybody Knows A Little Place Like Kokomo. Posted by: madamab on: July 15, In: Open Thread · Comment! The View from Under the Palapa. “Aruba – Jamaica – Ooh, I wanna take ya…” (Hat tip to Uppity Woman for the [...]

Comments are closed.

Stop Fast Track and the TPP!

Wanna Be A Widdershin?

Send us a sample post at:

widdershinssubmissions at gmail dot com

Our Front-Pagers

Twittershins

I’m ready. Are you?

Are You…Too Left/Liberal For Obama?

Blog Archive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers